Solved -- Report View does not display - Fixed

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
micksulley
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 9:28 am

Solved -- Report View does not display - Fixed

Postby micksulley » Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:36 pm

OS: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14448 (Git) AppImage
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 561be08211c21bcae5b8e3c6f2dbc7b09306da21
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
Both Report View and also Path > Inspect G-Code display coloured blocks instead of text. In both cases if I copy paste into a text editor it displays correctly. Screenshot attached
I have run with the -l option to generate a log file, attached, but I can't see anything in there to give me a clue.
Any ideas?
Mick
Attachments
Screenshot from 2018-08-28 20-30-38.png
Screenshot from 2018-08-28 20-30-38.png (210.98 KiB) Viewed 360 times
FreeCAD.log
(14.76 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Last edited by micksulley on Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:34 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5421
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Report View does not display

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 28, 2018 8:25 pm

micksulley wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:36 pm
Any ideas?
Both Report View and Inspect G-code works for me with:

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13528 (Git) AppImage
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 5c3f7bf8ec51e2c7187789f7edba71a7aa82a88b
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
and

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.5235 (Git shallow) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 3e6cc7bbcd03ef2a9d57d504b0971c098e64171a
Python version: 3.6.5
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
and

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14482 (Git) AppImage
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 6f06345634e25839b535a4534face9d9c1196201
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Our freecad-daily PPA supports Linux Mint, have you tried that? I don't think it would make a difference.
I would try to rename your .cfg files in .FreeCAD folder.
Beyond that maybe a graphics driver issue?

EDIT: see here https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 54#p227269 your Mint version is based on Ubuntu 18.04
micksulley
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Report View does not display

Postby micksulley » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:53 pm

Renamed both .cfg files, restarted FC and taraaaa! it all works fine now.
Many thanks
Mick
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5421
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Report View does not display - Fixed

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:02 pm

micksulley wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:53 pm
Renamed both .cfg files, restarted FC and taraaaa! it all works fine now.
Many thanks
Mick
Great! Any reason you don't use the PPA? You will get automatic, delta updates, maybe save some bandwidth.
micksulley
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Report View does not display

Postby micksulley » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:26 pm

Celebrating too soon, its not fixed.

If I delete user.cfg and restart FC it is fine, but if I go to Edit > Preferences, even just clicking Apply without changing anything causes the problem again. Just ran it again to generate a log file which is attached, but I cannot see anything relevant.

Any ideas?

re PPA, I have it installed but that only gets me version 17, not 18, unless there is some other way to do it?
Attachments
FreeCAD.log
(14.76 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5421
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Report View does not display

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:30 pm

micksulley wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:26 pm
re PPA, I have it installed but that only gets me version 17, not 18, unless there is some other way to do it?
0.18 is freecad-daily, 0.17 is freecad. They can exist side by side.
micksulley wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:26 pm
Any ideas?
I'll look. Do you experience problems w/ the 0.17 PPA? I mix appimages and freecad-daily and freecad PPA all the time without problems, but?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5421
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Report View does not display

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:34 pm

micksulley wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:26 pm
Any ideas?
Not sure if this is normal

Code: Select all

Msg: Path workbench activated
Log: Hide main window
Log: Finish: Event loop left
Log: Destruct Gui::Application
Log: Couldn't disconnect from spacenav daemon
Log: FreeCAD terminating...
micksulley
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Report View does not display

Postby micksulley » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:35 pm

Yes exactly the same in 17, as I hit Apply the characters change to blocks
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5421
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Report View does not display

Postby sgrogan » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:41 pm

micksulley wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:35 pm
Yes exactly the same in 17, as I hit Apply the characters change to blocks
Maybe this is also still in play? EDIT: see here https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 54#p227269
triplus wrote: ping
Last edited by sgrogan on Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
micksulley
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 9:28 am

Re: Report View does not display

Postby micksulley » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:52 pm

Sorry your link doesn't work, can you post the full address