[Solved] [patch] for: FreeCADGui compilation error because of DlgSettings3DView.ui

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4961
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

[Solved] [patch] for: FreeCADGui compilation error because of DlgSettings3DView.ui

Post by uwestoehr »

I get now:

Code: Select all

2>------ Build started: Project: FreeCADGui, Configuration: Release x64 ------
2>Generating ui_DlgSettings3DView.h
2>uic: Error in line 142, column 3 : Unexpected element b
2>File 'D:/FreeCADGit/src/Gui/DlgSettings3DView.ui' is not valid
Here's a patch:
DlgSettings3DView.txt
patch
(1.64 KiB) Downloaded 27 times

Code: Select all

diff --git "a/src/Gui/DlgSettings3DView.ui" "b/src/Gui/DlgSettings3DView.ui"
index 40b01a38b..b899b8790 100644
--- "a/src/Gui/DlgSettings3DView.ui"
+++ "b/src/Gui/DlgSettings3DView.ui"
@@ -139,7 +139,7 @@ VBOs offer substantial performance gains because the data resides
 in the graphics memory rather than the system memory and so it
 can be rendered directly by GPU. 
 
-<b>Note</b>: Sometimes this feature may lead to a host of different issues ranging
+&lt;b&gt;Note:&lt;b/&gt; Sometimes this feature may lead to a host of different issues ranging
 from graphical anomalies to GPU crash bugs. Remember to report this setting
 is enabled when seeking support on the FreeCAD forums.</string>
         </property>
@@ -165,15 +165,15 @@ is enabled when seeking support on the FreeCAD forums.</string>
         </item>
         <item>
          <widget class="QComboBox" name="renderCache">
-           <property name="toolTip">
-            <string>'Render Caching' is another way to say 'Rendering Acceleration'.
+          <property name="toolTip">
+           <string>'Render Caching' is another way to say 'Rendering Acceleration'.
 There are 3 options available to achieve this: 
 1) 'Auto' (default), let Coin3D decide where to cache.
 2) 'Distributed', manually turn on cache for all view provider root node.
 3) 'Centralized', manually turn off cache in all nodes of all view provider, and
 only cache at the scene graph root node. This offers the fastest rendering speed
 but slower response to any scene changes.</string>
-           </property>
+          </property>
           <property name="currentIndex">
            <number>0</number>
           </property>
vocx
Veteran
Posts: 5197
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: [patch] for: FreeCADGui compilation error because of DlgSettings3DView.ui

Post by vocx »

uwestoehr wrote: Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:28 pm I get now:

Code: Select all

+&lt;b&gt;Note:&lt;b/&gt; Sometimes this feature may lead to a host of different issues ranging
This will explicitly show the less than and greater than symbols as brackets, <b>Note</b>

However, I think the intention is to produce a bold text. I'm not sure if this is possible at all. In a tooltip, bold is not really important, so I just remove the tags.
vocx wrote: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:02 pm
bernd wrote: Sat Oct 05, 2019 5:58 pm

Code: Select all

[ 11%] Generating ui_DlgSettings3DView.h
uic: Error in line 142, column 3 : Unexpected element b
Pull request #2584: Gui: fix DlgSettings3DView.ui, remove bold tags <b> because it causes an error in compilation
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [patch] for: FreeCADGui compilation error because of DlgSettings3DView.ui

Post by bernd »

User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4961
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [patch] for: FreeCADGui compilation error because of DlgSettings3DView.ui

Post by uwestoehr »

vocx wrote: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:19 pm This will explicitly show the less than and greater than symbols as brackets, <b>Note</b>
Yes.
vocx wrote: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:19 pm However, I think the intention is to produce a bold text. I'm not sure if this is possible at all. In a tooltip, bold is not really important, so I just remove the tags.
If bold is required the tooltip can be formatted in HTML. I agree with you that the bold text is not necessary and can be omitted.
Thanks for your fix.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: [patch] for: FreeCADGui compilation error because of DlgSettings3DView.ui

Post by Kunda1 »

Sorry about that. That was my fault.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Post Reply