ana(conda) windows packaging

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
zbigg
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:11 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby zbigg » Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:13 pm

Yes, you cant confirm because you got all on C drive, I ll check it out.
cheers,
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5547
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby sgrogan » Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:41 pm

UR_ wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:52 pm
- cmake's location isn't included to system path (checkbox wasn't checked while installing :( )
You can add this manually. I don't think you can get the version info in "About FreeCAD" when compiling otherwise.
UR_ wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:52 pm
Yes, icons are lost. Didn't noticed this at first look.
I suspect this is a QTWebkit issue, but I have not investigated yet.
UR_ wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:52 pm
- py3 stuff
This is my main motivation, to make these builds work.
In this case it looks like part-o-magic is using old Py2 print statements instead of new PY2/PY3 compatible print statements. You can search this in the forum or on google to find the solution, or open an issue on DeepSOIC's repo https://github.com/DeepSOIC/Part-o-magic
As an aside, DeepSOIC's infrastructure around his add-ons is awesome.
UR_ wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:52 pm
All in all good work! Thank you!
Thank you for testing! I must mention again that this would not be possible without @looo's Conda work.
If you have the time and can occasionally test the portable builds that would be a great help. My goal is to use them as the basis of the 0.18 release. If you are regularly compiling yourself you will be a great resource to trouble shoot packaging errors.
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1980
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby Jee-Bee » Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:52 pm

sgrogan wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:41 pm
Thank you for testing! I must mention again that this would not be possible without @looo's Conda work.
If you have the time and can occasionally test the portable builds that would be a great help. My goal is to use them as the basis of the 0.18 release. If you are regularly compiling yourself you will be a great resource to trouble shoot packaging errors.
Does this mean that the conda version of the release page is self working? or is (ana)conda needed?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5547
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby sgrogan » Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:54 pm

zbigg wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:13 pm
Yes, you cant confirm because you got all on C drive, I ll check it out.
Perhaps this line in the .bat file is the problem

Code: Select all

set ENV_PREFIX=%userprofile%\Miniconda3\envs\freecad_py3
You could replace %userprofile% with the correct hardcoded path,or better yet find the env variable that points to the Minconda installation?
zbigg wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:30 am
Would be really great if we could structure and simplify dep and prebuilt process/settings.
Yes! This is my point above to extend BUILD_WITH_CONDA. I/We need to understand the requirements/limitations first. One example would be; "What if Conda is installed in a non-default location"

BTW: Are you using VS2015 or VS2017? If the latter what toolset? We can handle this with cmake as well once we work out the kinks.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5547
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby sgrogan » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:05 pm

UR_ wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:52 pm
But just some drawbacks:
- lots of warnings (472!!) while compiling
Many ae due to this;

Code: Select all

Severity	Code	Description	Project	File	Line	Suppression State
Warning	C4005	'HAVE_INT8_T': macro redefinition	FreeCADGui	C:\Users\Chris\Miniconda3\envs\freecad_py3\Library\include\Inventor\system\inttypes.h	90	
Warning	C4005	'HAVE_UINT8_T': macro redefinition	FreeCADGui	C:\Users\Chris\Miniconda3\envs\freecad_py3\Library\include\Inventor\system\inttypes.h	91	
Warning	C4005	'HAVE_INT16_T': macro redefinition	FreeCADGui	C:\Users\Chris\Miniconda3\envs\freecad_py3\Library\include\Inventor\system\inttypes.h	92	
Warning	C4005	'HAVE_UINT16_T': macro redefinition	FreeCADGui	C:\Users\Chris\Miniconda3\envs\freecad_py3\Library\include\Inventor\system\inttypes.h	93	
Warning	C4005	'HAVE_INT32_T': macro redefinition	FreeCADGui	C:\Users\Chris\Miniconda3\envs\freecad_py3\Library\include\Inventor\system\inttypes.h	94	
Warning	C4005	'HAVE_UINT32_T': macro redefinition	FreeCADGui	C:\Users\Chris\Miniconda3\envs\freecad_py3\Library\include\Inventor\system\inttypes.h	95	
UR_
Posts: 1108
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby UR_ » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:28 pm

Jee-Bee wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:52 pm
or is (ana)conda needed?
I've unpacked this: FreeCAD_0.18.14315_Conda_Py3Qt5-WinVS2015_x64.7z
to
"C:\Program Files\FreeCAD-PY36-QT5\"

and it works as expected.

On the other hand, self builded version needs conda environment, ATM.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2728
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby easyw-fc » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:44 pm

would it be possible to have OCC7.3 in conda windows build?
(FreeCAD_0.18.14315_Conda_Py3Qt5-WinVS2015_x64.7z has OCC7.2)
User avatar
zbigg
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:11 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby zbigg » Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:58 am

1st: Yes, I hardcoded proper path /D drive in my case/ in cmake_conda BUT after succsesfull building I still get FC looking for the modules in path as I hardcoded previously BUT ON 'C' DRIVE INSTEAD/rest of the path is ok/. Think I read somewhere conda does not like to be splitted between different locations but why it replaces drive letter?...,Nevertheless I changed Miniconda installation back to 'C' drive-problem with not found modules disappeared /My 'C' is SSD and I don want to pack it up quickly, its only 240 Gigs/.

2nd: I have MSVC 2017 /15.8.0, SDK10.0.17134.0 and 8.1/,2015 tools also, x64 Win10, I make also builds on Linux Mint x64 v.19 but-since its much easier there-I stay with Win for now-harder way, more challenge. :)
And I changed generator description for cmake to: MSVC 15 - 2017.

3rd: I would like to experiment with eg newer boost/eg cmake does not want to take hardcoded BOOST_ROOT for 1.67 but its maybe still neverlasting problem with cmake&boost/, Qt 5.11.1 etc but cant get through with present preprocessing deps setup..

4th: Is 'qt.conf' the only place for calling QT in freecad_py3 env? I mean: if I redefine there is it enough to try with other than 5.6 version of QT libs?
cheers,
UR_
Posts: 1108
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby UR_ » Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:16 pm

easyw-fc wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:44 pm
would it be possible to have OCC7.3 in conda windows build?
Just did a test:

Code: Select all

conda activate freecad_py3
conda upgrade occt
after compiling getting this:
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14340 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5ee9e119312898cabb1d2b1d942718fca4a6e1a9
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)


There are 5 linker errors, but self tests are running fine. Only some FEM tests failed.
But hadn't a closer look ;) , so be aware
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3031
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby looo » Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:35 pm

would it be possible to have OCC7.3 in conda windows build?
Conda-forge freecad uses occt 7.3 for quite some time... There is simple a problem that the dependency solver prefers occt7.2 on windows...
please help with my conda-packaging efforts: https://liberapay.com/looooo/
minimalistic blog: https://looooo.github.io/mini-blog/
cron