Wall function with k-w SST

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

julieng

Wall function with k-w SST

Post by julieng »

Dear all,

Does CfdOF employs a wall function ? If yes which one?

https://www.cfd-online.com/Forums/openf ... a-sst.html

I understand that k-w SST without wall function is a ind of Low Re model needing a y+ <1 (or close to 1).
When used with a wall function (nutSpalartAllmarasWallFunction and omegaWallFunction) 30<y+<100-300.

What is your strategy concerning the mesh close to the wall ?

Best regards

Julien
m.cavallerin

Re: Wall function with k-w SST

Post by m.cavallerin »

For what I know CFDOF allow the usage og the kOmegaSST model.

About mesh strategy at the wall?

Keep in mind the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_of_the_wall

I'm not an expert (so I'm not academic) but that's what I understood about wallFunctions...

(BL: stands for boundary layer)
When you choose to model the BL so I mean you set an higher number of prism layer (let say 12to20 or more, depends on the problem) with the proper expansion factor to capture the gradients of your variables on the "y coordinate", you're not supposed to specify a wall function as you're setting up your simulation to resolve the BL: so it means that according to the Neumann problem, you have to specify the BC for all your variables near the walls: k, omega, nut, U, p, ecc... and the solver is able to compute properly the variables at each point of the mesh.
This strategy is intended if you want to CALCULATE PROPERLY the heat transfer coefficient, the drag forces, ecc because maybe you're designing a new stage for a SpaceX vector and you can't be so "interpolated"....