Diameter dimensioning

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
maker
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:25 am

Diameter dimensioning

Postby maker » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:01 am

Hi all,

I started a new thread in german language forum under

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=29982

German title: TechDraw workbench Durchmesserbemaßungen
Translated: TechDraw workbench dimensioning of diameters

This because I identified 3 problems with the TechDraw workbench, I actually have.
Generally speaking:

There is no editable text for dimensioning of diameters

The problems are:
  • Problem 1:dimensioning of diameters in correct form according to e.g. technical standards
  • Problem 2: Replacement of dimensioning text (Symbol for diameter Ø 6 replaced by screw thread designation M 6)
  • Problem 3: dimensioning text for nominating tolerances
==>
Is there any solution in FC 0.17 Rev 13522 now?

Is there any reliable and easy-to-manage solution in prospect?

Kind regards
Attachments
Bemaßung_diameter_k.jpg
Bemaßung_diameter_k.jpg (14.9 KiB) Viewed 881 times
Bemaßung_thread_k.jpg
Bemaßung_thread_k.jpg (14.59 KiB) Viewed 881 times
Bemaßung_tolerances_k.jpg
Bemaßung_tolerances_k.jpg (15.04 KiB) Viewed 881 times
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3161
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby wandererfan » Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:55 pm

maker wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:01 am
[There is no editable text for dimensioning of diameters
Problem 1: if the dimension text is aligned with the vertical or horizontal axis of the circle, it will be displayed in the traditional form. If the text is at an oblique angle, the dimension text will be displayed as a Leader. Note there is a bug in the positioning of the text in the aligned case. Does Diameter displayed as Leader violate standards?

Problem 2: this is coming in v0.18

Problem3: this is on the TODO list, but I'm not sure when it will be implemented.

From v0.18 development environment:
ArbitraryDiam18.png
ArbitraryDiam18.png (18.71 KiB) Viewed 861 times
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby Jee-Bee » Sat Jul 28, 2018 2:06 pm

I want to add something for problem 2.
Add the posibility to flip the arrow's from insine to outside.
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby Jee-Bee » Sat Jul 28, 2018 2:06 pm

I want to add something for problem 2.
Add the posibility to flip the arrow's from insine to outside.
chrisb
Posts: 19703
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby chrisb » Sat Jul 28, 2018 2:32 pm

A workaround for the tolerances is to add them as a SVG symbol.
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2018-07-28 um 16.32.43.png
Bildschirmfoto 2018-07-28 um 16.32.43.png (12.16 KiB) Viewed 848 times
align.svg
(3.14 KiB) Downloaded 147 times
M6.FCStd
(8.64 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3161
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby wandererfan » Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:59 pm

Jee-Bee wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 2:06 pm
I want to add something for problem 2.
Add the posibility to flip the arrow's from insine to outside.
They are supposed to be smart enough to flip themselves. I must have broken something while fiddling :oops: .
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby Jee-Bee » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:10 pm

Would it be possibel to add a manual override (for example RMB >> flip arrows)?
maker
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:25 am

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby maker » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:27 pm

I have created a ticket.

Please look here: https://www.freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=3549

Title: Enable editable diameter dimensioning text (e.g. specification of thread, tolerances)

Kind regards.
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3161
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby wandererfan » Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:22 pm

maker wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:27 pm
Title: Enable editable diameter dimensioning text (e.g. specification of thread, tolerances)
In 0.18, you can do this:
DiaArbText.png
DiaArbText.png (9.97 KiB) Viewed 704 times
DiaArbitraryProp.png
DiaArbitraryProp.png (17.9 KiB) Viewed 704 times
Are you looking for full text formatting? Subscripts, superscripts, bold, italic, etc?
chrisb
Posts: 19703
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Diameter dimensioning

Postby chrisb » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:47 pm

It would be great if the configurable diameter symbol (default = ⌀) would be part of the format, and not of the value. If the format would be something like

Code: Select all

⌀ %.4f
then it could be easily changed to

Code: Select all

M %.4f ± something
staying parametric if the diameter changes.