Mesh error

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

Post Reply
User avatar
Dimitrios
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:12 am

Mesh error

Post by Dimitrios »

I started to learn CFD doing the first Opemsim tutorial (the elbow) and all went well until the mesh step. I am not familiar with CFD yet, so I copied the gmsh output that ended with error, and dumped this:

0.0: Starting meshing ...
0.0: Exporting the part surfaces ...
0.1: Running gmsh ...
21.2: ./Allmesh: linha 12: /c/Program: No such file or directory
21.8: Generating stack trace...
21.8:
21.8:
21.8: Backtrace:
21.8: ZN10StackTraceC1Ev [0x705c1465+0x25]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\ThirdParty-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32\lib\libstack_trace.dll
21.8: ZN4Foam5error10printStackERNS_7OstreamE [0x1091c88+0x218]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\lib\libOpenFOAM.dll
21.8: ZN4Foam7sigSegv14sigSegvHandlerEi [0x1093883+0x33]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\lib\libOpenFOAM.dll
21.8: (No symbol) [0x4079d7]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.8: _C_specific_handler [0x7ff8ec777c58+0x98]
21.8: module: C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcrt.dll
21.8: 0_chkstk [0x7ff8ee96eced+0x11d]
21.8: module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
21.8: RtlWalkFrameChain [0x7ff8ee8d6c86+0x13f6]
21.8: module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
21.8: KiUserExceptionDispatcher [0x7ff8ee96dc1e+0x2e]
21.8: module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
21.8: (No symbol) [0x40c931]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.8: (No symbol) [0x40e870]
21.8: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.8: (No symbol) [0x4013f7]
21.9: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.9: (No symbol) [0x40152b]
21.9: module: C:\PROGRA~1\BLUECF~1\OpenFOAM-5.x\platforms\mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt\bin\gmshToFoam.exe
21.9: BaseThreadInitThunk [0x7ff8ec603034+0x14]
21.9: module: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNEL32.DLL
21.9: RtlUserThreadStart [0x7ff8ee941431+0x21]
21.9: module: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
21.9: Meshing exited with error


I tried cfmesh, and it ended with error but no further explanations. :|

May anyone explain it to me, or point me some literature to consult?

My sistem is:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14111 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 548f63fd0eb554bb0fe5b23c1970de5fe05e3001
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: Portuguese/Brazil (pt_BR)


Dimitrios
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 840
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Mesh error

Post by oliveroxtoby »

Dimitrios wrote: Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:39 pm I started to learn CFD doing the first Opemsim tutorial (the elbow) and all went well until the mesh step. I am not familiar with CFD yet, so I copied the gmsh output that ended with error, and dumped this:

0.0: Starting meshing ...
0.0: Exporting the part surfaces ...
0.1: Running gmsh ...
21.2: ./Allmesh: linha 12: /c/Program: No such file or directory
Looks like a bug to do with spaces in the path...sorry, should be fixed. Please update your workbench and try again?
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 54273
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Mesh error

Post by chrisb »

Hi Dimitrios, you can use the code-tags </> to enclose such listings, making it easier to read.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
Dimitrios
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:12 am

Re: Mesh error

Post by Dimitrios »

Sorry Chris, noob here.

Oliver, now it do not goes beyond Fluid properties:

Code: Select all

import FreeCAD
>>> FreeCAD.open(u"C:/Simulacao/Teste1.FCStd")
>>> App.setActiveDocument("Teste1")
>>> App.ActiveDocument=App.getDocument("Teste1")
>>> Gui.ActiveDocument=Gui.getDocument("Teste1")
>>> Gui.activateWorkbench("CfdOFWorkbench")
>>> import FemGui
>>> import CfdAnalysis
>>> analysis = CfdAnalysis.makeCfdAnalysis('CfdAnalysis')
>>> FemGui.setActiveAnalysis(analysis)
>>> import CfdPhysicsSelection
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdPhysicsSelection.makeCfdPhysicsSelection())
>>> import CfdFluidMaterial
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdFluidMaterial.makeCfdFluidMaterial('FluidProperties'))
>>> import CfdInitialiseFlowField
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> import CfdSolverFoam
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdSolverFoam.makeCfdSolverFoam())
>>> FemGui.getActiveAnalysis().addObject(CfdFluidMaterial.makeCfdFluidMaterial('FluidProperties'))
>>> 
>>> mat = FreeCAD.ActiveDocument.FluidProperties001.Material
>>> mat['Density'] = '1.2e-009 kg/mm^3'
>>> mat['DynamicViscosity'] = '1.8e-008 kg/(mm*s)'
>>> FreeCAD.ActiveDocument.FluidProperties001.Material = mat
>>> App.getDocument("Teste1").removeObject("FluidProperties001")
>>> App.getDocument("Teste1").recompute()
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>> analysis.addObject(CfdInitialiseFlowField.makeCfdInitialFlowField())
>>>
Do not want to be a PITA, but I am learning a lot in a short time ...
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 840
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Mesh error

Post by oliveroxtoby »

Dimitrios wrote: Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:50 pm Sorry Chris, noob here.

Oliver, now it do not goes beyond Fluid properties:
I am not seeing the error here? Could you share the file(s) that reproduce it?
Please provide all the information requested in this post before reporting problems with CfdOF.
User avatar
Dimitrios
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:12 am

Re: Mesh error

Post by Dimitrios »

Thanks, Oliver,

I upgraded FreeCad And the cfd workbench. It is working now.
Post Reply