TechDraw: dimensions too strong

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
Post Reply
outdoorbits
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 10, 2022 6:06 pm

TechDraw: dimensions too strong

Post by outdoorbits »

Hi,

using TechDraw I'm facing two problems:
  • Lines of dimensions are much stronger than edges
  • visible lines of the drawing are very thin
Of course I can change Line Width of a dimension-line. Default is 1. But the next dimension I insert, will have Line Width=1 again. Is there a central option I did not find?
If I try to change the Line Width of the drawing (View), there is no effect at all.
But if I add a SectionView, this line is affected by View/Line Width.

How can I get a correct relation between lines of the drawing and dimensions?

Thank you!

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 21.10 (KDE/plasma)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.
Build type: Release
Branch: unknown
Hash: cd3ba642df79b228fda9bd14ed0fba6203367b52
Python 3.9.7, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.0, OCC 7.5.2
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Installed mods: 
  * fasteners 0.3.41
Attachments
SectionView line affected by View/Line Width
SectionView line affected by View/Line Width
Screenshot_20220510_204016.png (50.94 KiB) Viewed 483 times
Line Width has no effect to the drawing
Line Width has no effect to the drawing
Screenshot_20220510_203412.png (45.19 KiB) Viewed 483 times
New dimenions always have Line With=1
New dimenions always have Line With=1
Screenshot_20220510_203205.png (43.43 KiB) Viewed 483 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 42592
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: TechDraw: dimensions too strong

Post by chrisb »

outdoorbits wrote: Tue May 10, 2022 6:46 pm
  • Lines of dimensions are much stronger than edges
  • visible lines of the drawing are very thin
You may have messed up TechDraw LineGroup in Preferences>TechDraw>Annotation>LineWidthGroup.
If you cannot fix it: as a workaround you can select all dimensions and change a common property for all of them at once.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4519
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: TechDraw: dimensions too strong

Post by wandererfan »

outdoorbits wrote: Tue May 10, 2022 6:46 pm If I try to change the Line Width of the drawing (View), there is no effect at all.
Is this the PPA version? Problems with line width changes not being reflected are a symptom of this issue #6698.

Other than that issue, line widths are controlled by the LineGroup.csv file. Dimensions use the "thin" line from the LineGroup and visible lines use the "thick" line. In my environment these are 0.13mm and 0.25mm respectively, using the "*FC 0.25mm" set from the default LineGroup file.
outdoorbits
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 10, 2022 6:06 pm

Re: TechDraw: dimensions too strong

Post by outdoorbits »

My LineGroup.csv is unchanged and has this definitions:

Code: Select all

*FC 0.25mm,0.13,0.18,0.25,0.50
*FC 0.35mm,0.18,0.25,0.35,0.70
*FC 0.50mm,0.25,0.35,0.50,1.0
*FC 0.70mm,0.35,0.50,0.70,1.4
*FC 1.00mm,0.50,0.70,1.00,2.00
*FC 1.40mm,0.70,1.00,1.40,2.80
*FC 2.00mm,1.00,1.40,2.00,4.00
In Preferences>TechDraw>Annotation>LineWidthGroup I selected "FC 0.50mm". The screenshot is taken from a new generated example. I think, the Lines-section reflects FC 0.50mm. The dimension has Line Width=0,25 mm. I would expect to see the drawing in 0.5 mm. Whats my mistake?
Attachments
Lines section reflects LineGroup.csv
Lines section reflects LineGroup.csv
Screenshot_20220512_211329.png (47.63 KiB) Viewed 275 times
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4519
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: TechDraw: dimensions too strong

Post by wandererfan »

outdoorbits wrote: Thu May 12, 2022 7:23 pm Whats my mistake?
I don't think you are making a mistake. There is something not right about the PPA versions of v0.19 and v0.20 combined with Ubuntu 21.10. The AppImage version of v0.19 works well on my Ubuntu 21.10 VM.
Post Reply