Curves workbench

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
UR_
Posts: 734
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby UR_ » Sun Dec 02, 2018 12:02 pm

Have you tried this?

Extract.PNG
Extract.PNG (1.15 KiB) Viewed 487 times

Edit: If you prefer the parametric way, Lattice2WB "Explode compound" should be first choice

Lattice2 WB Explode Compound.PNG
Lattice2 WB Explode Compound.PNG (2.11 KiB) Viewed 483 times
paullee
Posts: 1235
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby paullee » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:58 pm

Hi, I just try creating BSpline curves and find only straight lines on screen.

Found some message in Report View

Code: Select all

Unknown command 'Curves'
HUD init
Cannot compute Inventor representation for the shape of BSplineCurve001.
Any idea what is wrong?

FreeCAD_0.18.15287.glibc2.17-x86_64.AppImage
on Fedora 27

Screenshot from 2018-12-02 22-57-42.png
Screenshot from 2018-12-02 22-57-42.png (155.68 KiB) Viewed 465 times
Attachments
Test_ CurveWB_ BSpline_ 01.fcstd
(3.58 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Sun Dec 02, 2018 3:29 pm

hammax wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:43 am
… a question concerning the SplitCurve tool.
If I apply the SplitCurve I get a point on the chosen (percent or else) partition.
Selecting the sections they get highlighted.
But the splitted curve itself still acts as a whole.
To get separate sections, my workaround is Discretized_edge and rebuild it by interpolate points.
A little bit complicated and overdone.
Is there a more elegant way, getting sections for Gordon surface?
Hi,
I added an "Output" property that let you choose "Start","End" or "Wire" for the output shape
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Sun Dec 02, 2018 3:36 pm

paullee wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:58 pm
Hi, I just try creating BSpline curves and find only straight lines on screen.

Found some message in Report View

...

Any idea what is wrong?

FreeCAD_0.18.15287.glibc2.17-x86_64.AppImage
on Fedora 27
Hi,
This tool is rather unstable.
At the beginning, it creates a degree-1 curve, that looks like a polygon.
So it was needed to increase the degree while creating the curve.
I just pushed some changes to it. Now the degree is automatically increased to 3.
Please update the workbench and try again.
paullee
Posts: 1235
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby paullee » Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:02 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 3:36 pm

Hi,
This tool is rather unstable.
At the beginning, it creates a degree-1 curve, that looks like a polygon.
So it was needed to increase the degree while creating the curve.
I just pushed some changes to it. Now the degree is automatically increased to 3.
Please update the workbench and try again.
Thanks! It works now!

Anything to do to change the 'degree' of curve? See no property in the combo view.

I am reading some wiki about spline to understand more about its nature and explore more of Curve WB.


Screenshot from 2018-12-02 23-59-22.png
Screenshot from 2018-12-02 23-59-22.png (157.25 KiB) Viewed 445 times
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:38 pm

paullee wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:02 pm
Thanks! It works now!

Anything to do to change the 'degree' of curve? See no property in the combo view.

I am reading some wiki about spline to understand more about its nature and explore more of Curve WB.
Instructions are supposed to appear both in the upper left corner of the 3D view, and in the report view.
You should enable the 2 "redirect python output" options at the bottom of Preferences -> General -> Output window

Bezier curve controls are :

Left Mouse Button : add pole
Del : remove last pole
I / D : Increase / Decrease degree
Left CTRL : snap (works pretty bad)
Enter : Accept
Esc : Abort
paullee
Posts: 1235
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby paullee » Mon Dec 03, 2018 1:08 am

Chris_G wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:38 pm

Instructions are supposed to appear both in the upper left corner of the 3D view, and in the report view.
You should enable the 2 "redirect python output" options at the bottom of Preferences -> General -> Output window

Bezier curve controls are :

Left Mouse Button : add pole
Del : remove last pole
I / D : Increase / Decrease degree
Left CTRL : snap (works pretty bad)
Enter : Accept
Esc : Abort
I tested the functins and seemed not working as I saw only polygone rather than spline!

Now I/ D works as explained, thanks!

Del doesnot work very good - on my system, press it doesnot del the last pole, it keep on let me to add next pole, but then enter return nothIng and no polygon or spline.

Hope anythinh else could help debug.
User avatar
hammax
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:03 pm
Location: Ammersee

Re: Curves workbench

Postby hammax » Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:29 am

SplitCurve:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p271829
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 09#p271871
… now it works and is understandable.
Thanks a lot.


SplitCurve_2.PNG
SplitCurve_2.PNG (17.94 KiB) Viewed 400 times
User avatar
hammax
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:03 pm
Location: Ammersee

Re: Curves workbench

Postby hammax » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:11 am

… having fun with Gordon surface.
Getting tangential at the rims of the surface is an early task of the frame sketches, by applying tangential construction lines.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p271372
Mirroring without "corners / edges / grooves" seems to be possible.
Then you get a hull comparable to lofting, as the section lines show.
But there must be a separate "front shape", to close the hull.
BTW: could there be a way, to degenerate the "front frame" to a point,
so that the Gordon algorithm takes this point as a rim-profile (using a triangular shape instead of rectangular).
Something that emills did in his SilkWB?

SplitCurve_AC.PNG
SplitCurve_AC.PNG (124.38 KiB) Viewed 341 times
Attachments
SplitCurve_2.FCStd
FC.18.15316
(406.32 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1078
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Postby GlouGlou » Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:10 pm

Ive got a small bug with IsoCurves. Some curves are missing but got some plots instead.
Attachments
siege.FCStd
(73.72 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (46.19 KiB) Viewed 241 times