IFC export

This forum section is only for IFC-related issues
cadgiru
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:53 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

IFC export

Postby cadgiru » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:20 am

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22164 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f2a9f712e8d68ee2393d0fe748c02096c4148a32
Python version: 3.8.5
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Probably something Basic I do wrong?

When Exporting to IFC, objects 'Jump'
fc01.jpg
fc01.jpg (391.23 KiB) Viewed 653 times
Imported in Blender (BlenderBim) (same result in other ifc viewers:

fc02.jpg
fc02.jpg (133.31 KiB) Viewed 653 times
Freecad File attached
Attachments
DhFundament.FCStd
(151.64 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10976
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFC export

Postby bernd » Sun Aug 23, 2020 6:56 pm

I can confirm the problem. In most cases the following export preference helps: "Force export as Brep". but it does not here.

What helped is to use Part --> simple copy to make a copy of all objects. Means something inside the arch objects seams wrong.


Screenshot_20200823_205538.png
Screenshot_20200823_205538.png (444.29 KiB) Viewed 609 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10976
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFC export

Postby bernd » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:13 pm

attached a file only consisting of two objects. In IfcPlusPlus something is wrong.

structure_ifcexport_problem_01.FCStd
(12.75 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

structure_ifcexport_problem_01.ifc
(4.44 KiB) Downloaded 18 times

Screenshot_20200823_211156.png
Screenshot_20200823_211156.png (352.4 KiB) Viewed 605 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10976
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFC export

Postby bernd » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:19 pm

BTW: if the ifc is reimported in FreeCAD both are correct imported.
cadgiru
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:53 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: IFC export

Postby cadgiru » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:50 pm

Thx
BTW tried recompute on all beams... different, but not desired result
fc03.jpg
fc03.jpg (82.35 KiB) Viewed 586 times
BTW 2
Is there a way to define objects in general, in this case Structure/ifcBeam so that it will export to ifc4 with quantities From FreeCAD?
fc04.jpg
fc04.jpg (142.43 KiB) Viewed 578 times
Imported to BlenderBIM, looks correct, but no base QTY.
When ticking the boxes in BlenderBIM, we get 'guess' the above data
fc05.jpg
fc05.jpg (32.43 KiB) Viewed 578 times
Importing structure_ifcexport_problem_01.ifc in BimSync, no Base QTY show up

If applying Base Qty in BlenderBIM, then exporting, they will


Will try to document this somewhere :D
cadgiru
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:53 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: IFC export

Postby cadgiru » Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:46 am

What is the correct way to copy a structure object, preserving location ?
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10976
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFC export

Postby bernd » Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:54 pm

how did you do it? Can you reproduce the problem in a step by step follow up.

Somehow there some issue with it. But I can not find it. As soon as a simple copy or another structure is made the problem is gone.
cadgiru
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:53 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: IFC export

Postby cadgiru » Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:40 am

Will try to :D
Trying to replicate verbally:
  • Create Structure object as Beam
  • Move / rotate to correct location
  • No recompute after move (Maybe source of problem)
  • Copy using Move without having performed a recalculate on original
Will try to replicate in model later.
Last edited by cadgiru on Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10976
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFC export

Postby bernd » Thu Aug 27, 2020 11:25 am

for me it seams to be a viewerproblem ...

ifc exported from the file provided in the first post ...

only blender does not show the objects.

screens follow ...

DhFundament.ifc
(40.27 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10976
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: IFC export

Postby bernd » Thu Aug 27, 2020 11:26 am

blender.PNG
blender.PNG (589.78 KiB) Viewed 433 times
collab.PNG
collab.PNG (198.01 KiB) Viewed 433 times
fc.PNG
fc.PNG (209.6 KiB) Viewed 433 times
ifcosweb.PNG
ifcosweb.PNG (241.07 KiB) Viewed 433 times