Cube menu

A forum for research and development of the user interface of FreeCAD

Moderator: agryson

fc_tofu
Posts: 654
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:56 pm

Re: Cube menu

Postby fc_tofu » Tue Mar 31, 2020 8:06 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:51 pm
fc_tofu wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:46 pm
"Hover color" for "Hilite color",

Should be 'Highlight'
Yes, agree.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Cube menu

Postby triplus » Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:28 pm

pablogil wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:00 am
Hi triplus,

Would it be easy to add support for visible buttons like the unique dropdown one?
I guess the answer is yes. It should be rather easy to add an additional button or two and make it do something when clicked. The harder part i guess is to determine what it should do, to make sense adding it. NaviCube by itself is already a rather hefty element in the 3D viewport. Adding buttons in a way they would align in a row to the left or to the bottom would result in some potential issues, such as this would have to flip, if user sets the different corner in Preferences. In addition you would drag this huge UX element around the 3D View and if the button would do something that is already available on a toolbar, that would result in much less flexibility, when it comes to customization. Therefore the way i see it there likely is a room for one button, symmetrical to menu one, that could do something. Going beyond that likely isn't best suited for NaviCube scope. Maybe as a separate UX widget, using the same approach as NaviCube.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Cube menu

Postby triplus » Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:38 pm

fc_tofu wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:46 pm
@triplus, you coders, are making NaviCube a piece of art. Thank you.
You're welcome.
So, I'm still waiting for good news from font selector and font hinting improvement.
Regarding hinting:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=44515
In this build, running font selector cause error msg and failure.
Will take a look.
"Hilite color"
I used the term used by NaviCube, will change it to Highlight.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Cube menu

Postby triplus » Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:00 pm

@fc_tofu

Please test again by updating to the latest changes. As discussed i changed the term and there indeed was a bug involved.

P.S. Some older Qt5/PySide2 versions have the logic reversed, that was likely a bug that got fixed in newer versions. Long story short cube menu now supports both scenarios and you should now hopefully be able to use font selector.
fc_tofu
Posts: 654
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:56 pm

Re: Cube menu

Postby fc_tofu » Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:34 am

triplus wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:00 pm
@fc_tofu
Please test again by updating to the latest changes. As discussed i changed the term and there indeed was a bug involved.
Sorry for not noticing your post these days.
I just downloaded and tried CubeMenu 20200425 update.

1. Font selector work well now, even Chinese (CJK/DBCS) font family name can be choosen and saved in "user.cfg".
fsc_2020-04-30_191041b.jpg
fsc_2020-04-30_191041b.jpg (27.34 KiB) Viewed 666 times
fsc_2020-04-30_191132.jpg
fsc_2020-04-30_191132.jpg (11.11 KiB) Viewed 666 times
2. I see "Hilite color" has been replaced by "Hilight color".

3. As for names of "Front color" and "Back color", I think them confused with cube orientation, just by my personal feeling.
If we see NaviCube as a geomitric cube, it is composed of faces, edges and vertices.
So how about alternate "Front color" with "Face color", "Back color" with "Edge color"?
fsc_2020-04-30_191333b.jpg
fsc_2020-04-30_191333b.jpg (59.49 KiB) Viewed 666 times
Thank you very much for all successful fixes.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Cube menu

Postby triplus » Wed May 06, 2020 9:58 pm

fc_tofu wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:34 am
1. Font selector work well now, even Chinese (CJK/DBCS) font family name can be choosen and saved in "user.cfg".
2. I see "Hilite color" has been replaced by "Hilight color".
Thanks for testing and providing feedback.
3. As for names of "Front color" and "Back color" ...
Don't see a big issue here, hence no changes planned for now.
Thank you very much for all successful fixes.
You're welcome.

P.S. In general i am investing my free time in other modules now. There is one thing i still plan to test, regarding NaviCube and visuals, but as it involves rather in-depth C++, Qt and OpenGL combination of knowledge, it will likely take some time. If something useful will come out of it i will report in this thread.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 390
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Cube menu

Postby bambuko » Mon Sep 28, 2020 12:19 pm

Just to say: big thank you for an excellent addon!
It answered all the questions I had about customising the navigation cube (once I discovered what it is called :mrgreen: ) to my personal satisfaction.
I am freshly migrating to FreeCAD and it is details like this that make it so appealing :ugeek:

triplus wrote:
Mon Mar 23, 2020 3:13 pm
...The navigation cube menu is fully customizable:
Image
It must be me :oops: but I don't seem to be able to work it out how this option is supposed to work...
Would you mind elaborating a bit, please?
This is the only thing that confuses me in this otherwise excellent addon :(
LevinLearnCAD
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 5:50 am

Re: Cube menu

Postby LevinLearnCAD » Tue Dec 08, 2020 6:33 am

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.23141 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 0eba78d40096720f7a637a9a73c382a08b820bca
Python version: 3.8.6
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: Chinese/China (zh_CN)

I installed this cube menu. The cube can be enlarged successfully. However, the text seems to be perpendicular to the cube body(see photos below), which is weird to me. Since even I have stretched the text by 1000, itonly stretched in one dimension, or it did stretch in two dimension, but only one dimension is visible to me . Below is the Navigation cube after the enlargement and text stretched. Could any guy help? Thanks......

Image
Image
chrisb
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Cube menu

Postby chrisb » Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:45 am

The images are not visible. Either link the images and some page containing them, or attach them directly to the forum.

Use the preview button before posting so you can check what other users see.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Tanuki44
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 9:27 pm

Re: Cube menu

Postby Tanuki44 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 9:47 pm

Hello,

With the latest dev. versions 0.20, Menu commands : Isometric, Dimetric, Trimetric not working. :(

Just little bad, this addon is very cool ;)