xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1165
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby Chris_G » Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:00 pm

nemesis wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:49 pm
How did you enable Wayland with KDE?
I don't find clear informations on wayland / X11 ... I'm on Debian 9.4
On Ubuntu, I had to install plasma-workspace-wayland, and then I get a dropdown menu at the bottom of the login screen to choose the type of session.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby NormandC » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:19 am

Out of curiosity, do you all have AMD (ATI) graphics? Is it recent hardware?
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1165
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby Chris_G » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:05 am

I use an AMD RX580, with the open-source AMDGPU driver.
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby nemesis » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:47 pm

NormandC wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:19 am
Out of curiosity, do you all have AMD (ATI) graphics? Is it recent hardware?
lspci :

Code: Select all

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Broadway PRO [Mobility Radeon HD 5850]
that's a 2010 Imac 27"
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby nemesis » Mon Aug 06, 2018 12:52 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:00 pm
On Ubuntu, I had to install plasma-workspace-wayland, and then I get a dropdown menu at the bottom of the login screen to choose the type of session.
Damned, Wayland is just a mess on my Debian, it's logging out without visible explanation...
I'm will stay with the "LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true" tip for the moment.

anyway thanks for the hint!
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1165
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby Chris_G » Mon Aug 06, 2018 1:05 pm

nemesis wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 12:52 pm
Damned, Wayland is just a mess on my Debian, it's logging out without visible explanation...
I'm will stay with the "LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true" tip for the moment.

anyway thanks for the hint!
It's a bit buggy on Kubuntu also, so I use the "LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true" too ...
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5947
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:36 am

issue #3717
Are there any updates for this bug or is there just a workaround ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
dmalham
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby dmalham » Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:40 pm

I came across this problem when installing Freecad on a new Ubuntu system, having always run it in a Mac Powerbook before with no problems. I knocked up a script file to implement the work around given in this thread. That worked but Freecad grumbled a bit about a missing Webgui module - it still worked, but...

Anyway, I searched for a solution to that and came across

https://techoverflow.net/2018/06/03/how ... ntu-18-04/

The interesting thing is that this fixes both the missing Webgui AND the original "failed to create drawable' problems so it seems that Freecad for Ubuntu should be installed not from the Ubuntu repositories but from the freecad-stable PPA:

Dave
vocx
Posts: 1915
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Postby vocx » Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:45 am

dmalham wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:40 pm
... so it seems that Freecad for Ubuntu should be installed not from the Ubuntu repositories but from the freecad-stable PPA:
Yes, in general, the FreeCAD in the Ubuntu Universe repository is not up to date. We prefer the stable or daily versions that you can find in the PPA. See Install on Unix.