Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4159
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by wandererfan »

One of the original driving concepts for TechDraw (or "new Drawing Module" at the time - 2013?) was that drawings would always be kept up to date with the 3D model.

As regular readers know, this can cause slow response with some drawings as the functions we use to make projections can be very slow with some shapes.

I'm told that in at least some commercial products, drawings are only updated on request. Replacing "always up todate" with "update on demand" would mitigate the effects of slow Drawings on the rest of FreeCAD.

I don't really know what the downside would be for end users of having to push a button to get an up to date drawing.

Comments, opinions, laughter, derision, etc?

wf
galou_breizh
Posts: 377
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by galou_breizh »

Would it be possible to update the drawing when the corresponding tab is activated?
User avatar
sliptonic
Veteran
Posts: 2618
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by sliptonic »

IMHO, updating on demand is fine. I strongly prefer that the application at least track whether the drawing is 'dirty' and needs updating. This can be a subtle UI cue like enabling the 'refresh' button only if the document is dirty and users will quickly learn what it indicates.
User avatar
PrzemoF
Veteran
Posts: 3331
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by PrzemoF »

Allow in Settings for both options is that's not too complicated.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 40150
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by chrisb »

I second both previous proposals. If I must decide between the two, I would like to see sliptonic's proposal implemented. If the drawing is opened in a tab the tab should show the star * added to the name indicating that there is a change.

Besides that, I'm very happy with the situation as is.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
aapo
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by aapo »

galou_breizh wrote: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:42 pm Would it be possible to update the drawing when the corresponding tab is activated?
I like this idea. I mean, who cares if the TechDraw drawing is updated or not, if it's not visible. And, if you'll actually go see it, it'd always be rebuilt and show the most recent geometry. The only problem would be when something (Python extensions etc.) goes and reads the TechDraw drawing behind the scenes, and it won't reflect the most recent changes in the model.
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 12484
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by yorik »

I'm all for that too... The ideal of course, being to have both modes available...

Another idea I've been pursuing is background rendering. Since TD views are mostly "endpoints" (no other object depends on them, only the page), we could declare them "executed", and then, in the background (in a QThread), they are taking all their time to render, then trigger something to be refreshed. But this doesn't seem very easy to achieve, as separate threads in QT need basically to have all their functionality defined in the thread itself, otherwise they begin to use stuff that runs on the main thread. But this needs more experiment.
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by triplus »

I am not sure if this accounts for being a philosophy change. I see it more as a feature that would be nice to have, like a new property for Page. Basically i perceive it as having more control over the recompute routine?
mlampert
Veteran
Posts: 1634
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by mlampert »

I would very much like to see this and function this way. Path is starting to have similar problems and we probably want to decouple Path generation from the automatic recompute/update mechanism soon - as we get into 3d machining and support for complex models.

Probably not the strongest argument to make the change in TD in 0.19, but if we have a model implementation we can follow the lead and adapt the same mechanisms/workflow in other WBs .
User avatar
HarryGeier
Veteran
Posts: 1230
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: Hof Germany

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Post by HarryGeier »

Personally i like both ideas ( on tab change/by flag )

The idea of changing by flag, similar to the auto update flag in Sketcher , has one intersting point. Someone..not me.. may want to see the drawing on a second screen while changing the model on first screen..

for me.. whatever can be done easier.

My biggest wish is that the selection of objects is 1:1 as in Sketcher . Preferrably with mode preselection . Like click horizontal icon, then one line after the other.
Kaum macht man´s richtig , gehts´s
My Video Tutorials on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoe3B ... p8Q/videos
My FreeCAD Stuff on Hidrive: https://my.hidrive.com/share/qr3l1yddy6#$/
Post Reply