ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

This forum section is only for IFC-related issues
daladethman
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:35 am

ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby daladethman » Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:03 am

Hello, I'm just starting out in FreeCAD, and I was working on the BIM Modelling demo from the tutorials page. I tried to export as an IFC file, but I got an error saying that ifcopenshell is not installed. Some searching of this forum helped me to understand that I need a compiled version of ifcopenshell to export an FC, but what's strange to me is that I am using the AppImage file downloaded directly from the website. Doesn't this already come with ifcopenshell included?

I am running on LMDE4 Debbie. I experienced this on both the stable (0.18) and development (0.19) releases. I can provide any other info that would be helpful.
User avatar
vanuan
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:49 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby vanuan » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:17 am

Each "external" file format support is installed separately.

Unfortunately, FreeCAD currently doesn't have any sort of dependency manager. So all additional python packages need to be installed manually. Binary bindings, like ifcopenshell are especially hard to install.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3654
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby looo » Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:36 am

vanuan wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:17 am Each "external" file format support is installed separately.

Unfortunately, FreeCAD currently doesn't have any sort of dependency manager. So all additional python packages need to be installed manually. Binary bindings, like ifcopenshell are especially hard to install.
:?:


we are currently struggling to update ifcopenshell, and as long as it's not updated we are not able to include it in the appimage.

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 99#p429582
https://github.com/conda-forge/ifcopens ... ck/pull/11
Cyril
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:04 pm
Location: Geneva (Switzerland)
Contact:

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby Cyril » Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:40 am

looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:36 am we are currently struggling to update ifcopenshell, and as long as it's not updated we are not able to include it in the appimage.
Is there a reason for not using ifcopenbot builds ? Because it is pretty fresh and up to date (7 days old) : https://github.com/IfcOpenBot/IfcOpenSh ... e9e5be68a3
I blog about HVAC / BIM / Energy : pythoncvc.net. If you like you can follow the RSS feed.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3654
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby looo » Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:23 am

Cyril wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:40 am
looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:36 am we are currently struggling to update ifcopenshell, and as long as it's not updated we are not able to include it in the appimage.
Is there a reason for not using ifcopenbot builds ? Because it is pretty fresh and up to date (7 days old) : https://github.com/IfcOpenBot/IfcOpenSh ... e9e5be68a3
the simplest way to guarantee compatibility is using same compilers/tools/ dependencies which are also used to compile all other libraries included in the appimage. For sure you can also try these builds but there is always the chance of any incompatibility if you are not using consistent compilers/tools/dependencies.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3654
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby looo » Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:35 am

Does freecad need ifcopenshell build with lxml2 enabled?
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 11667
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby bernd » Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:45 am

looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:35 am Does freecad need ifcopenshell build with lxml2 enabled?
No, lxml is a library to parse CityGML data sets AFAIK. I wonder what does ifcopenshell do with lxml?
Cyril
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:04 pm
Location: Geneva (Switzerland)
Contact:

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby Cyril » Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:31 am

looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:35 am Does freecad need ifcopenshell build with lxml2 enabled?
lxml is for ifcxml support. What it's your issue with it? Maybe I can help. I had too before while packaging on Arch based distro : https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/ifcopenshell-git
bernd wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:45 amNo, lxml is a library to parse CityGML data sets AFAIK. I wonder what does ifcopenshell do with lxml?
No, it just an xml parser. Nothing specific to CityGML.
I blog about HVAC / BIM / Energy : pythoncvc.net. If you like you can follow the RSS feed.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3654
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby looo » Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:12 pm

bernd wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:45 am
looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:35 am Does freecad need ifcopenshell build with lxml2 enabled?
No, lxml is a library to parse CityGML data sets AFAIK. I wonder what does ifcopenshell do with lxml?
thanks, I will merge the version without lxml support for now.
Cyril wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:31 am
looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:35 am Does freecad need ifcopenshell build with lxml2 enabled?
lxml is for ifcxml support. What it's your issue with it? Maybe I can help. I had too before while packaging on Arch based distro : https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/ifcopenshell-git
bernd wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:45 amNo, lxml is a library to parse CityGML data sets AFAIK. I wonder what does ifcopenshell do with lxml?
No, it just an xml parser. Nothing specific to CityGML.
Issue was at runtime with python bindings:
https://github.com/IfcOpenShell/IfcOpen ... -690927793
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3654
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby looo » Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:11 pm

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-AppI ... 55f02cd838

should be included in the next days.