Modern UI

A forum for research and development of the user interface of FreeCAD

Moderator: agryson

User avatar
HakanSeven12
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

Re: Modern UI

Postby HakanSeven12 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:25 pm

sgrogan wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:21 pm
Menus work, I get the ribbon.
I can't "scroll" the workbench tabs to the right. the left button is available, the collapse ribbon button is over the right button I think.
Capture.PNG
Yes I know. For now, close unused workbenches from modern settings and restart
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5866
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Modern UI

Postby sgrogan » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:34 pm

HakanSeven12 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:25 pm
Yes I know. For now, close unused workbenches from modern settings and restart
OK no worries.

A bigger issue for me is I cannot resize the collapsible docks.
I can't vertically resize report view/python console. I can undock and resize horizontally. AH button doesn't seem to matter.
Combo view I can't resize horizontally, when labels get longer it's an issue.
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4690
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Modern UI

Postby microelly2 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:43 pm

Very nice design ideas at all. Thank you.
johnwang
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Modern UI

Postby johnwang » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:57 pm

HakanSeven12 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:25 pm
sgrogan wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:21 pm
Menus work, I get the ribbon.
I can't "scroll" the workbench tabs to the right. the left button is available, the collapse ribbon button is over the right button I think.
Capture.PNG
Yes I know. For now, close unused workbenches from modern settings and restart
win 20514.

Got this after re-start
ui1.jpg
ui1.jpg (19.16 KiB) Viewed 309 times
johnwang
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Modern UI

Postby johnwang » Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:02 am

Another thing I found if you drag the wb tab to relocate (for example drag the right one to move it to left), then the toolbar display is out of order.

win 20514.
User avatar
HakanSeven12
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

Re: Modern UI

Postby HakanSeven12 » Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:09 am

sgrogan wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:34 pm
A bigger issue for me is I cannot resize the collapsible docks.
I can't vertically resize report view/python console. I can undock and resize horizontally.
Combo view I can't resize horizontally, when labels get longer it's an issue.
I'm thinking about make collapsible docks like minimized menu.
AH button doesn't seem to matter.
I added an option to modern settings. Maybe I can remove button.
User avatar
HakanSeven12
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

Re: Modern UI

Postby HakanSeven12 » Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:09 am

microelly2 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:43 pm
Very nice design ideas at all. Thank you.
You are welcome
User avatar
HakanSeven12
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

Re: Modern UI

Postby HakanSeven12 » Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:11 am

johnwang wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:02 am
Another thing I found if you drag the wb tab to relocate (for example drag the right one to move it to left), then the toolbar display is out of order.

win 20514.
I will disable "moveble tabs" if you want to relocate tabs go to modern settings, select wb and use up down buttons. Restart.
User avatar
HakanSeven12
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

Re: Modern UI

Postby HakanSeven12 » Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:29 am

sgrogan wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:21 pm
Menus work, I get the ribbon.
I can't "scroll" the workbench tabs to the right. the left button is available, the collapse ribbon button is over the right button I think.
Fixed

Tab fix.png
Tab fix.png (13.27 KiB) Viewed 267 times
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7512
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Modern UI

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Apr 14, 2020 11:59 am

Mod Edit: Thread to discuss adding Modern UI to the Addon Manager split off in to it's own thread: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=45247
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
cron