Pan Tool in Techdraw

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby regis » Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:17 pm

In tech draw this are some of the amazing features so far that i've noticed

1. Ability to lock view of page so it wont move on the sheet page in white. (I remember I wanted this functionality so badly. Thanks all who made it possible.)
Post request here https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... &hilit=pan
2. Ability to create a view perspective of the drawing
3. Ability to Dimension perspective views
4. Ability to create hatch, insert svg symbols (much smoother than before) and the current svg symbols used as hatch can be used as template and remodifiedat will to create other hatchs.
5. Control color and scale of hatch.

Current navigational issues noticed.
There is only one way to pan around and move the page at will,
that is by clicking anywhere on the white page, or they grey void, in an area not covered by the drawing placed on the sheet.
If you have locked drawing on the sheet with the 'Lock Position' property in the Data tab, you will not be able to pan the page by clickingon the drawing, so one must zoom out first before he can pan to the desired position.
The middle mouse button doesn't also pan when it appears to give the hand mouse symbol used for the pan in techdraw.
phpBB [video]



Other things i've noticed.
When the view is generated with the 'techdraw insert view in page', the view page on techdraw doesn't have the property to control the "line width" tichness. As does the Archview page on techdraw.

I can't remember how to toggle on and toggle off those little point nodes and I was wondering how to control the points so they are less visible. Anyone got a clue?
Attachments
Screenshot from 2018-07-08 22-45-31.png
Screenshot from 2018-07-08 22-45-31.png (421.25 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
wandererfan
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby wandererfan » Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:34 pm

regis wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:17 pm
Thanks for the kind words.

Panning - you can grab the page anywhere not covered by the frame of a View. If you grab on top of a View's frame, you will either move the View, or do nothing (if the View is locked). This behaviour comes free from Qt, so there's no programming on our part.

MMB - don't have one! :D MIght be an old external mouse in a box somewhere. I'll take a look.

Line Thickness - controlled by TechDraw_LineGroup initially. Change in PropertyEditor on View tab.

Vertexes - TechDraw_Toggle. Vertex radius is a multiple of line weight. Adjust with Tools>Edit parameters>Preferences/Mod/TechDraw/General/VertexScale. The default is 3x the line weight.

wf
efyx
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby efyx » Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:32 am

Wandererfan does great work but still hunger for more ;)
wandererfan wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:34 pm
MMB - don't have one! :D MIght be an old external mouse in a box somewhere. I'll take a look.
I believe it is not MMB but wheel because you can click it, so it can be treated as a MMB. Anyway I also mentioned it would be better to pan the sheet by pressing wheel(MMB) and views by LMB, because it is cleaner and easier to manage. You cannot move view when you wan't pan the sheet.
BTW. please include 3d space mouse ability to pan and zoom :)
User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby regis » Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:01 am

wandererfan wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:34 pm
MMB - don't have one! MIght be an old external mouse in a box somewhere. I'll take a look.
Haha, should have specified that I mean that the Scroll Wheel is the MMB in my case.
chrisb
Posts: 18165
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby chrisb » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:37 pm

wandererfan wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:34 pm
Vertexes - TechDraw_Toggle. Vertex radius is a multiple of line weight. Adjust with Tools>Edit parameters>Preferences/Mod/TechDraw/General/VertexScale. The default is 3x the line weight.
Do I have to create this parameter myself or is it new? FreeCAD for Mac is currently a bit out of sync.

OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13976 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at fae0de5)
Hash: fae0de58581694157a97d567c151bdce75d387dc
Python version: 2.7.15
Qt version: 5.11.0
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
wandererfan
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby wandererfan » Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:53 pm

chrisb wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:37 pm
Do I have to create this parameter myself or is it new? FreeCAD for Mac is currently a bit out of sync.

If it isn't there already, just add it. Make sure you spell it right! (voice of experience)
VertexScaleParm.png
VertexScaleParm.png (81.42 KiB) Viewed 1017 times
chrisb
Posts: 18165
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby chrisb » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:32 pm

Works perfect; well 5 might be a bit too much :) :
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2018-07-12 um 00.31.21.png
Bildschirmfoto 2018-07-12 um 00.31.21.png (12.79 KiB) Viewed 995 times
carlopav
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby carlopav » Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:44 pm

Hello @wandererfan,
I'm following with interest your progress with techdraw. I'm writing to ask you if you had the chance to give a look at middle mouse button (wheel pressing) pan. It would be something really usefriendly if a user could navigate techdraw page in the same way he navigate the 3dView.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.17505 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 755536e9df94d2d39da1468420f1fd333c35da7a
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
wandererfan
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby wandererfan » Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:56 pm

carlopav wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:44 pm
I'm writing to ask you if you had the chance to give a look at middle mouse button (wheel pressing) pan. It would be something really usefriendly if a user could navigate techdraw page in the same way he navigate the 3dView.
I am quite unhappy about TD not supporting the same navigation styles as the 3D View, but I have no progress to report. :cry:
carlopav
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: Pan Tool in Techdraw

Postby carlopav » Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:07 pm

:) No worry, it's done when it's done ;)