Newbie - System Requirements

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
DanL

Newbie - System Requirements

Post by DanL »

Hi everyone,

I am new to FreeCAD. I am planning to buy an HP laptop and then install FreeCAD on it, but I am not sure if the new laptop is good enough to run FreeCAD. Please look at the specs and let me know if I should buy it:

Operating system Windows 10 Home 64

PROCESSOR
Chipset AMD Integrated SoC
Processor cache 8 MB L3
Processor core 8
Processor family AMD Ryzen™ 7 processor
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 5700U (up to 4.3 GHz max boost clock, 8 MB L3 cache, 8 cores, 16 threads)

Memory 16 GB DDR4-3200 MHz RAM (2 x 8 GB)

Graphics (integrated) AMD Radeon™ Graphics

Internal Storage 1 TB PCIe® NVMe™ M.2 SSD

https://www.hp.com/ca-en/shop/product.a ... BL&sel=NTB

Thanks.
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Newbie - System Requirements

Post by chrisb »

This sounds better than what many forum regulars have, but if it's enough depends on what you intend to do. FreeCAD is not very resource hungry, but it needs any power it can get if you intend to convert large meshes into solids.

Make sure your graphics card supports OpenGL, so if possible you should make a test run with a current development version.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
fcaduser

Post by fcaduser »

Without knowing what you are planning to do, it is impossible to answer. What is your project, designing a pencil sharpener or an aircraft ? Each doesn't require exactly the same resources, does it ? But one thing I can say for sure is that the scale of the project you can do with a very modest computer is astonishing. Your future laptop is a beast compared to my PC, yet I am committed to great projects. Generally speaking, people greatly overestimate the minimum system requirements for a decent work environment.
DanL

Post by DanL »