Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2726
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby easyw-fc » Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:42 pm

shaise wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:08 pm
the workbench works on ver 0.18.
use the addon manager, and install "fasteners" workbench
there are some issue only on py3/qt5
Ruanova
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby Ruanova » Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:17 pm

easyw-fc wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:42 pm
shaise wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:08 pm
the workbench works on ver 0.18.
use the addon manager, and install "fasteners" workbench
there are some issue only on py3/qt5
Thanks, solved
The problem was that I used FreeCAD_0.18.14495_Conda_Py3QT5-WinVS2016_x64.

With FreeCAD_0.18.14495_x64_dev_win works perfectly
triplus
Posts: 8878
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby triplus » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:09 pm

Hi @Ruanova

The point of Py3(Qt5) builds provided on the releases page is to get more verbose end user feedback. Regarding porting to Py3 effort. Therefore best if you provide the error message you are getting when using the Py3 build. As eventually it will need to get fixed.
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby GlouGlou » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:38 pm

These cap nuts are missing. :roll:
Attachments
ecrou-borgne.jpg
ecrou-borgne.jpg (4.71 KiB) Viewed 833 times
mariusz.dec
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:55 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby mariusz.dec » Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:14 pm

Hi all,
currently I would like to change actual design from 0.17 to 0.18 but I am using a lot of PEMs, screws, studs etc.
Unfortunatelly STUDS doesn't work for me - I have checked it on W10 64 Pro and on W7 64 Pro, same problem.
Stud appears on the list but isn't visible.
Regards
Mariusz

Report from (W7)
Running the Python command 'FSStud' failed:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.18\Mod\FreeCAD_FastenersWB-master\PEMInserts.py", line 591, in Activated
FastenerBase.FSGenerateObjects(FSStudObject, "Stud")
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.18\Mod\FreeCAD_FastenersWB-master\FastenerBase.py", line 356, in FSGenerateObjects
objectClass(a, selObj)
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.18\Mod\FreeCAD_FastenersWB-master\PEMInserts.py", line 531, in __init__
obj.addProperty("App::PropertyEnumeration","length","Parameters","Standoff length").length = fhGetAllLengths(FHDiameters[1])
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.18\Mod\FreeCAD_FastenersWB-master\PEMInserts.py", line 519, in fhGetAllLengths
list.sort(cmp = FastenerBase.NumCompare)

'cmp' is an invalid keyword argument for this function
User avatar
shaise
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 am

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby shaise » Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:32 pm

1. can you post your exact freecad version?
goto help -> about FreeCad and click "copy to clipboard". then paste here.
2. are you sure you have the latest fastener workbench? (use add-on manager to update)
mariusz.dec
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:55 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby mariusz.dec » Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:33 pm

Hi Shaise.
My FreeCad version at home:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16093 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 690774c0effe4fd7b8d2b5e2fb2b8c8d145e21ce
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Polish/Poland (pl_PL)

Version of Fasteners...
Here at home I have downloaded Fasteners via AddOn manager and it works now.
At work I have environment isolated from Internet, so I see that I have old version.
I am sorry. My fault :(.

I am working in small screws, so I did small changes to PEMInserts.py.
It works, but please check if my data for M2 and M2.5 are correct.
###################################################################################
# PEM Self Clinching standoffs types: SO/SOS/SOA/SO4
SOLengths = {'2':0, '3':0, '4':0, '6':0, '8':0, '10':4, '12':4, '14':4, '16':8, '18':8, '20':8, '22':11, '25':11}
#BSLengths = {'6':1.6, '6':2.2, '6':3.2, '8':4, '10':4, '12':5, '14':6.5, '16':6.5, '18':9.5, '20':9.5, '22':9.5, '25':9.5}
SODiameters = ['Auto', 'M2', 'M2.5', 'M3', '3.5M3', 'M3.5', 'M4', 'M5' ]
SOPEMTable = {
# B, C, H, d, Lmin, Lmax
'M2': (2.2, 4.2, 4.8, 1.6, 3, 18),
'M2.5': (2.7, 4.2, 4.8, 2.2, 3, 18),
'M3': (3.2, 4.2, 4.8, 2.5, 3, 18),
'3.5M3':(3.2, 5.39, 6.4, 2.5, 3, 25),
'M3.5': (3.9, 5.39, 6.4, 2.9, 3, 25),
'M4': (4.8, 7.12, 7.9, 3.3, 3, 25),
'M5': (5.36, 7.12, 7.9, 4.2, 3, 25)
}

And another thing - because of my works I am using countersink screws with very low profile for 1 mm metal sheets - like DIN965A
https://www.tme.eu/gb/details/b2x3_bn66 ... d/1412558/
Is it possible to adapt ScreMaker.py to to make such screws?

Regards
Mariusz
User avatar
Joel_graff
Posts: 1617
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby Joel_graff » Fri Mar 22, 2019 9:30 pm

Just added the workbench to the v0.19 release notes.
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Releas ... al_Modules
FreeCAD Trails workbench for transportation engineering: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/freecad.trails

pivy_trackers 2D coin3D library: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/pivy_trackers
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 6221
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby Kunda1 » Tue May 14, 2019 3:10 pm

I moved the workbench out of of the wiki sandbox. New URL is https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Fasteners_Workbench aka Fasteners Workbench

FYI @Joel_graff, I updated the Release_notes_0.19#Additional_Modules with the link.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
VanLaser
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:34 am

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Postby VanLaser » Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:44 am

Hi, hope this is the right thread to ask my question!

First, thanks for all the work on this workbench, I use it for my 3d printer projects, and results are very good :)

I'm normally creating first my model as usual ("Part Design", pads, holes etc.) and afterwards I switch to the "Fasteners" workbench and add a "variable length threaded rod for holes" object for each hole I've created, place the rods in the holes to match, then (in the "Part" workbench) I make a join of all the rods, and finally cut this join from my model so that I'm left with the threaded holes in my model. All this works alright, my only time consuming step is the one in which I have to move the rods exactly where the holes are, and my question is: is there an alternative (i.e. faster) way to do that, or - alternatively - can this step be automated? Something like - "configure this rod to exactly match-diameter-and-overlap this hole"? Ideally, when one creates a hole and checks the "threaded" property, this entire process (place a matching rod, subtract) should happen automatically, but the next best thing would be the automated matching on request. Would something like that be possible?