Compiling on Windows

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
pperisin

Compiling on Windows

Post by pperisin »

Still, I wish we could get new unstable. The last one is 2 weeks old.

I wish I knew how to use wix and make msi win installers. I could make one every few days.

I was compiling FreeCAD on win, using VS2008, but I could not figure out how to use wix. It just seems very complicated to me.

If you guys are willing to explain to me how to use wix to make win msi installer, I would make new one every few days. However, I'm not experienced user, so tutorial for dummies would be needed in this case (including where to download wix, and which version).

Regards,
Petar
wmayer
Founder

Re: Import for Sketcher available?

Post by wmayer »

I'm not sure if it's possible to build installers with WiX and the Express edition of VS. You probably need the pro version therefore. Anyway I think making a .7z archive is much easier and also for the users it's less annoying because you can just unpack the archive where you want it. For the installable FreeCAD you always have to uninstall it first which is IMO very annoying because WiX doesn't do this automatically for you.

But anyway under src/WindowsInstaller you'll find a batch file BuildInstaller.bat. Just open a terminal window and cd to the directory and invoke the batch. To collect all needed files copy the DLLs from the LibPack to the bin directory of the FreeCAD build. If you have an out-of-source-build then you have to create the directory relative to the build directory "../src/WindowsInstaller" and copy the files from src/WindowsInstaller.
pperisin

Post by pperisin »

Do I need to install wix, and which version, and where to download it?

I usually know how to download stuff from net, but I did try to download Wix before and I remember that FreeCAD supported version of Wix that I could not find download for.

Regards,