Internal references of dimensions messed up after changing ISO count

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
Post Reply
knutb
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 7:41 am

Internal references of dimensions messed up after changing ISO count

Post by knutb »

Version: FreeCAD_0.19.24267-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64

Hello all,

I've problems with a complete messed up tech draw page after doing small changes in the sketch of the underlying part. This effect obviously has something to do with a changed sorting of the unterlying refereces of the dimension objects. Meanwhile I've found a simplte way to reproduce the effect:

1. Create a very simple part in part design (plate: rectangular sketch -> pad 2mm)
2. Add a sketch on the surface and draw a circle -> hole
3. Create a TechDraw view
4. Add a cosmetic vertex at the middle of one line and link a dimension to this point
5. Go back to Sketch and add another hole
6. Go to TechDraw page

-> The dimension is now linked to another objects.

The same effect can be easily reproduced by just changing the ISO Count values in the TechView properties. I don't know anything from the FreeCAD code but obviously the references of the dimension objects to the "points" are only indices and not named/linked relations. When the sequence changes, the complete dimension assignment is messed up.

I've found a post with a similar effect but here only a diameter has been changed:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 20#p471169

Thank you All for the great work!
Knut
chrisb
Posts: 37831
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Internal references of dimensions messed up after changing ISO count

Post by chrisb »

This is due to the topological naming problem. TechDraw has to show generated geometry, so there apprently is no workaround for this.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
domad
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 12:16 pm

Re: Internal references of dimensions messed up after changing ISO count

Post by domad »

knutb wrote: Tue Mar 02, 2021 8:09 am ................
1. Create a very simple part in part design (plate: rectangular sketch -> pad 2mm)
2. Add a sketch on the surface and draw a circle -> hole
3. Create a TechDraw view
4. Add a cosmetic vertex at the middle of one line and link a dimension to this point
5. Go back to Sketch and add another hole
6. Go to TechDraw page
................
Thank you All for the great work!
Knut
Hi knutb! Greetings to the Community!
A valid alternative / different system could be this https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Advanced_TechDraw_Tutorial
in addition this https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=55029
Post Reply