Error when generating CMake configuration on Windows

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: Error when generating CMake configuration on Windows

Postby uwestoehr » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:11 pm

hsnam wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:52 am
But when I executed the FreeCAD.exe file in the bin folder, there're some errors happened:
Do I need to install something else to make it works?
Yes, you must copy the DLLs to the build folder, see https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Compile ... ng_FreeCAD
So have you used the CMake flags FREECAD_COPY_*** as described?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5453
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Error when generating CMake configuration on Windows

Postby sgrogan » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:48 pm

hsnam wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:17 am
I know that there are built versions of FreeCAD, but I want to use a modified one so I have to build by my own.
The 11.x series of Libpacks are PY2/QT4.
The CMake flags FREECAD_COPY_***, don't exist in the 0.18 release branch.
The binaries on the 0.18.x release pages use QT5.6/PY3, I used Conda as a package manager to build these, but I did not use the native Conda build tools so the build process is convoluted. If you really need to build 0.18.x I can try to help with this.

The development branch of FreeCAD (master) is typically quite "stable". Generally we treat it as a rolling release. On the whole there are probably as many bug fixes/new features as there are new bugs introduced. Breaking bugs are typically fixed in a very timely fashion (literally minutes to days)

I would discourage using the 11.x Libpacks, as QT4 is already EOL and PY2 will be by the end of the year. Any devepment you do might be obsolete already.

FreeCAD is Free and free, so we can help with whatever you decide.
hsnam
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:36 am

Re: Error when generating CMake configuration on Windows

Postby hsnam » Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:11 am

sgrogan wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:48 pm
hsnam wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:17 am
I know that there are built versions of FreeCAD, but I want to use a modified one so I have to build by my own.
The 11.x series of Libpacks are PY2/QT4.
The CMake flags FREECAD_COPY_***, don't exist in the 0.18 release branch.
The binaries on the 0.18.x release pages use QT5.6/PY3, I used Conda as a package manager to build these, but I did not use the native Conda build tools so the build process is convoluted. If you really need to build 0.18.x I can try to help with this.

The development branch of FreeCAD (master) is typically quite "stable". Generally we treat it as a rolling release. On the whole there are probably as many bug fixes/new features as there are new bugs introduced. Breaking bugs are typically fixed in a very timely fashion (literally minutes to days)

I would discourage using the 11.x Libpacks, as QT4 is already EOL and PY2 will be by the end of the year. Any devepment you do might be obsolete already.

FreeCAD is Free and free, so we can help with whatever you decide.
Thank for your help!
hsnam
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:36 am

Re: Error when generating CMake configuration on Windows

Postby hsnam » Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:12 am

uwestoehr wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:11 pm
hsnam wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:52 am
But when I executed the FreeCAD.exe file in the bin folder, there're some errors happened:
Do I need to install something else to make it works?
Yes, you must copy the DLLs to the build folder, see https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Compile ... ng_FreeCAD
So have you used the CMake flags FREECAD_COPY_*** as described?
I'll try this, thank you so much!
hsnam
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:36 am

Re: Error when generating CMake configuration on Windows

Postby hsnam » Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:28 am

I built it successfully, thank you guys for your help.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5912
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Error when generating CMake configuration on Windows

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:12 pm

hsnam wrote:
Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:28 am
I built it successfully, thank you guys for your help.
Please mark thread as [Solved] (edit the first post title)
Thanks
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features