How do I generate a Rosette on a drawing

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
elsordo
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:34 am

How do I generate a Rosette on a drawing

Postby elsordo » Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:18 pm

I'm trying to place a compass rosette on a drawing.

How do I do it.

My FC info is:

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21937 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 0de5a290113800dc5779a76d7e216bd882e0ed1e
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 30721
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: How do I generate a Rosette on a drawing

Postby chrisb » Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:26 pm

FreeCAD is 3D modeling tool, not 2D. You can draw a sketch of a rosette on the appropriate surface and then pad or pocket it by a tiny amount.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: How do I generate a Rosette on a drawing

Postby wandererfan » Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:37 pm

elsordo wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:18 pm
I'm trying to place a compass rosette on a drawing.
Insert an svg symbol. This one is really big, so you'll have to set the scale accordingly.
compassRose.png
compassRose.png (191 KiB) Viewed 475 times
Attachments
Compass_Rose_01.svg
(111.62 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
compassRose.FCStd
(15.46 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
vocx
Posts: 5206
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: How do I generate a Rosette on a drawing

Postby vocx » Mon Jul 20, 2020 12:08 am

elsordo wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:18 pm
...
How do I do it.
...
You can just draw it using the Sketcher or the Draft Workbench and then insert it in the page.

However, for relatively complicated symbols like this one, it's much easier to just draw it as an SVG in some program like Inskcape and then just insert it in a TechDraw page.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
elsordo
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:34 am

Re: How do I generate a Rosette on a drawing

Postby elsordo » Mon Jul 20, 2020 12:28 am

Thanks, that was quick!