Unreponsive Toolbar and Glitching Display - Version 0.20

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
Bebopity
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 7:12 pm

Unreponsive Toolbar and Glitching Display - Version 0.20

Post by Bebopity »

Hi everyone, I'm trying to run FreeCAD after installing and building it in a docker container. I am able to launch FreeCAD, but currently I am running into a problem when I try to create a new file and just navigate FreeCAD in general. It seems that the rest of the toolbar is unresponsive; so, essentially I cannot do anything on the app. Also, when I try to resize the window, it glitches out. You can see what I'm talking about in the image I attached to this post.

I've compiled and built FreeCAD out of source using an ubuntu 22.04 docker container on an Ubuntu 22.04 machine.

I'm not sure where to start looking for potential resolutions. Any assistance is appreciated, thanks.

Build files
This is my docker-compose.yml file

Code: Select all

version: "3"

services:
  app:
    image: freecad-ubuntu
    build: .
    environment:
      DISPLAY: ${DISPLAY}
      GITLAB_REPOS: ${GITLAB_REPOS}
    volumes:
      - /tmp/.X11-unix:/tmp/.X11-unix
      - $GITLAB_REPOS/eliotkh12/freecad/:/builds
    network_mode: host
volumes:
  .X11-unix:
  freecad:
This is my dockerfile

Code: Select all

FROM ubuntu:rolling

ENV DEBIAN_FRONTEND=noninteractive
ENV TZ=Etc/UTC
ENV UTC=true
ENV ARC=false

COPY ubuntu.sh /tmp
COPY xauth_list /tmp # file that contains host x socket info (user@hostname:1 MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 [32-character hexadecimal])

RUN apt-get update && \
    apt-get upgrade --yes && \
    sh /tmp/ubuntu.sh && \
    mkdir /builds && \
    touch ~/.Xauthority && \
    xauth add $(cat /tmp/xauth_list)


WORKDIR /builds

VOLUME [ "/builds" ]

CMD [ "bash" ]
Attachments
Screenshot from 2022-05-27 22-55-16.png
Screenshot from 2022-05-27 22-55-16.png (586.65 KiB) Viewed 1240 times
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Unreponsive Toolbar and Glitching Display - Version 0.20

Post by Kunda1 »

Do you get the same results running the nightly snap package?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Bebopity
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 7:12 pm

Re: Unreponsive Toolbar and Glitching Display - Version 0.20

Post by Bebopity »

Nope. Running FreeCAD 0.19 on snap works just fine.

Although, I am getting this error:

Code: Select all

Adding snap-specific PYTHONPATH to sys.path: /home/eliot/snap/freecad/common/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages:/snap/freecad/29/lib/python3.8/site-packages:/snap/freecad/29/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages
connect failed: No such file or directory
It doesn't seem to affect the app.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Unreponsive Toolbar and Glitching Display - Version 0.20

Post by Kunda1 »

connect failed: No such file or directory is not error and it's unrelated (it's related to 3dsconnexion spacemouse stuff).
The snap Path stuff is just a heads up (not an error). Try testing the Snap 'edge' to see if you have an issue. The 3dsconnexion warning doesn't exist in 'edge'

nightly = 'edge'

Code: Select all

snap install --edge freecad
Edit: See Snap

Edit2: correction
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Bebopity
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 7:12 pm

Re: Unreponsive Toolbar and Glitching Display - Version 0.20

Post by Bebopity »

No issue with Snap edge. I'm going to try installing and building FreeCAD 0.19 in another docker container and see if there are any issues.

Edit 1: Clarification: running freecad 'edge' gave this warning message but launched and functions without any problems:

Code: Select all

connect failed: No such file or directory
Bebopity
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 7:12 pm

Re: Unreponsive Toolbar and Glitching Display - Version 0.20

Post by Bebopity »

I tried disabling Wayland to fix this issue by following this post: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=68839

No luck... Specifically, I disabled wayland in my /etc/gdm3/custom.conf on my host machine, not in the docker container. Now that I think about it, the docker container probably never had Wayland as an option. Anyway...

The post made me consider that my nvidia driver was the issue. I was using

Code: Select all

Using NVIDIA driver metapackage from nvidia-driver-510 (proprietary, tested)
, but I tried to switching drivers to:

Code: Select all

Using NVIDIA Server Driver metapackage from nvidia-driver-470-server (proprietary)
After restarting my PC, I lost the ability to detect network interfaces and lost internet connection... No idea what happened. When reinstalling Ubuntu (lol) I chose the option to automatically install drivers and now I am using a manually installed driver.
Screenshot from 2022-06-07 20-45-50.png
Screenshot from 2022-06-07 20-45-50.png (62.27 KiB) Viewed 698 times
... which is strange because last time I chose that install option it chose

Code: Select all

Using NVIDIA driver metapackage from nvidia-driver-510 (proprietary, tested)
for me.

I assume my original driver was the root of my problem since freecad in my docker container is now functioning properly: no glitching display; app doesn't hang on 'new file'.
Post Reply