cfdOF install

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

ljb
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: cfdOF install

Postby ljb » Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:03 pm

200 hours?
OK.
Maybe I can do a little better by standing on your shoulders?

Of course the way things are changing these days I imagine that no one ever gets very far beyond the beginner stage.

*****
Hmm. The next step is to 'write the case to a directory'.
(Guess what ... :-) )

Input Case Name in the data tab of the model tree defaulted to 'case'. I changed that to 'case_elbow_1' and pushed the Write button.
That didn't work, so I changed it back to 'case' and pushed Write. Still did not work.

Code: Select all

0.0: Please edit the case input files externally at: c:\users\lb17\appdata\local\temp\case 

EDIT Input Case Name from 'case' to 'case_elbow_1'

0.0: Checking dependencies...
0.0: OpenFOAM case writer is called
1.2: Error writing case:
1.2: [Error 3] The system cannot find the path specified: 'c:\\users\\lb17\\appdata\\local\\temp\\meshCase\\constant\\triSurface/*.*'
1.2: Write case setup file failed

EDIT Input Case Name from 'case_elbow_1' back to 'case'

0.0: Checking dependencies...
0.0: OpenFOAM case writer is called
0.3: Error writing case:
0.3: [Error 3] The system cannot find the path specified: 'c:\\users\\lb17\\appdata\\local\\temp\\meshCase\\constant\\triSurface/*.*'
0.3: Write case setup file failed

NOTE: the folders 'case' and 'case_elbow_1' (on my computer) are found in the ... appdata\local\temp\ folder, not in the deeper folder shown above in the [Error 3] msgs.

The path

Code: Select all

'c:\\users\\lb17\\appdata\\local\\temp\\meshCase\\constant\\triSurface/*.*'
does not exist on my computer.
ljb
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: cfdOF install

Postby ljb » Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:20 pm

I pulled up the Preferences dialog, and for CFD the output directory is

Code: Select all

c:\users\lb17\appdata\local\temp
I bet I ought to change this to

Code: Select all

c:\users\lb17\appdata\local\temp\meshCase\constant\triSurface/*.*'
However - shouldn't the current setting in Prefs cause FC to look in my preferred folder setting instead of (the factory default?) where it is actually looking?
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: cfdOF install

Postby oliveroxtoby » Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:47 pm

ljb wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:03 pm

0.0: Checking dependencies...
0.0: OpenFOAM case writer is called
1.2: Error writing case:
1.2: [Error 3] The system cannot find the path specified: 'c:\\users\\lb17\\appdata\\local\\temp\\meshCase\\constant\\triSurface/*.*'
1.2: Write case setup file failed
Did you create the mesh first? This should have created the folder c:\\users\\lb17\\appdata\\local\\temp\\meshCase - does it exist?
thschrader
Posts: 1394
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: cfdOF install

Postby thschrader » Fri Sep 07, 2018 4:14 pm

ljb wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:03 pm
Maybe I can do a little better by standing on your shoulders?
Better not....
Here are some shoulders you can stand on:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjdgpu ... Vvw/videos
Do you remember the geometry below? :)
All tutorials can be done with the bluecfd-core console. When you feel fit,
try to rebuild the tutorials with Freecad-cfd. You will learn a lot.
Some more learning stuff:
https://www.youtube.com/user/kehoste/videos
your_first_simulation.JPG
your_first_simulation.JPG (16.44 KiB) Viewed 309 times
ljb
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: cfdOF install

Postby ljb » Fri Sep 07, 2018 4:27 pm

Yes it does

temp\meshCase
contains constant and gmsh and system (plus some files)

* meshCase\constant contains polyMesh <but not triSurface> (and no files}
* * constant\polyMesh contains sets (and some files)
* * * polyMesh\sets contains (one file)

gmsh contains (some files)

system contains (some files)

***

back up the folder tree

...temp\case contains constant which contains triSurface which is empty
and
...temp\case_elbow_1 contains constant which contains triSurface which is empty
ljb
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: cfdOF install

Postby ljb » Fri Sep 07, 2018 4:32 pm

thschrader:
You will learn a lot.
Some more learning stuff:
Thanks.
Sounds like work.
and fun.
I'll do it.
ljb
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: cfdOF install

Postby ljb » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:18 pm

Oliver,

I'm trying to understand why my Default output directory in the Preferences dialog is different from the one that the 'Analysis control' dialog is calling.

The 'CFD Mesh by gmsh' dialog seems to have used the directory from Preferences for its output.

I did not explicitly set either one. Could I have done it indirectly, somewhere earlier in the process?

???

Could this be related to those error messages?
ljb
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: cfdOF install

Postby ljb » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:34 pm

Here's an idea.

This project is one that thschrader sent to me. It uses my original project as a starting point, but I think he finished some of the final steps prior to the 'write case' step.

I wonder what his Preference dialog says about the output directory.
ljb
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: cfdOF install

Postby ljb » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:32 am

In a recent post thschrader suggested that I attempt to redo the elbow tutorial from scratch.
I think that is a good idea. It will give me a chance to see how much I have learned from you guys.

Since my first attempt was named test_elbow_1, I will name this one test_elbow_2
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: cfdOF install

Postby oliveroxtoby » Sat Sep 08, 2018 8:35 pm

ljb wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:18 pm
Oliver,

I'm trying to understand why my Default output directory in the Preferences dialog is different from the one that the 'Analysis control' dialog is calling.

The 'CFD Mesh by gmsh' dialog seems to have used the directory from Preferences for its output.

I did not explicitly set either one. Could I have done it indirectly, somewhere earlier in the process?

???

Could this be related to those error messages?
The preferences page defaults to your temporary directory, but you can change it. This is used as the path in which the mesh and the case are written, if the path in the analysis object is blank. If it is not blank, then that path (which will be saved with the file) overrides the one set in your preferences.

Can you share the file that is giving you this error, and I will see if I can reproduce?