[duplicate] accented characters are not exported in SVG export

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 2202
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

[duplicate] accented characters are not exported in SVG export

Postby uwestoehr » Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:38 pm

- open this example file:
TD-test.FCStd
test file
(129.57 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
- export it as SVG
- open the SVG with Firefox (my result is attached)

result: You get this error:

Code: Select all

XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location: file:///D:/Download/TD-test.svg
Line Number 70, Column 40:
     <tspan xml:space="preserve">Uwe St￿one" transform="matrix(1,0,0,1,814.393,2323.65)" font-size="29.1042" font-style="normal" stroke-linejoin="bevel" stroke-opacity="1" stroke-linecap="round" stroke-width="7" font-weight="400">
---------------------------------------^
The bug is that the text is not Unicode. Since names contain accented characters, they should be supported. If this is not possible, TD should prevent to insert them.
Attachments
TD-test.svg
SVG result
(299.71 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Last edited by uwestoehr on Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ulrich1a
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: accented characters are not exported in SVG export

Postby ulrich1a » Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:29 pm

Are you using a Windows Version of FreeCAD? See this thread with a similar problem: https://www.forum.freecadweb.org/viewto ... 35&t=39997
There is already a Bug entry: http://freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=0004170

Ulrich
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 2202
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: accented characters are not exported in SVG export

Postby uwestoehr » Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:56 pm

ulrich1a wrote:
Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:29 pm
Are you using a Windows Version of FreeCAD? See this thread with a similar problem: https://www.forum.freecadweb.org/viewto ... 35&t=39997
There is already a Bug entry: http://freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=0004170
Thank you. Yes, I have exactly the same problem. I tried on Windows 7 and Windows 10.

OS: Windows 7 SP 1 (6.1)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18846 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: ceeb776fff25c679752571d5d8e6c4c8b1fd9008
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)