[SOLVED (again)] AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5909
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

[SOLVED (again)] AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:14 am

Starting up Appimage I see in the Report console

Code: Select all

During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred
Can anyone reproduce?

OS: Manjaro Linux (XFCE/xfce)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18694 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: c3ba04183e016e15410d84bae4d00556d22c7da5
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
looo
Posts: 2948
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby looo » Sat Nov 09, 2019 5:52 am

Thanks for reporting. I patched this part to replace it with an abstraction layer:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-AppI ... 2bd8aeca39

https://github.com/looooo/freecad.python
please help with my conda-packaging efforts: https://liberapay.com/looooo/
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5909
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:24 pm

looo wrote:
Sat Nov 09, 2019 5:52 am
Thanks for reporting. I patched this part to replace it with an abstraction layer:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-AppI ... 2bd8aeca39

https://github.com/looooo/freecad.python
Can you re-roll an new appimage then ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
looo
Posts: 2948
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby looo » Sat Nov 09, 2019 1:13 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:24 pm
looo wrote:
Sat Nov 09, 2019 5:52 am
Thanks for reporting. I patched this part to replace it with an abstraction layer:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-AppI ... 2bd8aeca39

https://github.com/looooo/freecad.python
Can you re-roll an new appimage then ?
should be done already:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-AppI ... 2bd8aeca39
please help with my conda-packaging efforts: https://liberapay.com/looooo/
User avatar
freman
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby freman » Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:31 am

So where is the link to the new AppImage ? The link above is just the patch.

In view of the time it's going to take to build a clean master a recent AppImage would be most useful.

thx.
looo
Posts: 2948
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby looo » Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:05 am

freman wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:31 am
So where is the link to the new AppImage ? The link above is just the patch.

In view of the time it's going to take to build a clean master a recent AppImage would be most useful.

thx.
It was already updated, but the build-number stayed the same.
please help with my conda-packaging efforts: https://liberapay.com/looooo/
User avatar
freman
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby freman » Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:51 am

Well what is the point of build numbers if they do not uniquely identify a build ?

I still don't see a link to any AppImage here, can you clarify what we are talking about?

thx.
looo
Posts: 2948
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby looo » Mon Nov 11, 2019 10:29 am

freman wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:51 am
Well what is the point of build numbers if they do not uniquely identify a build ?
A build-number is a "build"-number. If you want another number for the bundle no one is preventing you from adding a PR here:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-AppImage
freman wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:51 am
I still don't see a link to any AppImage here, can you clarify what we are talking about?
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre ->Assets
But I cannot post the full link here as the build number might change today.
please help with my conda-packaging efforts: https://liberapay.com/looooo/
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5909
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 11:05 am

It's a little confusing, I must admit, the way we use appimages. It's not a standard method (see for example: https://github.com/antony-jr/AppImageUpdater/issues/17) and it creates some complexity.

In this issue @looo tweaked the appimage configs (FreeCAD/FreeCAD-Appimage) and nothing in master, so the fix wouldn't register as a new revision number. It's necessary to download what looks like the same appimage again, but it isn't. So, I guess people would be waiting for a fix to come down the pipe (a new commit addressing the issue like the one that I've created this thread for) and not see it, even though the problem has been fixed invisibly.

tl;dr
Download the AppImage again (even if it's the same revision number)
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
freman
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: [Solved] AppImage 0.19.18694 - During initialization the error "No module named 'freecad'" occurred

Postby freman » Mon Nov 11, 2019 11:45 am

thanks for the link looooo, that's what I needed.

thanks Kunda, I think the confusion was that it's the same FreeCAD build but a different build of the AppImage. Double use of the same term for different things led to the confusion. Thanks for clarification.