Mesh error

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

User avatar
Dimitrios
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:12 am

Mesh error

Postby Dimitrios » Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:39 pm

I started to learn CFD doing the first Opemsim tutorial (the elbow) and all went well until the mesh step. I am not familiar with CFD yet, so I copied the gmsh output that ended with error, and dumped this:

0.0: Starting meshing ...
0.0: Exporting the part surfaces ...
0.1: Running gmsh ...
21.2: ./Allmesh: linha 12: /c/Program: No such file or directory
21.8: Generating stack trace...
21.8:
21.8:
21.8: Backtrace:
21.8: ZN10StackTraceC1Ev [0x705c1465+0x25]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\ThirdParty-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32\lib\libstack_trace.dll
21.8: ZN4Foam5error10printStackERNS_7OstreamE [0x1091c88+0x218]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\lib\libOpenFOAM.dll
21.8: ZN4Foam7sigSegv14sigSegvHandlerEi [0x1093883+0x33]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\lib\libOpenFOAM.dll
21.8: (No symbol) [0x4079d7]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.8: _C_specific_handler [0x7ff8ec777c58+0x98]
21.8: module: C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcrt.dll
21.8: 0_chkstk [0x7ff8ee96eced+0x11d]
21.8: module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
21.8: RtlWalkFrameChain [0x7ff8ee8d6c86+0x13f6]
21.8: module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
21.8: KiUserExceptionDispatcher [0x7ff8ee96dc1e+0x2e]
21.8: module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
21.8: (No symbol) [0x40c931]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.8: (No symbol) [0x40e870]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.8: (No symbol) [0x4013f7]
21.9: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.9: (No symbol) [0x40152b]
21.9: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.9: BaseThreadInitThunk [0x7ff8ec603034+0x14]
21.9: module: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNEL32.DLL
21.9: RtlUserThreadStart [0x7ff8ee941431+0x21]
21.9: module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
21.9: Meshing exited with error


I tried cfmesh, and it ended with error but no further explanations. :|

May anyone explain it to me, or point me some literature to consult?

My sistem is:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14111 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 548f63fd0eb554bb0fe5b23c1970de5fe05e3001
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: Portuguese/Brazil (pt_BR)


Dimitrios
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Mesh error

Postby oliveroxtoby » Fri Aug 03, 2018 3:40 pm

Dimitrios wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:39 pm
I started to learn CFD doing the first Opemsim tutorial (the elbow) and all went well until the mesh step. I am not familiar with CFD yet, so I copied the gmsh output that ended with error, and dumped this:

0.0: Starting meshing ...
0.0: Exporting the part surfaces ...
0.1: Running gmsh ...
21.2: ./Allmesh: linha 12: /c/Program: No such file or directory
Looks like a bug to do with spaces in the path...sorry, should be fixed. Please update your workbench and try again?
chrisb
Posts: 14056
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Mesh error

Postby chrisb » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:10 pm

Hi Dimitrios, you can use the code-tags </> to enclose such listings, making it easier to read.
User avatar
Dimitrios
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:12 am

Re: Mesh error

Postby Dimitrios » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:50 pm

Sorry Chris, noob here.

Oliver, now it do not goes beyond Fluid properties:

Code: Select all

import FreeCAD
>>> FreeCAD.open(u"C:/Simulacao/Teste1.FCStd")
>>> App.setActiveDocument("Teste1")
>>> App.ActiveDocument=App.getDocument("Teste1")
>>> Gui.ActiveDocument=Gui.getDocument("Teste1")
>>> Gui.activateWorkbench("CfdOFWorkbench")
>>> import FemGui
>>> import CfdAnalysis
>>> analysis = CfdAnalysis.makeCfdAnalysis('CfdAnalysis')
>>> FemGui.setActiveAnalysis(analysis)
>>> import CfdPhysicsSelection
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdPhysicsSelection.makeCfdPhysicsSelection())
>>> import CfdFluidMaterial
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdFluidMaterial.makeCfdFluidMaterial('FluidProperties'))
>>> import CfdInitialiseFlowField
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> import CfdSolverFoam
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdSolverFoam.makeCfdSolverFoam())
>>> FemGui.getActiveAnalysis().addObject(CfdFluidMaterial.makeCfdFluidMaterial('FluidProperties'))
>>> 
>>> mat = FreeCAD.ActiveDocument.FluidProperties001.Material
>>> mat['Density'] = '1.2e-009 kg/mm^3'
>>> mat['DynamicViscosity'] = '1.8e-008 kg/(mm*s)'
>>> FreeCAD.ActiveDocument.FluidProperties001.Material = mat
>>> App.getDocument("Teste1").removeObject("FluidProperties001")
>>> App.getDocument("Teste1").recompute()
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>>
Do not want to be a PITA, but I am learning a lot in a short time ...
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Mesh error

Postby oliveroxtoby » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:13 pm

Dimitrios wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:50 pm
Sorry Chris, noob here.

Oliver, now it do not goes beyond Fluid properties:
I am not seeing the error here? Could you share the file(s) that reproduce it?
User avatar
Dimitrios
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:12 am

Re: Mesh error

Postby Dimitrios » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:23 pm

Thanks, Oliver,

I upgraded FreeCad And the cfd workbench. It is working now.