LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
PapaAtHome
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:45 pm

LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by PapaAtHome »

Hi to all,

First, best wishes for 2020 from me.

I'm using FreeCAD (0.17 and 0.18) for 12 months now and would like to compile it myself. Reason, I want to see what Sliptonic is doing with VCarving (one of his features in 0.19_pre)

In short:
When I try to build FreeCAD CMake cannot find all required files in LibPack.
from: "$(root)\FreeCAD\cMake\FreeCAD_Helpers\InitializeFreeCADBuildOptions.cmake":r48
> if (EXISTS ${FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR}/plugins/imageformats/qsvg.dll)
Directories in LibPack do not include a "...\FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12\plugins\"

Some details:
I followed the instructions from "https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Compile_on_Windows" to the letter.
Details of packages on the machine I want to use to build FreeCAD:
- git version 2.16.1.windows.4
- TortoiseGit 2.9.0.0
- cmake-3.14.7-win64-x64
- FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12.7z
- python-3.7.6-amd64
- nsis-3.05-setup
- Visual Studio 2015 community edition (already in use for some time)

I created a root directory where I want to build, I'm referring to it as 'root' for simplicity.
Git clone https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD.git -> $(root)/FreeCAD
z7zip unzipped FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12.7z -> $(root)/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12
set FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR=$(root)/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12
build results should go to $(root)/build

CMake:
source=$(root)/FreeCAD
build=$(root)/Build
generator: Visual Studio 14 2015
platform: x64
toolset: (default, empty)
(x) use default native compilers

Cmake error messages:
...
Found libpack env variable: H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12
Libpack NOT found.
...
CMake Error at cMake/FreeCAD_Helpers/SetupPCL.cmake:11 (find_package):
By not providing "FindPCL.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project has
...

Problems.
1 - Libpack status?
2 - PCL? (as result of problem 1?)

@1:
from: "$(root)\FreeCAD\cMake\FreeCAD_Helpers\InitializeFreeCADBuildOptions.cmake":r48
> if (EXISTS ${FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR}/plugins/imageformats/qsvg.dll)
Directories in "$(root)\FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12"
bin\
cmake\
include\
lib\
share\
src\
tools\

some more details from the CMake log:
..
Compiler: MSVC, version: 19.0.24215.1
prefix: C:/Program Files (x86)/FreeCAD
bindir: bin
datadir: data
docdir: doc
includedir: include
libdir: lib
cmake: 3.14.7
Found libpack env variable: H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12
Libpack NOT found.
If you intend to use a Windows libpack, set the FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR to the libpack directory.
Visit: https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD/releases/ for Windows libpack downloads.
PyCXX found:
...

No directory "$(root)\FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12\plugins\" available!

There are no instructions to 'compile' FreeCADLibs first so I must assume that I make a mistake or have another false assumtion.
For now I'm stuck.

Can somebody advise me on how to install/use LibPack?

Kind regards,
Andre.
Kind regards, Andre.
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9041
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by openBrain »

Hi Andre,

I'm not a specialist but you're using LibPack11.11 which is for FreeCAD 0.18.
But if you're git cloning the master/HEAD of FreeCAD GH repo, you'll get sources of 0.19 dev version.
So maybe this can explain.

Also I read from the GH release page that FC 0.18 x64 is now compiled with Conda (only x32 is using LibPack11.11) but I guess it should be OK though.

EDIT : moreover LibPack11.11 is targeting VisualStudio 2013. Don't know which one is yours (as much as I can read, MSCV last version is 14.2 so I can't understand what is your 19.x). ;)
ulrich1a
Veteran
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by ulrich1a »

There are not so many users, who compile FreeCAD on windows. The reason is you can download fresh compiled development versions here: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre

For those still interested in compiling on windows there is also an actual libpack available. You need a libpack compatible to your MSVC installation, otherwise the build will fail. Unfortunately I have no actual experience with compiling FreeCAD on windows. My last compile was some years ago.

Ulrich
User avatar
PapaAtHome
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by PapaAtHome »

@openBrain:
You are spot on, the git clone was giving me 0.19 sources and I want to build 0.18 before I try anyting else.
The correct git clone command is:

git clone https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD.git tags/FreeCAD-0-18

About the C/C++ version number:
Visual Studio and its compiler(s) have independent version numbers. For Visual Studio 2015 the C/C++ compiler version is 19.0.24215.1

@ulrich1a:
I want to build Sliptonics version of FreeCAD, I don't believe that will be in the regular prebuild packages.
see: https://github.com/sliptonic/FreeCAD
But thanks for the tip, I did not know it.

Now for the results after the cloning of FreeCAD-0-18. Unfortunately, no changes. :?
Here is the relevant snipped the CMake results:

...
Compiler: MSVC, version: 19.0.24215.1
prefix: C:/Program Files (x86)/FreeCAD
bindir: bin
datadir: data
docdir: doc
includedir: include
libdir: lib
cmake: 3.14.7
Found libpack env variable: H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12
Libpack NOT found.
If you intend to use a Windows libpack, set the FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR to the libpack directory.
Visit: https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD/releases/ for Windows libpack downloads.
PyCXX found:
Headers: H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCAD-0-18/src
Sources: H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCAD-0-18/src/CXX
Version: 6.2.8
Found SWIG: H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12/bin/swig/swig.exe (found version "1.3.40")
Found PythonInterp: H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12/bin/python.exe (found version "2.7.14")
Found PythonLibs: optimized;H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12/lib/python27.lib;debug;H:/andre/ontwikkeling/FreeCAD/v0.18_64/FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12/lib/python27_d.lib (found suitable exact version "2.7.14")
CMake Error at cMake/FreeCAD_Helpers/SetupPCL.cmake:11 (find_package):
By not providing "FindPCL.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project has
...
Last edited by PapaAtHome on Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kind regards, Andre.
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9041
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by openBrain »

As I wrote above, LibPack 11.11 is done to work with VS2013. I don't know if it can work with VS2015. ;)
User avatar
PapaAtHome
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by PapaAtHome »

openBrain wrote: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:38 pm As I wrote above, LibPack 11.11 is done to work with VS2013. I don't know if it can work with VS2015. ;)
Hmmm... I must have a look into this. I do not have VS2013 available at the moment.

But about the CMake scripts, please note that I'm unfamiliar with CMake.
The check in ..\FreeCAD-0-18\cMake\FreeCAD_Helpers\InitializeFreeCADBuildOptions.cmake is independent from any MSVC version, it looks specific for the file '${FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR}/plugins/imageformats/qsvg.dll'.
And in the LibPack I have there is no directory 'plugins'.

Running in circles here. :cry:

Kind regards,
Andre.
Kind regards, Andre.
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9041
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by openBrain »

'plugins/qsvg.dll' is clearly a Qt file. Maybe the LibPack didn't include Qt dll as they are easily found. ;)

EDIT : actually I don't think this is the problem. There are several lines in the CMake log with 'LibPack NOT found' and an error about 'FindPCL'...
User avatar
PapaAtHome
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by PapaAtHome »

openBrain wrote: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:57 pm 'plugins/qsvg.dll' is clearly a Qt file. Maybe the LibPack didn't include Qt dll as they are easily found. ;)
I checked on Qt files. The LibPack version I have is including ../lib/QtCore4.lib
Checking in the CMake file is done (among others) on QtCore5.lib
And there are plenty of files qsvg*.dll in other places but not qsvg.dll
Kind regards, Andre.
ulrich1a
Veteran
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by ulrich1a »

PapaAtHome wrote: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:26 pm I want to build Sliptonics version of FreeCAD, I don't believe that will be in the regular prebuild packages.
see: https://github.com/sliptonic/FreeCAD
I checked one of the latest commit in that branch: Russ4262/FreeCAD/tree/path_3d_pocket_upgrade
(https://github.com/sliptonic/FreeCAD/tr ... c/Mod/Path)
and it is already in FreeCAD master 0.19_pre. So no need to compile that branch yourself.

I am almost sure, that you need msvc2013 in order to use FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12.7z.
If you do not have this version, you should use FreeCADLibs_12.1.2_x64_VC15.7z and a supported version of Visual studio.

The wiki page https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Compile_on_Windows is unfortunately not clear in this aspect.

Ulrich
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: LibPack incomplete? or what am I missing?

Post by sgrogan »

ulrich1a wrote: Thu Jan 02, 2020 9:49 pm I am almost sure, that you need msvc2013 in order to use FreeCADLibs_11.11_x64_VC12.7z.
If you do not have this version, you should use FreeCADLibs_12.1.2_x64_VC15.7z and a supported version of Visual studio.
This is correct. To compile 0.19.x(or some fork based off from this) you need VS2015 or newer. For this you need the 12.x.x series Libpack, 12.1.2 is the latest.
You also will want to use the Python included in the Libpack(3.6.x) as some other libs (i.e. Pyside(2)) link against this version of Python.
"fight the good fight"
Post Reply