Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
cnirbhay
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 4:24 pm

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby cnirbhay » Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:09 pm

Installing the animation wb seems to fix it.
Thank you so much, @sgrogan. Installing animation workbench made it run. :-)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7988
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby Kunda1 » Sat May 13, 2017 11:46 am

FYI I've opened a ticket on FreeCAD-addons to create a pre-requisite checker that would simplify this process of checking what pre-reqs each addon would need but it is no small task.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7988
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:48 pm

Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7988
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:51 pm

rotgut wrote:ping
Have you had any success fiddling with gdal in FC?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
rachdatu
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby rachdatu » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:29 pm

Hello

Firstly, thanks to the developper of this workbench, it is fantastic.

I am trying to install GDAL, that's why I am continuing this thread.
I have installed the GeoData Workbench from Github. To install GDAL, I was "inspired" by this document located at http://geotribu.net/node/636.
It's in French but there are lots of screenshots. Basically I downloaded and installed "gdal-202-1800-x64-core.msi" and "GDAL-2.2.2.win-amd64-py2.7.msi" from http://www.gisinternals.com/stable.php.

The Workbench works I would say at 98% but I would like to import an ASTER file and here is my problem.
I have tested the following modules in the FreeCAD Python console and they all work well.

Code: Select all

from osgeo import gdal
from osgeo import ogr
from osgeo import osr
from osgeo import gdalconst
However, this one returns an error:

Code: Select all

from osgeo import gdal_array
RuntimeError: module compiled against API version 0xb but this version of numpy is 0x9
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\bin\lib\site-packages\osgeo\gdal_array.py", line 26, in <module>
    _gdal_array = swig_import_helper()
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\bin\lib\site-packages\osgeo\gdal_array.py", line 22, in swig_import_helper
    _mod = imp.load_module('_gdal_array', fp, pathname, description)
ImportError: numpy.core.multiarray failed to import
When I open my aster file, I get a similar error message:

Code: Select all

RuntimeError: module compiled against API version 0xb but this version of numpy is 0x9
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\Mod\geodata\geodat\import_aster.py", line 182, in runbl
    import_heights(float(b),float(l),float(s))
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\Mod\geodata\geodat\import_aster.py", line 218, in import_heights
    pcl=import_ast(b,l)
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\Mod\geodata\geodat\import_aster.py", line 85, in import_ast
    data = band.ReadAsArray(0, 0, cols, rows)
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\bin\lib\site-packages\osgeo\gdal.py", line 2344, in ReadAsArray
    import gdalnumeric
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\bin\lib\site-packages\osgeo\gdalnumeric.py", line 1, in <module>
    from osgeo.gdal_array import *
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\bin\lib\site-packages\osgeo\gdal_array.py", line 26, in <module>
    _gdal_array = swig_import_helper()
  File "D:\prive\applications\FreeCAD 0.17_11827\bin\lib\site-packages\osgeo\gdal_array.py", line 22, in swig_import_helper
    _mod = imp.load_module('_gdal_array', fp, pathname, description)
ImportError: numpy.core.multiarray failed to import

Can someone help?
Thanks


OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.11827 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: ca4488f4387f761df47322038585b23cb5a1bd73
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: French/Switzerland (fr_CH)
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4690
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby microelly2 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:35 am

There are some problems with the common version of numpy,
for windows there is a way, see the links from this
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 50#p196630
rachdatu
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby rachdatu » Fri Oct 27, 2017 1:02 pm

Thanks for your quick answer.

I read this thread (https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20674) and I think I will be stuck with FreeCAD 0.17.
I have the 0.16 64 bits and with that one, it will not work either.

Solution is to move to 0.16 32 bits or to another OS...

Walter
Jee-Bee
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby Jee-Bee » Fri Oct 27, 2017 4:30 pm

Don't know if it is possible... what i was thinking add a terminal inside FreeCAD/ make terminal work within the FreeCAD location... than it is easy to do a pip install
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4690
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby microelly2 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:20 pm

I'm at home for the next days, so I will spend the time to make a tutorial to install some powerful moduls (scipy,cv2,networkx,gdal, ...) around freecad to get the jobs running.
Jee-Bee
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing GDAL for the Geodata Workbench

Postby Jee-Bee » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:52 pm

For windows, Ubuntu etc/ osx or more than one?