FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20324
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by wmayer »

IESHIMS.DLL
CGGL
LIBCGGL
LIBCGGL.DYLIB
LIBCGGL.SO
WINTAB32.DLL
These files are irrelevant which Dependency walker always shows. Just ignore them.
DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.
Actually a dll of the same name could be loaded but this is binary incompatible. From the Dependency walker can't you see from the coloring of the icons which dll can't be loaded?
kb1gtt
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:00 pm

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by kb1gtt »

So far so good. The 32 bit version is allows me to use the part workbench, import a step file, and a couple more basic tasks. So this appears to have made this work.
kb1gtt
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:00 pm

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by kb1gtt »

I'm having the same problem again. In R0.16, I was able to solve it by using the 32 bit version, just like I did with the prior revisions. However it has gotten worse now with R0.17-Pre. Should I be submitting a tracker report to get this on the official list?

Here is some additional information about the problem with the DLL.

Code: Select all

c:\Windows\System32>dir *TK*
 Volume in drive C has no label.
 Volume Serial Number is 3CE0-0E00

 Directory of c:\Windows\System32

06/16/2009  10:01 AM            93,728 nvhotkey.dll
04/10/2009  11:11 PM           158,208 softkbd.dll
               2 File(s)        251,936 bytes
               0 Dir(s)  21,920,063,488 bytes free

c:\Windows\System32>

In CMD I do depends.exe --> open --> c:\program files (x86)\freecad_0.17.12920_x86_dev_win\bin\FREECAD.EXE then I get this error message. I click OK and it goes away.

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Dependency Walker
---------------------------
Errors were detected when processing "c:\program files (x86)\freecad_0.17.12920_x86_dev_win\bin\FREECAD.EXE".  See the log window for details.
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------

At this point with Win32, I can not get F7 to show up. So Lets try Win64 version.

In CMD I do depends.exe --> open --> c:\program files (x86)\freecad_0.17.12920_x64_dev_win\bin\FREECAD.EXE then F7 then OK, and when FreeCAD opens I switch to the "Part Design" workbench. I then get this error message.

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Workbench failure
---------------------------
DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
In Depends, I see these files with yellow ? marks next to them.

IESHIMS.DLL
CGGL
LIBCGGL
LIBCGGL.DYLIB
LIBCGGL.SO
PART.PYD
PARTGUI.PYD
SKETCHER.PYD
WINTAB32.DLL

PC is Vista 64 bit with automatic updates installed and PC functions very well.

I tried to attach the Depends DWI file, but even as a 7zip file it complains that 2 megs it to large.

Is there information I can provide to help with this issue? Is there some way I can get this to function? Should I create a tracker item such that this is on the official list and doesn't fall through the forum cracks?

Thanks in advance. It's a great program, can't wait to start using the new stuff in 0.17.
kb1gtt
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:00 pm

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by kb1gtt »

I can share the dwi file this way. See file found here. I'll remove it some time in the future then delete this post. For now perhaps more information can be extracted from this file.
https://cp.sync.com/dl/c63528b80#2uicdh ... 7-s7wzdwvu
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20324
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by wmayer »

In CMD I do depends.exe --> open --> c:\program files (x86)\freecad_0.17.12920_x86_dev_win\bin\FREECAD.EXE then I get this error message. I click OK and it goes away.
If possible try to start FreeCAD and then activate its Python console. Inside the console type:

Code: Select all

import os
os.system("depends.exe")
Then in DW load e.g. _PartDesign.pyd
DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.
Usually this means that the required dll could be found but it's obviously binary incompatible. In the past we often have seen such problems when people install programs that use OpenCascade and that install their files into C:\Windows\system32. This directory is reserved for system libraries and 3rd party programs must not put their stuff into there. Can you check if it's the same problem you have?
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20324
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by wmayer »

In the meantime I checked the dwi file and according to the log the problem is that Part.pyd cannot be loaded. The system actually loaded the module and all its dependencies but then for any reason it unloaded it again. And from the log view .
LoadLibraryExA("c:\program files (x86)\freecad_0.17.12920_x64_dev_win\Mod\Part\Part.pyd", 0x0000000000000000, LOAD_WITH_ALTERED_SEARCH_PATH) called from "PYTHON27.DLL" at address 0x000000001E119848.
Loaded "PART.PYD" at address 0x000007FEEC170000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKIGES.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEC6F0000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKBOOL.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEBD30000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKBO.DLL" at address 0x000007FEED9B0000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKPRIM.DLL" at address 0x000007FEF00F0000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKTOPALGO.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEBA90000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKGEOMALGO.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEB690000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKBREP.DLL" at address 0x000007FEED6D0000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKGEOMBASE.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEB280000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKG3D.DLL" at address 0x000007FEED600000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKG2D.DLL" at address 0x000007FEF0030000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKMATH.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEB0E0000. Successfully hooked module.
Loaded "TKERNEL.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEAF70000. Successfully hooked module.
Unloaded "PART.PYD" at address 0x000007FEEC170000.
Unloaded "TKIGES.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEC6F0000.
Unloaded "TKBOOL.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEBD30000.
Unloaded "TKBO.DLL" at address 0x000007FEED9B0000.
Unloaded "TKPRIM.DLL" at address 0x000007FEF00F0000.
Unloaded "TKTOPALGO.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEBA90000.
Unloaded "TKGEOMALGO.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEB690000.
Unloaded "TKBREP.DLL" at address 0x000007FEED6D0000.
Unloaded "TKGEOMBASE.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEB280000.
Unloaded "TKG3D.DLL" at address 0x000007FEED600000.
Unloaded "TKG2D.DLL" at address 0x000007FEF0030000.
Unloaded "TKMATH.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEB0E0000.
Unloaded "TKERNEL.DLL" at address 0x000007FEEAF70000.
LoadLibraryExA("c:\program files (x86)\freecad_0.17.12920_x64_dev_win\Mod\Part\Part.pyd", 0x0000000000000000, LOAD_WITH_ALTERED_SEARCH_PATH) returned NULL. Error: The specified procedure could not be found (127).
I have nowhere found a hint about which procedure couldn't be found.
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18589
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by NormandC »

I don't know if it's relevant, but the 0.17_pre Release page mentions this:
Win builds support (x86/x64) >= 7/8/10
Vista does not seem to be supported anymore.
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20324
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by wmayer »

NormandC wrote: Fri Jan 05, 2018 6:24 pm I don't know if it's relevant, but the 0.17_pre Release page mentions this:
Win builds support (x86/x64) >= 7/8/10
Vista does not seem to be supported anymore.
But then I would expect that the executable wouldn't even start. But here the problem is that it starts but cannot load the Part module. What might be possible too is that one of the occ libs require a function of a system library which doesn't exist on Vista but there was no information in the log file.
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by sgrogan »

NormandC wrote: Fri Jan 05, 2018 6:24 pm Vista does not seem to be supported anymore.
wmayer wrote: Fri Jan 05, 2018 6:43 pm But then I would expect that the executable wouldn't even start. But here the problem is that it starts but cannot load the Part module. What might be possible too is that one of the occ libs require a function of a system library which doesn't exist on Vista but there was no information in the log file.
As far as I could determine VS2013 should support Vista without doing anything special, but it seems to not work for some users. It has worked for Vista for some users though. Part is always a problem when it doesn't work, but I don't think we've ever had a user provide as much info for a non-working version before.
"fight the good fight"
kb1gtt
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:00 pm

Re: FreeCAD DLL Load failed: Workbench

Post by kb1gtt »

About VS2013, I have many programs installed. I do not know how to identify if any require VS2013 or not. I have FreeCAD 0.16 installed. Could that be a problem? Looking over the programs and features list I might guess at 5 programs. However I'm not sure how to identify if they need it or not. As well I would not know if they are a conflict or not. I guess I could un-install VS2013 and see if any programs appear to complain when they are opened. Are there any other possible methods for checking VS2013 dependencies?

I can access the python console. This is what I get when I do the commands you recommended.

Code: Select all

>>> webView=WebView()
>>> 
>>> import os
>>> os.system("depends.exe")
1
>>>
wmayer wrote: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:12 pm Then in DW load e.g. _PartDesign.pyd
I'm not following, what is DW? I think you means depends.exe? I'm not sure how to load _PartDesign.pyd Could you provide more detail about where I enter this and in which program?

This is my VS2013
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (3.45 KiB) Viewed 1745 times
Post Reply