Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

shIxx
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:13 am
Location: Bavaria (Germany)

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby shIxx » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:42 am

Hi, I would like to report a bug.
All three meshers ignore what you enter as "base element size" since rev.14982. They behave as if you enter 0 and automatically takes a value at the moment you click on "mesh". That was not the case with rev.14928.
Can anybody confirm this?

Edit:
same in rev. 14993

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14993 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1e6818b6fbf86ad08d8fc85252dddcae8891dd54
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
thschrader
Posts: 1818
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby thschrader » Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:33 pm

shIxx wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:42 am
Can anybody confirm this?
Yes, confirmed. In report view I get
"TypeError: Can't call meta function because I have no idea how to handle Base::Quantity"
when meshing.
system:
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14993 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1e6818b6fbf86ad08d8fc85252dddcae8891dd54
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby oliveroxtoby » Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:17 pm

shIxx wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:42 am
Hi, I would like to report a bug.
All three meshers ignore what you enter as "base element size" since rev.14982. They behave as if you enter 0 and automatically takes a value at the moment you click on "mesh". That was not the case with rev.14928.
Can anybody confirm this?

Edit:
same in rev. 14993

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14993 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1e6818b6fbf86ad08d8fc85252dddcae8891dd54
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Thank you for reporting this. I'll investigate.
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby oliveroxtoby » Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:22 pm

shIxx wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:42 am
Hi, I would like to report a bug.
All three meshers ignore what you enter as "base element size" since rev.14982. They behave as if you enter 0 and automatically takes a value at the moment you click on "mesh". That was not the case with rev.14928.
Can anybody confirm this?

Edit:
same in rev. 14993
I've created a pull request to revert the commit that caused the issue, so hopefully this will be fixed soon.
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
Syres
Posts: 775
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby Syres » Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:21 am

Using the below with the latest CfdOF WB all is back to normal from the quick tests I've carried out.

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15043 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: b11ed19f8d8a658817829df8c3223a24a660afbb
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby oliveroxtoby » Sun Oct 28, 2018 5:11 pm

Syres wrote:
Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:21 am
Using the below with the latest CfdOF WB all is back to normal from the quick tests I've carried out.
Great, thank you!
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
TimScottz8
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2020 12:14 pm

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby TimScottz8 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 9:36 am

Hi
I've finally got to grips with CFDoF WB. Awesome work that makes OF accessible to non-professionals like me !
There is just one query to speed up my workflow. Is there any way to get the CFMesh to run in parallel ? I have a dual processor Xeon PC with 6 cores per processor running on Kubuntu. At the moment the mesher is only using 1 looking at my System Monitor.
Thanks
Tim
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby oliveroxtoby » Mon Sep 07, 2020 5:26 am

TimScottz8 wrote:
Sat Sep 05, 2020 9:36 am
Hi
I've finally got to grips with CFDoF WB. Awesome work that makes OF accessible to non-professionals like me !
There is just one query to speed up my workflow. Is there any way to get the CFMesh to run in parallel ? I have a dual processor Xeon PC with 6 cores per processor running on Kubuntu. At the moment the mesher is only using 1 looking at my System Monitor.
Thanks
Tim
cfMesh is partially parallelised using OpenMP. If you monitor throughout the run you should find that for some of the time it uses all the cores available whereas at other times only one is used. I haven't done much comparison but another way to run it is in domain decomposition mode (as we do with snappyHexMesh). Not as efficient in the parallelised bits, but would use all processors for the complete process.
TimScottz8
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2020 12:14 pm

Re: Update on the development of the OpenFOAM CFD workbench (CFDOF)

Postby TimScottz8 » Tue Sep 08, 2020 10:39 pm

Thanks for the reply. I did see it using a number of cores at times but only when I stared at the screen for a while