Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

This forum section is only for IFC-related issues
paullee
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby paullee » Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:13 pm

Hi, I have been testing my workflow with modelling a few hypothetical or famous building.

With modeling of Villa Savoye at Villa Savoye - FC Model, trying to export to IFC to test.

Found a strange situation, 4 strip window on 4 facades, only 1 strip window at front elevation and opening missing ?
(Ifc opened in IFC++ on fedora 30)
Not know if it is FC / IFCexport / IFC++ / my modelling / etc. problem ?

Model posted at GitHub / simplified version discussion thread.
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-01-49.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-01-49.png (314.85 KiB) Viewed 314 times
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-03-48.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-03-48.png (337.42 KiB) Viewed 314 times
[EDIT - IFCexport with the Facades/Window's only ]
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-28-09.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-28-09.png (171.41 KiB) Viewed 311 times
Attachments
Villa Savoye_1F_partial_facade.ifc
(167.75 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Villa Savoye_1F_partial.ifc
(274.85 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
paullee
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby paullee » Sun Jan 12, 2020 6:00 pm

Suddenly something comes to my attention, I might have seen this and reported before?


The 'front' strip window has a Clone, and used it as the 'rear' strip window.

I guess IFCexport ignore the 1st 'instance', the original one !!! :D


Previous case maybe Clones of doors.

Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-53-54.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-53-54.png (284.13 KiB) Viewed 308 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8751
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby bernd » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:16 am

for me the window is missing if the FreeCAD file will be opened. An missing window can not be exported to ifc ...


screen.png
screen.png (492.25 KiB) Viewed 280 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8751
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby bernd » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:16 am

BTW: if I open the file I get lots of

Code: Select all

<string>(1)<class 'ModuleNotFoundError'>: No module named 'ArchSketchObject'
paullee
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby paullee » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:23 pm

bernd wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:16 am
for me the window is missing if the FreeCAD file will be opened. An missing window can not be exported to ifc ...

screen.png
Thanks for checking.

The side elevation you are looking at open into internal courtyard / open space so there is no windows.


Instead, it is the 'front elevation' the whole width of strip window and its opening are missing.
paullee
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby paullee » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:26 pm

bernd wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:16 am
BTW: if I open the file I get lots of

Code: Select all

<string>(1)<class 'ModuleNotFoundError'>: No module named 'ArchSketchObject'
See https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p354185

This is experimental, being tested in the workflow modelling the buildings, do not need it if the model is not recomputed.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8751
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby bernd » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:32 pm

ok in regard of the error.

But if there is no window tha there is no window missing ...
paullee
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby paullee » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:17 pm

It is another window Win_1F_win_Front in the 'front elevation' that is missing in the IFC.

Many windows :)

FC model
Window in concern highlighted
Compare the one in IFC below
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-01-49.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-01-49.png (314.85 KiB) Viewed 183 times

IFC Model
Just a blank wall,
w/o opening
w/o window
?
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-28-09.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-13 01-28-09.png (171.41 KiB) Viewed 185 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8751
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby bernd » Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:41 am

I may have a look at the exporter. Would it be possible to share a much simpler FreeCAD file which shows the problem?
paullee
Posts: 1963
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Villa Savoye - IFC Missing Window & Opening

Postby paullee » Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:31 pm

Thanks looking into this.
Screenshot from 2020-01-15 02-29-55.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-15 02-29-55.png (205.79 KiB) Viewed 137 times
Attachments
Villa Savoye_1F_Facade.FCStd
(388.67 KiB) Downloaded 5 times