Positioned sketch

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: Positioned sketch

Postby Pauvres_honteux » Tue Oct 25, 2016 4:50 pm

Should I make a bug report on this phenomenon?
It est, features loosing contact/link with the DatumPoint.

Could this topic be related as well?
Bspline abhängig parametrisch an Sketch hängen, wie?
chrisb
Posts: 25175
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Positioned sketch

Postby chrisb » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:06 pm

The entry in the german forum was something different. It was not a bug, but rather how to make a bspline parametric depending on a sketch.
User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: Positioned sketch

Postby Pauvres_honteux » Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:05 pm

Created an issue about the DatumPoint:
issue #2758
Last edited by Pauvres_honteux on Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Positioned sketch

Postby NormandC » Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:19 pm

Please format your link so it is actually active.

Hint: use the "bug" tag button on the ID number of the bug.

This

Code: Select all

[bug]2758[/bug]
shows up as

issue #2758
poserge
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:06 am

Re: Positioned sketch

Postby poserge » Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:02 pm

Sorry I followed bugreport link and just noticed topic title is different.
But if I can comment on bug issue #2758 here - I thought some feature object should be selected when Datum's attachment mode is "Object's origin". When I create DatumPoint without any feature selected it shows Invalid Selection dialog box.
C++ beginner, willing to help FC with coding. Using FC for converting/decomposing STEP models into iges.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7488
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Positioned sketch

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:43 am

I'm confused about how many bugs are actually being found in this thread? Does issue #2758 cover them all? If not please open separate tickets so we don't miss anything. Thx!
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: Positioned sketch

Postby Pauvres_honteux » Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:30 pm

I tested all "Datum"-features today and the result is... strange.
See attached pdf in Mantis tracker issue #2758.

To me its seams to be a lot of bugs involved in these "Datum"-features.

Wha'da-ya say?

PS. Regarding point, lines and planes attachement/base, as it is now they are bound to a body, i.e. body is parent and point, lines and planes are children. It shall be the other way around. And for that matter they shall live in their own "container", see issue #2686. DS.