IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

This forum section is only for IFC-related issues
User avatar
Tandy
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:06 pm
Location: FEROZEPUR,PUNJAB,INDIA

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby Tandy » Mon May 13, 2019 12:44 pm

I will prefer FreeCAD .19 only i saw many new IFC work in it.
Tandeep singh
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8468
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby bernd » Mon May 13, 2019 1:15 pm

Just had a fast look at importIFC module ...

We should add an preference to be able to deactivate the restoring from parametric definition or deactivate it on import preference for only import Part shapes ...

Furthermore we should catch the automate import some module whichs name is from a string in ifc with importlib. Such could go wrong any time ... Just change the string in ifc will make FreeCAD freeze. This should not happen.
User avatar
Tandy
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:06 pm
Location: FEROZEPUR,PUNJAB,INDIA

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby Tandy » Mon May 13, 2019 6:04 pm

Yes single error make mine FreeCAD freeze to.
i will find some solution and willl do it.

:)
Tandeep singh
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11574
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby yorik » Tue May 14, 2019 12:51 am

bernd wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 1:15 pm
We should add an preference to be able to deactivate the restoring from parametric definition or deactivate it on import preference for only import Part shapes ...
Added in git commit 184a39267

I also fixed the error above. Before, someobject.__class__ would return just the class name, now it returns a strange representation like <class "classname">...
User avatar
Tandy
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:06 pm
Location: FEROZEPUR,PUNJAB,INDIA

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby Tandy » Tue May 14, 2019 5:16 am

Thank you.
I will update FreeCAD and check if any issue occur.
Tandeep singh
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8468
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby bernd » Wed May 15, 2019 9:23 am

the import of wall.ifc works on:

OS: Debian GNU/Linux buster/sid (KDE/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16744 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 4ea8d4ee6af2014633f0acc7e0d35af94665a81a
Python version: 3.7.3rc1
Qt version: 5.11.3
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Switzerland (de_CH)
User avatar
Tandy
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:06 pm
Location: FEROZEPUR,PUNJAB,INDIA

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby Tandy » Wed May 15, 2019 10:20 am

Why file is working on Linux and not on windows 10
Tandeep singh
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8468
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby bernd » Wed May 15, 2019 4:23 pm

it should work on win 10 too
User avatar
Tandy
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:06 pm
Location: FEROZEPUR,PUNJAB,INDIA

Re: IFc exported from FreeCAD is not Imported Back to FreeCAD

Postby Tandy » Wed May 22, 2019 7:01 pm

That file was not working , but i created new one using freecad.19 and its working good.
Tandeep singh