PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by Renato Rebelo »

sgrogan wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:00 pm What does

Code: Select all

import sys
for p in sys.path: 
    print p
in the python console yield?
How do I do that?
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
User avatar
iogui
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:44 pm
Location: São Paulo
Contact:

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by iogui »

Renato Rebelo wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:32 pm
sgrogan wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:00 pm What does

Code: Select all

import sys
for p in sys.path: 
    print p
in the python console yield?
How do I do that?
Go to menu "View > Panels" and tick on the option "Python Console", then just copy and paste those lines there and press enter two times.
Be the change you want to see in the world. - Mahatma Gandhi
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by Renato Rebelo »

iogui wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:45 pm
Renato Rebelo wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:32 pm
sgrogan wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:00 pm What does

Code: Select all

import sys
for p in sys.path: 
    print p
in the python console yield?
How do I do that?
Go to menu "View > Panels" and tick on the option "Python Console", then just copy and paste those lines there and press enter two times.
You guys refer to Freecad, I can not access any of that ...
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by Renato Rebelo »

in Freecad daily the result is this:

Code: Select all

>>> import sys
>>> for p in sys.path: 
...     print p
... 
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Drawing
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Inspection
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Idf
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/ifcopenshell
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/AddonManager
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Robot
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Arch
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Part
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Path
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Mesh
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Raytracing
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Material
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Web
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Complete
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Tux
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/TechDraw
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Import
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Test
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Draft
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Points
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Start
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Spreadsheet
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Fem
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/OpenSCAD
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/MeshPart
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Plot
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Ship
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Measure
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/PartDesign
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Surface
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Image
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Show
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/ReverseEngineering
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod/Sketcher
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Mod
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/lib64
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/lib
/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Ext

/home/renato
/usr/lib/python2.7
/usr/lib/python2.7/plat-x86_64-linux-gnu
/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-tk
/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-old
/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload
/home/renato/.local/lib/python2.7/site-packages
/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages
/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages
/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gtk-2.0
/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/wx-3.0-gtk3

/usr/lib/freecad-daily/Macro
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by Renato Rebelo »

Ok I got it.
the problem is that I do not know why, there was some content from an old instantiation in the /usr/lib/freecad/Mod/
when I cleaned the contents of the folder and reinstalled Freecad, it already worked.
I thought I had cleaned all Freecad folders, but after all I had not ... :oops:
Thank you all for your help

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.1.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Portuguese/Portugal (pt_PT)
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
jmaustpc
Veteran
Posts: 11207
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by jmaustpc »

Renato Rebelo wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:01 pm Ok I got it.
Yippee! great news. :)
jmaustpc
Veteran
Posts: 11207
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by jmaustpc »

Renato Rebelo wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:01 pm Ok I got it.
the problem is that I do not know why, there was some content from an old instantiation in the /usr/lib/freecad/Mod/
when I cleaned the contents of the folder and reinstalled Freecad, it already worked.
I thought I had cleaned all Freecad folders, but after all I had not ... :oops:
Thank you all for your help

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.1.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Portuguese/Portugal (pt_PT)

Did you ever use the FreeCAD Community extras PPA to install some add-ons on that system?
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by Renato Rebelo »

jmaustpc wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:28 am
Renato Rebelo wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:01 pm Ok I got it.
the problem is that I do not know why, there was some content from an old instantiation in the /usr/lib/freecad/Mod/
when I cleaned the contents of the folder and reinstalled Freecad, it already worked.
I thought I had cleaned all Freecad folders, but after all I had not ... :oops:
Thank you all for your help

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.1.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Portuguese/Portugal (pt_PT)

Did you ever use the FreeCAD Community extras PPA to install some add-ons on that system?
Yes, but a long time ago.
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18589
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by NormandC »

Renato Rebelo wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:01 pm I do not know why, there was some content from an old instantiation in the /usr/lib/freecad/Mod/
jmaustpc wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:28 am Did you ever use the FreeCAD Community extras PPA to install some add-ons on that system?
Renato Rebelo wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:40 pm Yes, but a long time ago.
Jim asked because the old freecad-extras-* packages did install in /usr/lib/freecad/Mod/.

If you upgraded from Ubuntu 16.04 or older to a newer version instead of making a clean new Ubuntu install, then they most probably were still installed after the migration.
User avatar
iogui
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:44 pm
Location: São Paulo
Contact:

Re: PPA problem updating to Release of 0.18

Post by iogui »

NormandC wrote: Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:47 am
Renato Rebelo wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2019 9:01 pm I do not know why, there was some content from an old instantiation in the /usr/lib/freecad/Mod/
jmaustpc wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:28 am Did you ever use the FreeCAD Community extras PPA to install some add-ons on that system?
Renato Rebelo wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:40 pm Yes, but a long time ago.
Jim asked because the old freecad-extras-* packages did install in /usr/lib/freecad/Mod/.

If you upgraded from Ubuntu 16.04 or older to a newer version instead of making a clean new Ubuntu install, then they most probably were still installed after the migration.
That's why I've learnt to never trust in a distribution upgrade. Since then, I've always been installing from a formatted drive and that's also why I'm still on Ubuntu 16.04 'cause is harsh to do all the things I need to do to bring back all my installations an configurations from a clean install.
At least for those who do use linux heavily, our systems are all full of things that has been configured by hand over the years, software installed in a particular way with it's configurations all customized. A distro upgrade always leave a mess behind it and sometimes it take us months or years to discover why something is not working how it should be because things get hidden and I can't remember every customization I've done. In fact, I even don't remember what I ate yesterday!... Maybe those who have a better memory than I do, deal better with this kind of thing though...
Be the change you want to see in the world. - Mahatma Gandhi
Post Reply