IFC export not working

This forum section is only for IFC-related issues
Mech
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:23 am

IFC export not working

Postby Mech » Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:35 am

Hi,

I have a collada file which i want to convert to IFC, I open the collada file using freecad 0.15 and then export as IFC but nothing happens.

I tried installing freecad 0.16 however pycollada is not installed and couldnt figure out how to install it, therefore i cant import my collada file, I did search the forum, found some topics but still couldnt figure it out.

I have attached my collada file created using sketchup make

Freecad version info

OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4671 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-15
Hash: 244b3aef360841646cbfe80a1b225c8b39c8380c
Python version: 2.7.9
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
Attachments
House.dae
(362.48 KiB) Downloaded 127 times
jmaustpc
Posts: 9566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: IFC export not working

Postby jmaustpc » Sat Jul 22, 2017 4:12 am

Your first post, welcome to FreeCAD!
Mech wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:35 am
OS: Mac OS X
I can't help with Mac but there are other here who can and will likely answer you specifically regarding Apple. But one tip in case it is any help, is that I have seen here some people got stuck because FreeCAD uses Python2 and they had installed the Python3 version of a Python dependency.
Mech wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:35 am
I have a collada file which i want to convert to IFC,
Mech wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:35 am
Version: 0.15.4671 (Git)
The simple answer is "forget it in FreeCAD 0.15", IFC is new functionality, I don't think it existed in 0.15 or if it did it would have been a very early version. I think its a bit limited even in 0.16 or at least has been much improved in the development versions 0.17. I don't personally use IFC, but my understanding is that you may get away with 0.16 for simple things but would likely find its limitations quite quickly and might really need to try it in 0.17 and even there work is not complete as it is a complex matter.

If its any help, here is a FreeCAD file containing Meshes imported from your dae file. It import with some errors and the mesh data structure has some errors but perhaps it will help.
house_imported_from_dae.fcstd
(40.74 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
OS: Ubuntu 16.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.11616 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: aba4338808178b508f3170237f205e0066a5b437
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/Australia (en_AU)



And this is the same dae file imported with FreeCAD 0.16, which does not claim to have any errors but is likely to still have the errors but be just not producing an error message.
house_imported_from_dae_freecad_0_16.fcstd
(39.97 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
OS: Ubuntu 16.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6710 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f8eca0f9311f07c125dd6742a607724c1fa0b77c
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17


Jim
Mech
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:23 am

Re: IFC export not working

Postby Mech » Sat Jul 22, 2017 10:25 am

Thanks for the reply,

One of the reasons ifc export didnt work on imac on the 0.15 version is because the ifcopenshell was not installed, but anyway as you said i should forget 0.15, and i think i should also forget freecad on imac for ifc.

Good thing I have also windows on my imac. I have downloaded and installed 0.16 on windows, both ifcopenshell and pycollada are installed (what a convenience).

I tried exporting my file from dae to ifc and from obj to ifc, it does save a file on my desktop but when i open the file with bimvision there is nothing there, it does load all the meshes but i cant see anything. I also tried opening it with FreeCAD but again i cant see anything and again the meshes load.

I have attached the ifc file which i created can someone have a look?
Attachments
house.ifc
(9.37 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11566
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: IFC export not working

Postby yorik » Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:49 pm

Converting a mesh (DAE) file to IFC is not so straightforward. Just opening the DAE file and saving it as IFC (currently) won't work. I actually know no application that can do that yet. The main issue is that DAE files will import as meshes, and the IFC exporter is expecting shapes, it currently won't export meshes. So what you can do is, after importing the DAE file, convert its objects to Part shapes (Part->Create Part from Mesh). After that IFC export should work.

I actually could add support for exporting meshes to IFC. It doesn't seem very useful to me (you won't be able to do anything with them in a BIM application), but who knows...
Mech
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:23 am

Re: IFC export not working

Postby Mech » Mon Jul 24, 2017 6:45 pm

As you said there is no use to it if there is no information available for each element, you would only get the shape of the structure. which is not much.

I am a structural engineer and my goal was to to export the frame of the structure in IFC to share it with the architect and communicate the design more efficiently. I contacted the company who makes the software i am using for structural design and they said that they will soon update the software to be able to export IFC.

They already have a BIM software that can export IFC therefore i can send my structural model to the BIM software and then export it as IFC but that is an extra 80 bucks for monthly subscription, i guess i wil have to use that until the update.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11566
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: IFC export not working

Postby yorik » Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:50 pm

Actuually the app I know that doesn't do a bad job as exporting mesh data to IFC is sketchup (only the pro version has IFC export I think). There is not much info outside the geometry, but it works in a very simple manner (you can give an IFC type to export to each sketchup object, and add additional IFC properties too), so it kind of works... Of course for ex. Revit will import it as a big uneditable "blob", but that's likely Revit's fault, not IFC.

IfcOpenShell, the IFC framework we use in FreeCAD to import/export to IFC, can also be used in Blender. That would be another solution to convert meshes to IFC directly. But I'm not sure exporting from Blender works already...
User avatar
joancabeza
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:51 pm
Contact:

Re: IFC export not working

Postby joancabeza » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:12 am

Hi everybody,

I'm trying to export an IFC file of the site and building that I'm working on, but it appears an error. I am been able to export individual objects (a wall a slab) of the file but nothing else so far. The IFC detects the elements correctly but doesn't "remember" the site and building information.

I've tried to:
- Configure every each possibility in the Export IFC preferences
- Copy the project in another file
- Move the building near the axis.

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13515 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: e17b340949b75a226cc7d89989b0aa238ccfc75f
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: Catalan/Spain (ca_ES)
2018-04-23 10.51.37.png
2018-04-23 10.51.37.png (348.92 KiB) Viewed 767 times
coberta.ifc
(4.58 KiB) Downloaded 33 times
1806.FCStd
(338.4 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11566
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: IFC export not working

Postby yorik » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:10 pm

There is an encoding bug there apparently... It's now solved in git commit 1e2b9758c
User avatar
joancabeza
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:51 pm
Contact:

Re: IFC export not working

Postby joancabeza » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:50 am

I'm sorry to tell you that there's still an error. Good news the old one is solved :)
2018-04-24 10.28.12.png
2018-04-24 10.28.12.png (269.35 KiB) Viewed 725 times
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11566
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: IFC export not working

Postby yorik » Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:24 pm

ok, further fix in git commit 0599879e2
I never used the ifc properties spreadsheet mode... You might find other bugs, but we'll solve them on the way, thanks for the help!

PS you might want o open the Views->Panels->report panel, this will give a better error message than the one that appears on the status bar (and you can copy/paste)