Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
tourista
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:17 am

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby tourista » Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:24 am

Hello, same problem here !

Windows 7 64bit
version : 0.16
number : 6704 (git)

Code: Select all

>>> import ssl
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
  File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.16\bin\lib\ssl.py", line 60, in <module>
    import _ssl             # if we can't import it, let the error propagate
ImportError: DLL load failed: Le module spécifié est introuvable.
Looks like some windows versions have embeded python compiled without SSL support as described in this thread : http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2837 ... type-https
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2932
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby easyw-fc » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:22 pm

tourista wrote:Hello, same problem here !
Looks like some windows versions have embeded python compiled without SSL support
sgrogan wrote: Same FreeCAD, same windows works.
I tried also FC017 32bit ... same problem
it seems to be a python SSL missing bundled with FC zip files
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby triplus » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:43 pm

All this tests should work without issues:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16163&start=10#p128850

As nobody reported back i assumed when testing no issues were found. But i guess in reality no testing was done. ;)

Anyway at least now we know where to look for solution. As for example network settings likely aren't the cause.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6255
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 02, 2016 4:13 pm

triplus wrote:As nobody reported back i assumed when testing no issues were found. But i guess in reality no testing was done. ;)
See about 5 posts up in this thread
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16163&start=20#p132140
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2932
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby easyw-fc » Tue Aug 02, 2016 4:48 pm

sgrogan wrote: I have no system installed python.
triplus wrote:All this tests should work without issues:
sgrogan wrote:See about 5 posts up in this thread
sorry... I missed that
here the result of my tests

FC017-64b

Code: Select all

Python 2.7.8 (default, Nov 17 2014, 20:37:05) [MSC v.1800 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type 'help', 'copyright', 'credits' or 'license' for more information.
>>> import httplib
>>> import socket
>>> import ssl
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
  File "C:\FreeCAD_0.17\bin\lib\ssl.py", line 60, in <module>
    import _ssl             # if we can't import it, let the error propagate
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.
>>> hasattr(httplib, 'HTTPS')
False
>>> hasattr(socket, 'ssl')
False
>>> 
FC016-64b

Code: Select all

Python 2.7.8 (default, Nov 17 2014, 20:37:05) [MSC v.1800 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type 'help', 'copyright', 'credits' or 'license' for more information.
>>> import httplib
>>> import socket
>>> import ssl
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
  File "C:\FreeCAD\bin\lib\ssl.py", line 60, in <module>
    import _ssl             # if we can't import it, let the error propagate
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.
>>> hasattr(httplib, 'HTTPS')
False
>>> hasattr(socket, 'ssl')
False
>>> 
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6255
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 02, 2016 4:51 pm

This is the weird part. I get the same errors on my non-working system but everything works on the working system, both systems are using the 0.16.6704 installer1 version.
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2932
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby easyw-fc » Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:07 pm

sgrogan wrote:This is the weird part. I get the same errors on my non-working system but everything works on the working system, both systems are using the 0.16.6704 installer1 version.
I found an old release of FC015 that is working on the same system

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4671 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-15
Hash: 244b3aef360841646cbfe80a1b225c8b39c8380c
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
may be that release nbr could help
Last edited by easyw-fc on Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6255
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:23 pm

easyw-fc wrote:under FreeCAD folder on your working system?
_ssl.pyd in PathtoFreeCAD/bin/DLLs on both 0.15 and 0.16 exact same file (same SHA)
On this system 0.15 works 0.16 doesn't

Screenshot from the 0.15 working version, note the python console
0.15_Addons.PNG
0.15_Addons.PNG (44.12 KiB) Viewed 1304 times
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6255
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 02, 2016 6:59 pm

Got it!
libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll are missing
How they are being found on my working system is TBD. copying these 2 files from 0.15 bin directory fixes the problem.
"fight the good fight"
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Install FreeCAD-addons-master

Postby triplus » Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:23 pm

sgrogan wrote:Got it!
libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll are missing
How they are being found on my working system is TBD. copying these 2 files from 0.15 bin directory fixes the problem.
Great. Therefore there was SSL importing issue involved and that should be fixed now. I still suspect this could be separate issue:

Code: Select all

urllib2.URLError: <urlopen error unknown url type: https>
That is replacing : with %3A might be needed in the future. But i guess lets wait to hear if any new reports will be made first.