Over/Under Tolerances

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
wandererfan
Posts: 2583
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Over/Under Tolerances

Postby wandererfan » Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:46 pm

I've lost track, but somebody requested over/under tolerances on Dimensions using superscripts and subscripts. This was added ingit commit d2c2b35b6c
overUnderTol.png
overUnderTol.png (17.36 KiB) Viewed 1003 times
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby NormandC » Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:02 am

Great, TechDraw is coming along quite nicely! Thanks for your work. :)
jouke
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:52 am

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby jouke » Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:23 pm

This is great. However I can not find how to get double digits. When I try it an under or over tolerance of 0.01 becomes 0.0

Jouke
chrisb
Posts: 15271
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby chrisb » Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:48 pm

Did you set the precision in the TechDraw preferences?
jouke
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:52 am

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby jouke » Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:43 pm

I didn't ... sorry
reox
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 10:06 am

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby reox » Tue Jan 29, 2019 8:10 am

very nice! thank you! 8-)
jouke
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:52 am

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby jouke » Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:42 am

This works nicely but I think there could be an improvement.
I need double decimal precision for only one drawing in 20 or so. If I set the precision in the general preferences, I have to retouch all the dimensions in all the other drawings. It would be brilliant if we could set precision per drawing or have the possibility to set the precision for over/under tolerances per case.

What do you think ?

Jouke
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby Jee-Bee » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:39 pm

Yes last one sounds good. Creo knows that principle too.
default all tolerance follow the precision of the main dimension. but in some cases i want a higher precision and am i able to set this.
Attachments
creo_tolerance_same_as_dim.PNG
creo_tolerance_same_as_dim.PNG (2.14 KiB) Viewed 507 times
creo_tolerance_2dec.PNG
creo_tolerance_2dec.PNG (2.43 KiB) Viewed 507 times
reox
Posts: 539
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 10:06 am

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby reox » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:23 pm

I noticed something else too:
If you have something like 20.42 + 0.02 - 0.001 you are required to use 3 decimal places, otherwise it is not shown. But the %g formatter (https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... er#p198359) does not work here and displays 20.420 +0.020 - 0.001
Not sure why it does not work anymore here?
2019-02-12-192115_1075x323_scrot.png
2019-02-12-192115_1075x323_scrot.png (40.11 KiB) Viewed 472 times

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux buster/sid
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15917 (Git)
Build type: Release
Hash: 2ac0851d4cffa351ca8da06779e14b7f9be2173d
Python version: 2.7.15+
Qt version: 5.11.3
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Austria (de_AT)
wandererfan
Posts: 2583
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Over/Under Tolerances

Postby wandererfan » Wed Feb 13, 2019 2:11 am

reox wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:23 pm
But the %g formatter (https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... er#p198359) does not work here and displays 20.420 +0.020 - 0.001
Not sure why it does not work anymore here?
%.g seems to work here (on the Dimension value, it isn't implemented for the tolerance values). Check your preferences?

If you post the file I'll dig deeper.