Installation problems

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

thschrader
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby thschrader » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:33 am

@Oliver:
There is a guy in the german forum who has problems with installing cfmesh.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=27574
He has installed openfoam 5.0. So far I know openfoam 5.0 does not support cfmesh. Is that right?
When installing bluecfd via preferences/cfd, which version will be installed (2016-1/2016-2)?
Maybe you can have a look in the thread above and give an advice. No problem to
use english, we can translate it.
Thomas
MrRossi
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:30 am

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby MrRossi » Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:05 pm

thschrader wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:33 am
@Oliver:
There is a guy in the german forum who has problems with installing cfmesh.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=27574
He has installed openfoam 5.0. So far I know openfoam 5.0 does not support cfmesh. Is that right?
When installing bluecfd via preferences/cfd, which version will be installed (2016-1/2016-2)?
Maybe you can have a look in the thread above and give an advice. No problem to
use english, we can translate it.
Thomas
@Oliver:
Hello Oliver
The guy in the German forum is me. I still have problems to get the cfMesh installed.
Even if I use blueCFD version 2016-2.
Can you help?
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=27574

Regards
Christian

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.17.13303 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: b47e011c1cc6357fa776624d371ed434989c79b1
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.0.0
Locale: German/Austria (de_AT)
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby oliveroxtoby » Fri Mar 23, 2018 6:17 am

MrRossi wrote:
Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:05 pm
@Oliver:
Hello Oliver
The guy in the German forum is me. I still have problems to get the cfMesh installed.
Even if I use blueCFD version 2016-2.
Can you help?
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=27574
Hi Christian

If I understand correctly you have two problems - firstly you receive an error message trying to build cfMesh. Please could you attach the file:
C:\Program Files\blueCFD-Core-2016\ofuser-of4\log.buildCfMeshOnBlueCFD.sh
so that we can see what error occurs?

Secondly on your work computer you are getting no output and nothing happening when you try to build cfMesh? Please could you follow the instructions in my post about bug reporting, https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 55#p216535 and copy any output that appears on the report window when you try to build cfMesh?
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
MrRossi
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:30 am

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby MrRossi » Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:20 pm

Hallo Oliver

Don`t know how to atach the file. Always get an error message, invalid file extension. Below the text in the file:

cd $WM_PROJECT_USER_DIR &&
{
cd cfMesh-v1.1.2 &&
{

echo "Cleaning..."
./Allwclean

echo "Getting include file name translations..."
cd $WM_PROJECT_DIR
Tfiles=$(find -name "*.T.H" | sed -r 's#.*/(.*).T.H#\1#')
Tfiles="($(echo $Tfiles | sed 'y/ /|/'))"
sedscr='s/\#include "'$Tfiles'\.H"/#include "\1.T.H"/'
cd -

echo "Changing include file names..."
for f in `find -name "*.H"` `find -name "*.C"`
do
sed -i -r "$sedscr" "$f"
done

echo "Modifying library includes..."
sed -i -r 's/^[[:space:]]*LIBS =[[:space:]]*$/\0 -lmeshTools -ledgeMesh -ltriSurface/' meshLibrary/Make/options

echo "Building..."
./Allwmake

echo "Running second build to fix up..."
./Allwmake
}
}

The thing on my computer at work I have to try on Monday.

Thanks for help.

Regards
Christian
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby oliveroxtoby » Sat Mar 24, 2018 7:31 am

MrRossi wrote:
Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:20 pm
Hallo Oliver

Don`t know how to atach the file. Always get an error message, invalid file extension. Below the text in the file:
This looks like the buildCfMeshOnBlueCFD.sh file - can you rather include the log.buildCfMeshOnBlueCFD.sh file? If you rename it to .txt you may be able to attach it...
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
MrRossi
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:30 am

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby MrRossi » Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:35 pm

Hallo Oliver

There is no such a file.
I have now installed it once again, and once again, used different folders, etc.
No idea what else I can do, I`m loosing hope, this can be solved on my computer.
Attached once again, a screenshot with the error.
By the way, it seems cfMesh is installed, but it isn`t linked or anything else to FreeCad.

Greetings
Christian
Attachments
Bild4.jpg
Bild4.jpg (114.65 KiB) Viewed 569 times
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby oliveroxtoby » Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:25 pm

MrRossi wrote:
Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:35 pm
Hallo Oliver

There is no such a file.
I have now installed it once again, and once again, used different folders, etc.
No idea what else I can do, I`m loosing hope, this can be solved on my computer.
Attached once again, a screenshot with the error.
By the way, it seems cfMesh is installed, but it isn`t linked or anything else to FreeCad.

Greetings
Christian
I wonder whether this could be some conflict caused by the fact that you are running 32 bit FreeCAD whereas blueCFD is 64 bit. I would urge you to try it with 64 bit FreeCAD (and please let us know if this is indeed the issue).

If cfMesh is installed in the BlueCFD environment, then CfdOF will use it. You can check with the "Check Dependencies" function - if no missing dependencies are reported, you are good to go.
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby oliveroxtoby » Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:33 am

MrRossi wrote:
Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:35 pm
Attached once again, a screenshot with the error.
Also, please could you follow the instructions in my post about bug reporting, https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=27055 and copy all the output that appears on the report window when you try to build cfMesh? It is very hard to conclude anything from the screenshot.
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
MrRossi
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:30 am

Re: Installation problems

Postby MrRossi » Tue Mar 27, 2018 4:58 pm

Hello again

Tried it wit FreeCad 64 bit. Another error.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13452 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 34633c144de9133c1f9aeb7da783f369cae9bfaf
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Austria (de_AT)
Attachments
Bild5.jpg
Bild5.jpg (97.91 KiB) Viewed 519 times
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: CfdOF Workbench Training Material

Postby oliveroxtoby » Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:35 am

Michael_P wrote:
Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:52 pm

A wider internet search brought me to this forum "https://stackoverflow.com/questions/454 ... ify-failed" with some suggestions to overcome certification issues
I am not a programmer, hence I am not much of a help here.
thanks,
Michael
MrRossi wrote:
Tue Mar 27, 2018 4:58 pm
Hello again

Tried it wit FreeCad 64 bit. Another error.
This is a tricky one that maybe has to do with SSL certificates in non-standard locations on corporate networks etc. Doesn't make sense to try and work around it at the application level. In the latest update you can at least do a manual download from the location shown in the Preferences dialog, then point the installer at that file.
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.