Curves workbench

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:03 pm

Thanks UR_
Do you get an error when typing the following ?

Code: Select all

import freecad
UR_
Posts: 1188
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby UR_ » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:38 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:03 pm
Do you get an error when typing the following ?

Code: Select all

import freecad
Unfortunately, yes!

Code: Select all

>>> import freecad
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
ImportError: bad magic number in 'freecad': b'\x03\xf3\r\n'
>>> 

Code: Select all

>>> import FreeCAD
>>> 
instead works as expected.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:45 pm

Then these FC builds are incompatible with new-style workbenches.
I don't know conda at all, so I have no clue why ?
UR_
Posts: 1188
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby UR_ » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:56 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:45 pm
Then these FC builds are incompatible with new-style workbenches.
looo wrote: :bell:
sgrogan wrote: :bell:
User avatar
hammax
Posts: 1156
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:03 pm
Location: Ammersee

Re: Curves workbench

Postby hammax » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:58 pm

... Feedback: Thank you very much!
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p412798
Jeepeeee it's here again:

CurvesWB_2.PNG
CurvesWB_2.PNG (41.61 KiB) Viewed 280 times
Syres
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Syres » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:22 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:45 pm
Then these FC builds are incompatible with new-style workbenches.
I don't know conda at all, so I have no clue why ?
I'm going to slightly disagree, perhaps either of the Windows builds don't like Upgrading the workbench from the old style to the new. I carried out quite a bit of testing on the Extension Manager (new proposed AddonManager) and I regularly had to completely delete the folder under Mod when testing the changes. I mostly use the Windows LP build and in the changeover from your old style to new I carried out the same clear-out procedure. My Conda build run the new Curves fine, here's my startup log:

Code: Select all

OpenGL version is: 4.6 (4.6.0 NVIDIA 445.87)
Run Gui init script
Init: Running FreeCADGuiInit.py start script...
Init:   Searching modules...
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\AddonManager... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Arch... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Complete... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Draft... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Drawing... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Fem... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Idf(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Image... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Import... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Inspection... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Material... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Measure(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Mesh... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\MeshPart... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\OpenSCAD... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Part... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\PartDesign... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Path... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Points... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Raytracing... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\ReverseEngineering... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Robot... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Show(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Sketcher... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Spreadsheet... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Start... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Surface... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\TechDraw... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Test... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Tux... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Web... done
Module: Part
Loading Part module... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\A2plus... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\CfdOF... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Curves(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\fasteners... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\FreeCAD_ExtMan(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Manipulator... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Mechatronic... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Plot(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\sheetmetal... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Silk... done
Init: Initializing freecad.asm3
Init: Initializing freecad.asm3... done
Init: Initializing freecad.plot
Init: Initializing freecad.plot... done
Init: Initializing freecad.extman
Init: Initializing freecad.extman... done
Init: Initializing freecad.Curves
Init: Initializing freecad.Curves... done
Init: Loading FreeCAD GUI
Init: Running FreeCADGuiInit.py start script... done
Init: Activating default workbench StartWorkbench
Loading GUI of Web module... done
Loading GUI of Start module... done
Loading Start module... done
Installed Qt WebEngine locales directory not found at location E:/Data/My Downloads/FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64/FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64/translations\qtwebengine_locales. Trying application directory...
Qt WebEngine locales directory not found at location E:/Data/My Downloads/FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64/FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64/bin\qtwebengine_locales. Trying fallback directory... Translations MAY NOT not be correct.
QImage::QImage(), XPM is not supported
QPixmap::scaled: Pixmap is a null pixmap
Init: Showing main window
Main window restored
Show main window
Toolbars restored
3Dconnexion device not attached.
Init: Entering event loop
Init: Processing command line files
Loading GUI of Part module... done
Loading Sketcher module... done
Loading GUI of Sketcher module... done
Pivy.graphics interaction library enabled
OS: Windows 7 SP 1 (6.1)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21514 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 89ddab33f692a9bd739171689f9ab0eb58d64b35
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
UR_
Posts: 1188
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby UR_ » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:36 pm

Got it to work again.


Just deleted all *.pyc files recursive to C:\Users\aio\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod accordingly to


https://stackoverflow.com/questions/514 ... mber-error


Addon manager should do this by default after updating a workbench.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:48 pm

OK. Thanks both for your investigation.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5887
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby sgrogan » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:53 pm

UR_ wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:36 pm
Addon manager should do this by default after updating a workbench.
Syres wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:22 pm
Windows builds don't like Upgrading the workbench from the old style to the new.
Are you guys using git-python or the zip fallback?
If using git-python the workbench folders are git repos and the .pyc files may be un-tracked causing a merge conflict.
I will investigate the .gitignore files in the workbench repos.
The .pyc files are also causing a problem.
So maybe the .pyc files must be deleted, by addon-manager, prior to git pull, with an update.
Syres
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Syres » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:57 am

sgrogan wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:53 pm
Are you guys using git-python or the zip fallback?
Git-python in my case.
If there's anything you want me to test this weekend please let me know, thanks.