ana(conda) windows packaging

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3299
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby looo » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:50 am

calculix for windows seems to be a bit more difficult. There are still missing the dependencies arpack and spooles. Spooles needs to be packaged for all systems, arpack is already for linux and osx but has problems for windows: https://ci.appveyor.com/project/conda-f ... uild/1.0.4 seems to be some fortran-flang problems...

For the new builds from freecad-channel:
They now have the label dev and have to be installed with:

Code: Select all

conda install freecad -c freecad/label/dev
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2840
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby easyw-fc » Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:12 am

User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5808
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby sgrogan » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:48 pm

looo wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:50 am
They now have the label dev and have to be installed with:

Code: Select all

conda install freecad -c freecad/label/dev
I still need to force occt7.3 on win

Code: Select all

conda create --name freecad-dev2 python=3.6 occt=7.3 freecad -c freecad/label/dev
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.Unknown
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

But I thought this totally failed on win??
Do you have a link to the timed out AppVeyor build log, I wonder how close it got?
I also wonder, can you use the source tarball from the PPA? We already inject the version info?
Don't waste time trying this stuff, I'm just thinking out loud.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3299
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby looo » Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:11 pm

sgrogan wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:48 pm
looo wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:50 am
They now have the label dev and have to be installed with:

Code: Select all

conda install freecad -c freecad/label/dev
I still need to force occt7.3 on win

Code: Select all

conda create --name freecad-dev2 python=3.6 occt=7.3 freecad -c freecad/label/dev
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.Unknown
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

But I thought this totally failed on win??
Do you have a link to the timed out AppVeyor build log, I wonder how close it got?
I also wonder, can you use the source tarball from the PPA? We already inject the version info?
Don't waste time trying this stuff, I'm just thinking out loud.
Sry, there is no windows package on the freecad-channel. Maybe the pulled build is from conda-forge... you can see with "conda list freecad".

Code: Select all

[2589/3065] Generating moc_TaskDressUpParameters.cpp
https://ci.appveyor.com/project/looooo/ ... tock-kujjo

I think using the source-tarball should wor, but I am not sure.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5808
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby sgrogan » Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:33 pm

looo wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:11 pm
Sry, there is no windows package on the freecad-channel. Maybe the pulled build is from conda-forge... you can see with "conda list freecad".
Thanks that explains it.

Code: Select all

(freecad-dev2) C:\Users\Chris>conda list freecad
# packages in environment at C:\Users\Chris\Miniconda3\envs\freecad-dev2:
#
# Name                    Version                   Build  Channel
freecad                   0.18b0           py36ha567227_4    conda-forge
looo wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:11 pm
https://ci.appveyor.com/project/looooo/ ... tock-kujjo
Thanks this is very enlightening. Right now it take FreeCAD master just about 1 hr on AppVeyor. ie https://ci.appveyor.com/project/yorikva ... d/1.0.5667 From the log it looks like it takes abut 13m to setup the conda environment, that's enough to make a difference.

We need to learn ccache on AppVeyor. @saso can you weigh in?
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3299
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby looo » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:01 am

easyw-fc wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:12 am
You may have a look at:
https://github.com/easyw/ccx_prool
https://github.com/ddfem/ccx_mingw64
I don't have any experience with mingw and conda-build, allthough I read about others using this toolchain. I guess the simple way is to wait for flang to get more major and use this toolchain (vs/flang) once this is working.

OT (related to unix):
I made a PR for spooles: https://github.com/conda-forge/staged-recipes/pull/6661
But locally I still get some undefined references using external spooles and arpack:

Code: Select all

ccx_2.14_MT.a(spooles.o): In function `factor':
spooles.c:(.text+0x3f): undefined reference to `DVfill'
spooles.c:(.text+0x50): undefined reference to `Graph_new'
spooles.c:(.text+0x5b): undefined reference to `InpMtx_fullAdjacency'
spooles.c:(.text+0x68): undefined reference to `IVL_tsize'
...
sgrogan wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:33 pm
Thanks this is very enlightening. Right now it take FreeCAD master just about 1 hr on AppVeyor. ie https://ci.appveyor.com/project/yorikva ... d/1.0.5667 From the log it looks like it takes abut 13m to setup the conda environment, that's enough to make a difference.

We need to learn ccache on AppVeyor. @saso can you weigh in?
this would definetly help, but also increase the complexity... I will ask for some additional minutes for this appveyor-project.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3299
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby looo » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:32 pm

I asked for a little bit more build time and got 90 mins. Currently I am rebuilding... We will see tomorrow if it worked.
Love and peace to everyone, good night.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5808
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby sgrogan » Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:17 pm

looo wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:32 pm
I asked for a little bit more build time and got 90 mins. Currently I am rebuilding... We will see tomorrow if it worked.
Love and peace to everyone, good night.
Peace, Love, Happiness
Sorry, couldn't strip the ad.

@looo, do you know any references for msys2 w/conda? I ask because it looks like it is needed for QTWebKit 5.6 (there is a conda package but only for OSX), which I think would fix the Start WB.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3299
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby looo » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:11 am

still failing (git clone needs more time than downloading an archive...) So I asked again for more time, but I think we could also use the tarball from daily-builds, allthough I am not sure if the patches can be applied to this source...)
sgrogan wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:17 pm
@looo, do you know any references for msys2 w/conda? I ask because it looks like it is needed for QTWebKit 5.6 (there is a conda package but only for OSX), which I think would fix the Start WB.
No, sry. This was only gitter conversation.
So qtwebkit needs msys2 to be installed? I don't understand this relationship. As far as I know qtwebkit is included in the qt-package for win and linux. Only osx has a sepperated qtwebkit. I don't see any hints for msys2 here.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15733
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: ana(conda) windows packaging

Postby wmayer » Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:31 pm

No, sry. This was only gitter conversation.
So qtwebkit needs msys2 to be installed? I don't understand this relationship. As far as I know qtwebkit is included in the qt-package for win and linux. Only osx has a sepperated qtwebkit. I don't see any hints for msys2 here.
We should try to use QtWebEngine as an alternative since QtWebkit is not part of the official Qt source tarball but in a separate git repo. In a branch on github I worked on the port but it doesn't work stable ATM. Unfortunately, I could not use a debug Qt version as I never succeeded in creating the debug dll of QtWebEngine -- it also stopped at linking time.

If we could use QtWebEngine alternatively this would also simplify life for macOS on travis.