Dxf Export of Dimension

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
wandererfan
Posts: 1915
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby wandererfan » Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:32 pm

jaisejames wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:50 pm
Everything OK. see attached screenshot. But diameter symbol is showing some strange values & angle arrow both in one side.
A new version to check. Note that I set FC diameter symbol to "%%c", so it looks funny in FC, but it looks good in DraftSight.

Thanks,
wf
Attachments
dimCompatTestDiaRad_v2.dxf
(75.13 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 1966
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby easyw-fc » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:18 pm

wandererfan wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:32 pm
A new version to check.
Hi @wanderfan
I'm testing the DXF export from techdraw
I was trying with a design that has a bspline inside the View.
Here the FC file and the exported DXF.
The DXF doesn't get imported in DoubleCAD nor in DWG TrueView of Adobe.
It does get open in LibreCAD, but if I try to save it with a different name, LC crashes...
bspline.FCStd
(18.58 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
bspline.dxf
(2.15 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Please let me know if you prefer that I would start a new thread, something like: "TechDraw: DXF exporting of a bspline"

EDIT: exporting the dxf as we did here:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p221906
then LC will not crash and the bspline will be correctly exported and the dxf could be open in DWG TrueView
bspline-exported-macro.dxf
(19.25 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
LC version 2.1.3 on win
FC version
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13959 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2f18182b6dff87f8857787c854e39ca4d441f993
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
jaisejames
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby jaisejames » Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:57 am

wandererfan wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:32 pm
jaisejames wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:50 pm
Everything OK. see attached screenshot. But diameter symbol is showing some strange values & angle arrow both in one side.
A new version to check. Note that I set FC diameter symbol to "%%c", so it looks funny in FC, but it looks good in DraftSight.

Thanks,
wf
Perfect. See screenshot :)
Attachments
dim3.png
dim3.png (29.86 KiB) Viewed 196 times
jaisejames
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby jaisejames » Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:59 am

easyw-fc wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:18 pm
wandererfan wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:32 pm
A new version to check.
Hi @wanderfan
I'm testing the DXF export from techdraw
I was trying with a design that has a bspline inside the View.
Here the FC file and the exported DXF.
The DXF doesn't get imported in DoubleCAD nor in DWG TrueView of Adobe.
It does get open in LibreCAD, but if I try to save it with a different name, LC crashes...
bspline.FCStd
bspline.dxf
Please let me know if you prefer that I would start a new thread, something like: "TechDraw: DXF exporting of a bspline"

EDIT: exporting the dxf as we did here:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p221906
then LC will not crash and the bspline will be correctly exported and the dxf could be open in DWG TrueView
bspline-exported-macro.dxf

LC version 2.1.3 on win
FC version
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13959 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2f18182b6dff87f8857787c854e39ca4d441f993
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Is DXF R12 support spline. I think it is available from 2000 version.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 1966
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby easyw-fc » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:27 am

jaisejames wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:59 am
Is DXF R12 support spline. I think it is available from 2000 version.
Not handling bspline would be a DXF exporter de-featuring...
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1275
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby Jee-Bee » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:00 am

May i ask why still using R12 revision of dxf? autocad 2000 uses R14 already...
R12 have some serious limitations see https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... toCAD.html
wandererfan
Posts: 1915
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby wandererfan » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:47 pm

jaisejames wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:57 am
Perfect. See screenshot :)
Great! I'll push changes later today. Thanks so much for your assistance.
wandererfan
Posts: 1915
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby wandererfan » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:48 pm

jaisejames wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:47 pm
See attached freecad file. If techdraw page dxf exported, position of one view changes.
Actually a problem in DrawProjectionGroup code. Thanks for finding it!
wandererfan
Posts: 1915
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby wandererfan » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:50 pm

Jee-Bee wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:00 am
May i ask why still using R12 revision of dxf? autocad 2000 uses R14 already...
R12 have some serious limitations see https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... toCAD.html
Because the Dxf formatting program we started from (from HeeksCAD originally) only supported R12. Once we get R12 working reliably, we can add later specs.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10029
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dxf Export of Dimension

Postby yorik » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:39 pm

The changes between R12 and R14 are huge, while R12 is a very simple format, R14 introduces a lot of annoying mandatory things, like the need to have all the blocks numbered in correct order (which is annoying when working with templates), etc. But indeed we'll need to go there at some point, because important entities like ellipses or splines were introduced only in R14.

The interesting thing is that many FOSS apps will gladly accept R12 files that contain R14+ entities :) but most commercial apps don't