Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3968
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby wandererfan » Wed Mar 20, 2019 1:56 pm

One of the original driving concepts for TechDraw (or "new Drawing Module" at the time - 2013?) was that drawings would always be kept up to date with the 3D model.

As regular readers know, this can cause slow response with some drawings as the functions we use to make projections can be very slow with some shapes.

I'm told that in at least some commercial products, drawings are only updated on request. Replacing "always up todate" with "update on demand" would mitigate the effects of slow Drawings on the rest of FreeCAD.

I don't really know what the downside would be for end users of having to push a button to get an up to date drawing.

Comments, opinions, laughter, derision, etc?

wf
galou_breizh
Posts: 319
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby galou_breizh » Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:42 pm

Would it be possible to update the drawing when the corresponding tab is activated?
User avatar
sliptonic
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby sliptonic » Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:23 pm

IMHO, updating on demand is fine. I strongly prefer that the application at least track whether the drawing is 'dirty' and needs updating. This can be a subtle UI cue like enabling the 'refresh' button only if the document is dirty and users will quickly learn what it indicates.
User avatar
PrzemoF
Posts: 2983
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby PrzemoF » Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:46 pm

Allow in Settings for both options is that's not too complicated.
chrisb
Posts: 25164
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby chrisb » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:48 pm

I second both previous proposals. If I must decide between the two, I would like to see sliptonic's proposal implemented. If the drawing is opened in a tab the tab should show the star * added to the name indicating that there is a change.

Besides that, I'm very happy with the situation as is.
aapo
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby aapo » Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:56 pm

galou_breizh wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:42 pm
Would it be possible to update the drawing when the corresponding tab is activated?
I like this idea. I mean, who cares if the TechDraw drawing is updated or not, if it's not visible. And, if you'll actually go see it, it'd always be rebuilt and show the most recent geometry. The only problem would be when something (Python extensions etc.) goes and reads the TechDraw drawing behind the scenes, and it won't reflect the most recent changes in the model.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11930
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby yorik » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:23 pm

I'm all for that too... The ideal of course, being to have both modes available...

Another idea I've been pursuing is background rendering. Since TD views are mostly "endpoints" (no other object depends on them, only the page), we could declare them "executed", and then, in the background (in a QThread), they are taking all their time to render, then trigger something to be refreshed. But this doesn't seem very easy to achieve, as separate threads in QT need basically to have all their functionality defined in the thread itself, otherwise they begin to use stuff that runs on the main thread. But this needs more experiment.
triplus
Posts: 9464
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby triplus » Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:54 pm

I am not sure if this accounts for being a philosophy change. I see it more as a feature that would be nice to have, like a new property for Page. Basically i perceive it as having more control over the recompute routine?
mlampert
Posts: 1463
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby mlampert » Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:18 am

I would very much like to see this and function this way. Path is starting to have similar problems and we probably want to decouple Path generation from the automatic recompute/update mechanism soon - as we get into 3d machining and support for complex models.

Probably not the strongest argument to make the change in TD in 0.19, but if we have a model implementation we can follow the lead and adapt the same mechanisms/workflow in other WBs .
User avatar
HarryGeier
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: Hof Germany

Re: Opinions on Major Philosophy Change for TD in v0.19?

Postby HarryGeier » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:51 am

Personally i like both ideas ( on tab change/by flag )

The idea of changing by flag, similar to the auto update flag in Sketcher , has one intersting point. Someone..not me.. may want to see the drawing on a second screen while changing the model on first screen..

for me.. whatever can be done easier.

My biggest wish is that the selection of objects is 1:1 as in Sketcher . Preferrably with mode preselection . Like click horizontal icon, then one line after the other.
Kaum macht man´s richtig , gehts´s
My Video Tutorials on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoe3B ... p8Q/videos
My FreeCAD Stuff on Hidrive: https://my.hidrive.com/share/qr3l1yddy6#$/