loss in data during exporting IFC file.

This forum section is only for IFC-related issues
Harvinder Singh
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:37 am

loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby Harvinder Singh » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:23 am

My name is Harvinder Singh, student at GNDE College, Ludhiana, Punjab.
I was trying to export reinforced concrete member in IFC format from FreeCAD (.18). For this, I made two files in FreeCAD, one without reinforcement bar and other with reinforcement bars. Both the files have same member dimensions and same material, (the only difference of reinforcement bars). When I exported these files as IFC files, the one without reinforcement was exported successfully but while exporting other file with reinforcement bars, the file missed the concrete structure and only shows the reinforcement. The two files mentioned are attached.
Attachments
withrebar.FCStd
file with the reinforcement bars
(17.22 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
withoutrebar.FCStd
file without reinforcement bars
(11.75 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5945
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 12:32 pm

Dear mods, this thread should prob. be moved in to the iFC subforum.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11585
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby yorik » Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:43 pm

@Harvinder Singh please paste your FreeCAD info from menu Help -> About dialog
This issue has been fixed around one month ago IIRC, maybe you need a more recent version of FreeCAD
Harvinder Singh
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:37 am

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby Harvinder Singh » Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:44 am

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16093 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 690774c0effe4fd7b8d2b5e2fb2b8c8d145e21ce
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
Harvinder Singh
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:37 am

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby Harvinder Singh » Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:16 am

Can you please provide me a FreeCAD file, which properly exports concrete and reinforcement in IFC file.
Or
If there is something wrong in My model, Please provide me a manual or procedure which I can use for modeling so that there is no loss in IFC file.
Or
If there is problem with the version, then which should i use.
Harvinder Singh
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:37 am

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby Harvinder Singh » Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:35 am

thanks for your help. the problem is solved.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5945
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:32 pm

Harvinder Singh wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:35 am
thanks for your help. the problem is solved.
How was it solved? please post here for posterity.
Also if it is, then please prepend [Solved] to your first post title indicating this thead is indeed solved. thank you
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
Harvinder Singh
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:37 am

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby Harvinder Singh » Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:20 am

It was a simple problem. follow the steps:Open FreeCAD > Go to edit > preferences > go to import-export > IFC > then tick the option "export full parametric model" (Image is attached). Now when we make a model along with any reinforcements in concrete members and export it IFC file, then whole the model along with reinforcements will be exported.
Attachments
Screenshot (73).png
option to be checked
Screenshot (73).png (101.02 KiB) Viewed 324 times
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11585
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby yorik » Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:08 pm

Note that this option exports all the FreeCAD properties of an object in the IFC file, so when re-importing the FreeCAD object gets fully recreated, but it's not very useful when exporting to other apps, as they won't be aware of these FreeCAD-specific properties.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8488
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: loss in data during exporting IFC file.

Postby bernd » Mon May 13, 2019 12:38 pm

works great here without the workaround ... on

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16624 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 222ae7305fdf1097e4ef3d050f69dff47dbd8786
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Switzerland (de_CH)


screen.jpg
screen.jpg (221.25 KiB) Viewed 214 times