Addonmanager problems

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
kisolre
Veteran
Posts: 4166
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by kisolre »

It properly installs and updates without explicit specification of the Main branch so there is probably some magic there that could/should be applied to the Readme display?
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3906
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by chennes »

The call for the README absolutely requires knowledge of the branch you want, because it's not a real git call, it's just an HTTP access to github. A real git call will use whatever the repo has set as its default branch, so something like "git clone" will work even without setting the correct branch. But I don't want you to have to clone the repo to look at its readme. For "official" repos the branch is set in the submodules file. For custom repos that you add in the preferences, you need to set the name of the branch you want to use, like this:

Code: Select all

https://github.com/FlachyJoe/FCPDWorkbench.git main
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
kisolre
Veteran
Posts: 4166
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by kisolre »

It works ok if I omit the .git part :

Code: Select all

https://github.com/FlachyJoe/FCPDWorkbench
Here is another one:

Code: Select all

10:01:40  Error loading https://wiki.freecad.org/Macros_recipes:
 [SSL: CERTIFICATE_VERIFY_FAILED] certificate verify failed: certificate has expired (_ssl.c:1125)
10:01:40  There appears to be an issue connecting to the Wiki, therefore FreeCAD cannot retrieve the Wiki macro list at this time
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3906
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by chennes »

Thanks, I'll add the code to strip the ".git" from those URLs.

Yeah, I had to turn off the cheat that was getting around the SSL problems we'd been having, because technically it's not a valid SSL request the way it was constructed, and Python 3.10 rejects it. I don't know how to get around that yet.
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
User avatar
onekk
Veteran
Posts: 6205
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:48 am
Contact:

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by onekk »

I've had same problem in Linux with 0.20 AppImage.

I found that it was the proxy settings:
FC-proxy.png
FC-proxy.png (64.49 KiB) Viewed 2579 times
Setting it as "No proxy" made it working as expected.

Defaults was different.

Hope it helps.

Carlo D.
GitHub page: https://github.com/onekk/freecad-doc.
- In deep articles on FreeCAD.
- Learning how to model with scripting.
- Various other stuffs.

Blog: https://okkmkblog.wordpress.com/
kisolre
Veteran
Posts: 4166
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by kisolre »

Opened Addon Manager. While the update check was running opened InvGears description. Update finished with the description page still open - the text "...Update check in progress..." did not change. Exited description page, set the filter to packages with updates - 3 updates displayed, one of them InvGears. Enter description page again - correct text for available update. Manually updated the InvGears WB - counter of available updates still shows 3. Update all - message window shows two successful updates BUT one of them is InvGears. Confirm message window. Addon Manager shows that just the displayed two updates were applied, update button shows properly one available update. Close Addon Manager without restart and open it again - does not show available updates but shows some errors:

Code: Select all

08:52:29  Failed to read metadata from C:\Users\Wivern\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\\Mod\InvGears\package.xml
08:52:53  Addon Manager internal error: lost metadata for package InvGears
08:53:34  Addon Manager internal error: lost metadata for package InvGears
Restart FreeCAD, Open AddonManager again - no available updates but errors for InvGears WB:

Code: Select all

08:57:04  GitHub's zen message response: It's not fully shipped until it's fast.
08:57:04  Addon Manager internal error: lost metadata for package InvGears
08:57:04  Addon Manager internal error: lost metadata for package InvGears
08:57:04  Addon Manager internal error: lost metadata for package InvGears
.
.
.
08:57:06  Failed to read metadata from C:\Users\Wivern\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\\Mod\InvGears\package.xml
08:57:29  Addon Manager internal error: lost metadata for package InvGears
Hope that this makes sense :) I will not try cache reset or uninstall/install of the InvGears WB for the time being.

OS: Windows 8.1 Version 6.3 (Build 9600)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.27075 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 089b18f8686ac03da749b916ab304f1c13f79d21
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: Bulgarian/Bulgaria (bg_BG)
User avatar
Zolko
Veteran
Posts: 2213
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by Zolko »

with fresh local compile from latest GitHub, AddonManager fails to load because of missing QtNetwork in PySide2:

Code: Select all

FreeCAD 0.20, Libs: 0.20R27049 (Git)
...
During initialization the error "cannot import name 'QtNetwork' from 'PySide2' (/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/PySide2/__init__.py)" occurred in /home/hubertz/Documents/CAD/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/FreeCAD_build/Mod/AddonManager/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information
Unknown command 'Std_AddonMgr'
which in itself is strange: is it PySide or PySide2 ? In FreeCAD_Build/Ext I have PySide, freecad and lazy_loader, no PySide2. And in PySide, there is no QtNetwork (QtCore, QtGu...)


OS: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster) (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.27049 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 74fe1fa4db96ce9ba63a156515ddf816117c7a6e
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.11.3
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD — tutorials here and here
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3906
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by chennes »

You need to install the new dependency: the system package is probably called python3-pyside2.qtnetwork
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
User avatar
Zolko
Veteran
Posts: 2213
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by Zolko »

chennes wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 2:42 pm You need to install the new dependency: the system package is probably called python3-pyside2.qtnetwork
yep, thanx, that worked. May-be worth writing it into some documentation ?
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD — tutorials here and here
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3906
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Addonmanager problems

Post by chennes »

Zolko wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 4:31 pm yep, thanx, that worked. May-be worth writing it into some documentation ?
It is in the list of required packages on the wiki, but of course it's not like the wiki notifies everyone when that list changes. So people just come to the forums -- if you do a search here for qtnetwork you should get your answer pretty quickly.
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
Post Reply