New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

A forum for research and development of the user interface of FreeCAD

Moderator: agryson

realthunder
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: New overlay mode (soon ready for testing)

Postby realthunder » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:48 pm

Pauvres_honteux wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:48 am
I've focused the eye of Argus on it !
Regarding the App-Image, any chance of getting your work on "multi-body" included in it as well?
I just made the release. Welcome to try. Multi-body is not ready yet. Please check the release notes for changes.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
carlopav
Posts: 1379
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby carlopav » Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:03 pm

tried it and... it's just super cool to have the transparent TreeView! thanks for your hard work!
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby bitacovir » Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:57 pm

I tried it and it is awesome!!
FreeCAD_l0kyPAiwxQ.png
FreeCAD_l0kyPAiwxQ.png (226.83 KiB) Viewed 392 times
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My personal web site
My GitHub repository
My old Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
User avatar
pablogil
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:19 pm
Location: Badajoz (Spain)
Contact:

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby pablogil » Sat Apr 25, 2020 7:30 am

Really nice work!! Congrats!
I think it's the best overlay mode approach I have seen so far.

Just to learn more about it:
  • is would be possible to pack it as an addon in order to use it with regular FreeCAD?
  • is it possible to style it with .qss stylesheets?
Cheers
Dark and Light stylesheets v2.0 to theme your FreeCAD UI, more information here
nic
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:14 pm
Location: France

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby nic » Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:41 am

Wow!

I'm specially amazed by this tab. Is this part of the new features? Was it existing and hidden before?
This solves a long annoying stuff for me : on really big sub-nested models,I never found a way to show all "parts" once you played with several show visibility toggle. Showing everything shows all the planes and axis which is a pain to reset to no-visibility.

Wit this new feature, I can:

* show everything as before (this show planes and axis as well)
* search by name for 'Origin', select a random item in the list found, and a single "space key" hit will toggle off all the planes and axis


[edit] 15 minutes I play with this new panel, and I cannot do without it! @realthunder I'm stuck with your appimage branch now!

Congrats!
Attachments
overlay.png
overlay.png (72 KiB) Viewed 342 times
nic
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:14 pm
Location: France

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby nic » Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:03 am

nic wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:41 am
Wit this new feature, I can:

* show everything as before (this show planes and axis as well)
* search by name for 'Origin', select a random item in the list found, and a single "space key" hit will toggle off all the planes and axis
By the way, a great new feature (at least for me) would be to be able to "group" all found objects into a draft layers. This would allow to, let say, search all brackets, or screws, and maye a layer of them. This way, it would be easy to toggle visibility for any groups of objects...
User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby Pauvres_honteux » Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:16 am

Things really do shine in this fork of yours @realthunder!

While in Part Design and trying to create a datum-, point, line or plane I got instant crash without any message of any sort.
FreeCAD_ASM3_Point_Line_Plane_crash_1.png
FreeCAD_ASM3_Point_Line_Plane_crash_1.png (34.9 KiB) Viewed 319 times
Though I did notice some complaints while starting FreeCAD:

Code: Select all

Start of FreeCAD ASM3 20200424 yelded:

Report view:
======================================================================

During initialization the error "/bin/sh: /tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/libtinfo.so.6: no version information available (required by /lib64/libreadline.so.7)
" occurred in freecad.pip

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 150, in InitApplications
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/importlib/__init__.py", line 127, in import_module
    return _bootstrap._gcd_import(name[level:], package, level)
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 1006, in _gcd_import
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 983, in _find_and_load
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 967, in _find_and_load_unlocked
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 677, in _load_unlocked
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap_external>", line 728, in exec_module
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 219, in _call_with_frames_removed
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/site-packages/freecad/pip/init_gui.py", line 12, in <module>
    from freecad.pip.gui import PipWidget
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/site-packages/freecad/pip/gui.py", line 3, in <module>
    from freecad.pip.app import pip
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/site-packages/freecad/pip/app.py", line 115, in <module>
    pip = _pip()
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/site-packages/freecad/pip/app.py", line 30, in __init__
    self.freeze()
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/site-packages/freecad/pip/app.py", line 97, in freeze
    for pkg_name, version in self.list_system():
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/site-packages/freecad/pip/app.py", line 89, in list_system
    non_system = self.list_user_and_editable()
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/site-packages/freecad/pip/app.py", line 67, in list_user_and_editable
    packages = process("pip", "list", "--user")
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/python3.7/site-packages/freecad/pip/app.py", line 24, in process
    raise RuntimeError(err.decode("utf8"))
RuntimeError: /bin/sh: /tmp/.mount_FreeCAlNmtbm/usr/lib/libtinfo.so.6: no version information available (required by /lib64/libreadline.so.7)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Python console
======================================================================

Python 3.7.6 | packaged by conda-forge | (default, Mar 23 2020, 23:07:43) 
[GCC 7.3.0] on linux
Type 'help', 'copyright', 'credits' or 'license' for more information.
>>> Gui.runCommand('Std_ViewStatusBar',1)
>>> Gui.runCommand('Std_ViewStatusBar',0)
>>> Gui.runCommand('Std_Workbench',22)
>>> Gui.runCommand('Std_ViewStatusBar',1)
>>> Gui.runCommand('Std_DockOverlayAll',0)
>>> 
realthunder
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby realthunder » Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:50 am

pablogil wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 7:30 am
  • is would be possible to pack it as an addon in order to use it with regular FreeCAD?
I think it is possible to translate most of the functionality to PySide code, most of which are implemented in src/Gui/DocWindowManager.h/cpp

[*]is it possible to style it with .qss stylesheets?[/list]
Yes, please check the opening post for instructions. I have also made some minor change on the existing stylesheet, e.g. here.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
nic
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:14 pm
Location: France

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby nic » Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:55 am

Pauvres_honteux wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:16 am

While in Part Design and trying to create a datum-, point, line or plane I got instant crash without any message of any sort.
FreeCAD_ASM3_Point_Line_Plane_crash_1.png

Though I did notice some complaints while starting FreeCAD:
same issue here

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 19.10 (GNOME-Flashback:GNOME/regolith)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20545 +2163 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: LinkStage3
Hash: 0fbd40c9b29ead11d716d3178fa7036173ed6592
Python version: 3.7.6
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
realthunder
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: New overlay mode (Now ready for testing)

Postby realthunder » Sat Apr 25, 2020 1:31 pm

Pauvres_honteux wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:16 am
While in Part Design and trying to create a datum-, point, line or plane I got instant crash without any message of any sort.
Though I did notice some complaints while starting FreeCAD:
nic wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:55 am
same issue here
Image updated. Please check.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal