techdraw with multiple parts

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
User avatar
robotMarvin
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:28 pm

techdraw with multiple parts

Postby robotMarvin » Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:16 pm

hi everyone i'm using freecad 0.17 and created a drawing with part and part design. When i wanted to make a drawing with techdraw, i coul only choose one part. but i need all the parts in my drawing. How is this achieved.

I also drew it in freecad 0.16 Revision 6706/6707 but i had the same results. where do i go wrong?
Attachments
waterinlaat.fcstd
(21.57 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
wandererfan
Posts: 1631
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: techdraw with multiple parts

Postby wandererfan » Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:16 pm

robotMarvin wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:16 pm
hi everyone i'm using freecad 0.17 and created a drawing with part and part design. When i wanted to make a drawing with techdraw, i coul only choose one part. but i need all the parts in my drawing. How is this achieved.
Select your parts, then use MultiView
techdraw-multiview.png
techdraw-multiview.png (11.46 KiB) Viewed 1261 times
wf
Attachments
waterinlaat.png
waterinlaat.png (18.34 KiB) Viewed 1261 times
thschrader
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: techdraw with multiple parts

Postby thschrader » Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:24 pm

robotMarvin wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:16 pm
hi everyone i'm using freecad 0.17 and created a drawing with part and part design. When i wanted to make a drawing with techdraw, i coul only choose one part. but i need all the parts in my drawing. How is this achieved.

I also drew it in freecad 0.16 Revision 6706/6707 but i had the same results. where do i go wrong?
wandererfan was a little bit faster... :mrgreen:
You can generate tubes/flanges/washers/srews much faster by using the flamingo/fasteners-wb.
The objects a fully parametric. Installation with tools==>addon manager (after install close/restart FC)
I am wondering why I can attach the screws at the flanges from flamingo, but
getting errors on your part.
regards Thomas
waterinlaat_new.fcstd
(76.74 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
techdraw_multiview.JPG
techdraw_multiview.JPG (76.34 KiB) Viewed 1258 times
flamingo_wb.JPG
flamingo_wb.JPG (72.21 KiB) Viewed 1258 times
fasteners_wb.JPG
fasteners_wb.JPG (66.82 KiB) Viewed 1258 times
User avatar
robotMarvin
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:28 pm

Re: techdraw with multiple parts

Postby robotMarvin » Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:19 pm

Thanks everyone, for the fast reply, i tried multiview before, but i couldn't figure out how to use it. Now i tried harder, and knew it was the tool, and i figured out how to use it. I will also look into flamingo/fasteners
I am wondering why I can attach the screws at the flanges from flamingo, but
getting errors on your part
i also don't know, i will try tofind out later.
User avatar
robotMarvin
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:28 pm

Re: techdraw with multiple parts

Postby robotMarvin » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:11 pm

flamingo works great !!
But is there a way to get more flanges, i only seem to find flanges asme-150lb and DIN-PN16. I need DIN-PN10 :( Maybe there is a way to download ??
Else i can always adjust the prorperties. Anyway, i m very happy with flamingo wb
prat
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:48 pm

Re: techdraw with multiple parts

Postby prat » Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:07 am

Hi all

I managed to generate a view of multiple parts using the above mentioned multipart view button. But how can one select which views (side, top etc) and the scale of the view. Currently, I select all parts and then click on the multiple parts view button and it automatically gives me one view. I cannot select the view type and its scale either before or after the view has been generated. Please help.
wandererfan
Posts: 1631
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: techdraw with multiple parts

Postby wandererfan » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:18 pm

prat wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:07 am
I cannot select the view type and its scale either before or after the view has been generated. Please help.
Change the Direction and/or Scale properties in the PropertyEditor.
From TechDraw_NewView.

Code: Select all

Direction: A vector representing the viewing direction.
Scale: A view will be rendered on the page in Scale:1 ratio to the Source. (1)
ScaleType: "Document": use the Page's scale setting. "Custom": use a scale unique to this view. "Automatic": fit view to page. (1)
Common Directions are
Front: (0,-1,0)
Top: (0,0,1)
Right: (1,0,0)
Axo: (1,1,1)
oddtopus
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: techdraw with multiple parts

Postby oddtopus » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:33 pm

robotMarvin wrote:
Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:11 pm
flamingo works great !!
Thank You for the positive feedback. :)
robotMarvin wrote:
Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:11 pm
But is there a way to get more flanges, i only seem to find flanges asme-150lb and DIN-PN16. I need DIN-PN10 :( Maybe there is a way to download ??
To create your own dimensional table of flanges (or other piping object as well) you can follow the suggestion at page 3 of the tutorialPype.pdf (../Mod/flamingo/tutorials).
* For instance, open the file ../Mod/flamingo/tables/Flange_DIN-PN16.csv with any spreadsheet program.
* Modify the dimensions in the table. You can also add or delete rows and change the name of size-names in the first column.
* Save it in the same folder as "Flange_myRating.csv". Remember to use ";" as separators.
Now, next time you run "Insert a flange", the "myRating" option will appear in the dialog with the customized flanges dimensions.
I guess that columns names are quite self-explaining.
Obviously, must care that dimensions are consistent: for example it should not be D<d!
JoeB
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:30 pm

Re: techdraw with multiple parts

Postby JoeB » Wed Apr 04, 2018 1:09 am

Oddtopus,
I wouldn't put bolts in one at a time .. See FC Forum>showcase>"Pressure vessel with piping". It took a long time to make the first draft including the time to learn FC and python. The second time it took less than 20 hours. The attached script is how I set up the flanges and bolting. Unfortunately it is in US Customary units - let me know if you want to see more.
Attachments
flange_and_bolts.txt
(7.53 KiB) Downloaded 11 times