drawing printer trouble

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
harlekin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 8:52 pm

drawing printer trouble

Postby harlekin » Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:59 am

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16117 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: dbb4cc6415bac848a294f03b80f65e888d531742
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)

I hope to be in the right place to ask for help.
After creating an object i activated TechDraw Workbench and i entered the varius views.After thath i selected >File>Print but nothing happened. No window to select the printer. I tried with Ctrl+p but noting yet.
Then i selected File>Preview. The window appeared to me. When i selected the printer icon appeard the window to save the file as .pdf!
What i'm doing wrong. Is it impossible to draw directly to printer?
Thanks in advance.
chrisb
Posts: 19500
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby chrisb » Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:32 am

Moved to TechDraw forum.
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3144
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby wandererfan » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:33 pm

harlekin wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:59 am
After thath i selected >File>Print but nothing happened. No window to select the printer. I tried with Ctrl+p but noting yet.
Then i selected File>Preview. The window appeared to me. When i selected the printer icon appeard the window to save the file as .pdf!
It works here. Can you print from anywhere else in FreeCAD (3D window, spreadsheet, etc)?
PreviewAndPrint.gif
PreviewAndPrint.gif (624.58 KiB) Viewed 611 times

OS: Linux Mint 19
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.3.
Build type: Release
Python version: 2.7.15+
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)
harlekin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby harlekin » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:12 pm

I'm sorry. From anywhere I try to print the command File> Print does not make me look at the window for choosing the printer. Nothing happens. From the Preview command I can only save in .pdf format.
Maybe there is a setting to change but I don't know which one.
i will try to uninstall and reinstall Freecad.
Thnks anyway.
harlekin
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby harlekin » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:15 pm

Uninstalled and reinstalled but it does not work.
With all the other programs I have no problem printing and choosing one of the two printers I have.
At this moment, if I can't find other ways, the only solution is to save in .pdf format and then print from Adobe or Foxit.
But i doesn't like to leave unsolved problems.
Anyway thanks for the help. Any other solution is welcome.
Thanks
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3144
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby wandererfan » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:27 pm

harlekin wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:15 pm
Uninstalled and reinstalled but it does not work.
With all the other programs I have no problem printing and choosing one of the two printers I have.
At this moment, if I can't find other ways, the only solution is to save in .pdf format and then print from Adobe or Foxit.
But i doesn't like to leave unsolved problems.
Anyway thanks for the help. Any other solution is welcome.
Thanks
I suspect Qt 5.6. I'm on 5.9.

Is there another Win10 Qt5.6 user out there who can confirm?
NoTrees
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:34 pm
Location: Upper St Clair, PA

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby NoTrees » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:48 pm

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

I also am unable to Print a TechDraw page..........., and am using 0.18 Qt 5.6.2.....
Preview works, but <Ctrl>-P nor the Print button work.
Print button from Preview only brings up SaveAs *.pdf.
was able to save as 'filename.pdf' and then printed successfully from Foxit.

Tried to print a different part file/view, (part.FCStd) and similar issues: can't print, and not even able to Preview. pressing Ctrl-P or the Print button showed "Printing..." on the status line (lower left corner) but no corresponding action/response from the printer.

Perhaps will have to investigate how to obtain a later build version of 0.18....
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3144
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby wandererfan » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:20 pm

This problem seems to have been around for a while. There's a solution proposed here: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... int+unable. I'm not a Windows guy, so I'm not sure if the solution is feasible.
Laurie Hartley
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:33 am

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby Laurie Hartley » Fri Aug 30, 2019 7:18 am

I am having the same problem but unfortunately I don't know where to access the file for the work around. Can someone please give me a link to the file location. Thanks.

OS: Windows 8.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3144
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: drawing printer trouble

Postby wandererfan » Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:17 am

Laurie Hartley wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 7:18 am
I am having the same problem but unfortunately I don't know where to access the file for the work around. Can someone please give me a link to the file location. Thanks.
Don't know much about building for Windows. Maybe one of the packaging whizkids has an idea.
sgrogan wrote: ping!
@sgrogan: Win/Qt 5.6 seems to have printing problems. Any chance of moving to newer Qt on Win? Or producing an x64/Qt4 build?