ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

This forum section is only for IFC-related issues
paullee
Posts: 3521
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby paullee » Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:25 pm

I have been using 0.19_pre AppImage on Fedora for while and thought ifcopenshell is included. Seem ok to export ifc. My misunderstanding ?
Cyril
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:04 pm
Location: Geneva (Switzerland)
Contact:

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby Cyril » Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:14 pm

looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:12 pm Issue was at runtime with python bindings:
https://github.com/IfcOpenShell/IfcOpen ... -690927793
Probably the same issue I had. Can you point me your package build file please ? (I don't know where it is on conda platform)
Check your DLIBXML2_LIBRARIES line. As you can see in my PKGBUILD file at line 54 it targets a specific file not a folder which is surprising.
See also aothms answer to my issue on github : https://github.com/IfcOpenShell/IfcOpen ... -517995644
I blog about HVAC / BIM / Energy : pythoncvc.net. If you like you can follow the RSS feed.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3654
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby looo » Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:06 pm

Cyril wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:14 pm
looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:12 pm Issue was at runtime with python bindings:
https://github.com/IfcOpenShell/IfcOpen ... -690927793
Probably the same issue I had. Can you point me your package build file please ? (I don't know where it is on conda platform)
Check your DLIBXML2_LIBRARIES line. As you can see in my PKGBUILD file at line 54 it targets a specific file not a folder which is surprising.
See also aothms answer to my issue on github : https://github.com/IfcOpenShell/IfcOpen ... -517995644
I added your suggestion to the build-file:
https://github.com/looooo/ifcopenshell- ... uild.sh#L8

Let's see if it works.
Cyril
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:04 pm
Location: Geneva (Switzerland)
Contact:

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby Cyril » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:12 pm

looo wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:06 pm I added your suggestion to the build-file:
https://github.com/looooo/ifcopenshell- ... uild.sh#L8

Let's see if it works.
Care, as stated in issue answer file name(s) differ depending on the GNU/Linux distro you are building it on. That's why it is following on aothms CI :

Code: Select all

-DLIBXML2_LIBRARIES="/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libxml2.a;/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libz.so.1;/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/liblzma.so.5;/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libicuuc.so.55;/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libicudata.so.55"
On what distro do you run this build.sh script ?
I blog about HVAC / BIM / Energy : pythoncvc.net. If you like you can follow the RSS feed.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3654
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby looo » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:12 am

Cyril wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:12 pm Care, as stated in issue answer file name(s) differ depending on the GNU/Linux distro you are building it on. That's why it is following on aothms CI :
Linux and osx are working, so I think this should be ok. Windows is failing with:

Code: Select all

error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol xmlSAXUserParseFile
so I guess we have to do the same for windows.
Cyril wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:12 pm On what distro do you run this build.sh script ?
Basically the linux builds run on top of centos 6. But only the very basic libraries are used from the distro. Conda-forge itself is like a rolling distribution.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 12229
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby yorik » Tue Sep 22, 2020 9:55 am

Note that within the BIM workbench, I added an experimental system that will automatically find and download the latest ifcopenbot build for your platform. Simply install the BIM addon and run the setup tool, it should offer you that if ifcopenshell is not detected.
vocx
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby vocx » Tue Sep 22, 2020 4:51 pm

yorik wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2020 9:55 am Note that within the BIM workbench, I added an experimental system that will automatically find and download the latest ifcopenbot build ...
Ah! I saw this; honestly, I'm not a fan. Anything that is automatic parsing of websites like this is extremely fragile.

The same situation occurred recently with the Addon Manager. It doesn't work any more in v0.18 because GitHub changed, and the Addon Manager in that version no longer parses the website correctly. Very fragile.

Personally, I think providing complete documentation is more important, that's why I wrote IfcOpenShell. Users can always install the software by following the instructions.

If you are going to add a module that parses a website, my recommendation is to add this code in a separate file. Then if the website changes, and you need to update the code, you can submit a new, smaller file, instead of changing a big file that has a lot of unrelated code as well. So, I think creating many more modules, like we are doing in Draft, is the way to go also in Arch and BIM; it just keeps everything more modular.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 12229
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: ifcopenshell not found in AppImage

Postby yorik » Wed Oct 14, 2020 1:22 pm

Fully agree that parsing websites is bad practice. But I consider it more a temporary patch. Obviously we need something stronger for the addons manager, and obviously at some point IfcOpenShell should become properly packaged and easily available on all platforms and we won't need to care much about it ourselves.