TechDraw DXF export troubles

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
Biogoji
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:43 pm

TechDraw DXF export troubles

Postby Biogoji » Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:37 pm

Hello everybody,

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/Switzerland (fr_CH)

I am a quite new to Freecad and I have some trouble with the attached DXF file that I exported from TechDraw.
I sent this file to a subcontractor in order to check if it could be machined on a CNC. They are using Autocad (unknow version).
They told me that the file opens without any error message but seems to be completely empty!
At first, I thought about some kind of zooming factor, but it seems not to be the case...

So here are my two questions:

- Does anybody have already experienced this kind of issue?
- Could it be related to the DXF release? (R12 / R14)?

I wanted to change the version on Freecad 0.18 under Preferences / Mod / Import but I couldn’t find the DxfVersionOut as explained here: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/TechDraw_SaveDXF
So, I’m a bit confused…

My Import-Export settings for DXF are:
Export Drawings Views as Blocks = true
Project exported objects along current view direction = true

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks
TechDraw DXF export.dxf
(234.87 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5515
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: TechDraw DXF export troubles

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:47 pm

Moved to TD subforum
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
vocx
Posts: 1430
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: TechDraw DXF export troubles

Postby vocx » Sun Oct 06, 2019 8:58 pm

Biogoji wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:37 pm
Hello everybody,
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/TechDraw_SaveDXF
So, I’m a bit confused…

My Import-Export settings for DXF are:
Export Drawings Views as Blocks = true
Project exported objects along current view direction = true
Did you select the Page? TechDraw can only export those views that are created with the TechDraw NewView command.

If you are using TechDraw NewArch or TechDraw NewDraft, it won't export these. Why? Because these are SVGs which TechDraw simply shows on the page. The view needs to have a real projection from a solid shape; it cannot be an SVG.
wandererfan
Posts: 2982
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: TechDraw DXF export troubles

Postby wandererfan » Sun Oct 06, 2019 10:02 pm

Biogoji wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:37 pm
- Could it be related to the DXF release? (R12 / R14)?

I wanted to change the version on Freecad 0.18 under Preferences / Mod / Import but I couldn’t find the DxfVersionOut as explained here: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/TechDraw_SaveDXF
The Dxf version doesn't get changed often, so it doesn't have a nice preference setting. You have to use Tools>Edit parameters...
dxfExportSettings.png
dxfExportSettings.png (86.78 KiB) Viewed 256 times
R14 is the default, so this probably isn't the problem.

Your file is not empty.
QCad_blogoji.png
QCad_blogoji.png (108.93 KiB) Viewed 256 times
If your vendor needs a particular version of Dxf, the ODA converter can read one version and write another.
Biogoji
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:43 pm

Re: TechDraw DXF export troubles

Postby Biogoji » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:09 am

Hello,
Thanks for all the comments and suggestions, I guess now that the problem is likely to be on the Autocad side...
I will try to check out with the vendor what DXF version he needs.
Thanks again for the quick support and this wonderful program :D
Biogoji
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:43 pm

Re: TechDraw DXF export troubles

Postby Biogoji » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:58 am

Hello,
Problem solved by converting the file with ODA in the DXF R12 format. Now open perfectly in Autocad!
Hope it might help some people...
wandererfan
Posts: 2982
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: TechDraw DXF export troubles

Postby wandererfan » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:04 pm

Biogoji wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:58 am
Problem solved by converting the file with ODA in the DXF R12 format. Now open perfectly in Autocad!
Your vendor must be running some old software! I thought any version problems would be because FC can only produce R12/R14 and the current Dxf spec is at least 6 versions newer.

You can maybe save a step by exporting from FC in R12.