Curves workbench

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Fri Aug 30, 2019 1:05 pm

Haha, in fact, the zig-zag curvature bug is my fault :lol: :oops:
The "Detect aligned" property should be on False by default.
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 5749
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:31 am

Chris_G wrote: Ping
Hi Chris, please check the reflect-lines tool, in Freecad daily build for Ubuntu it doesn't work properly anymore.
Best regards
Wilfried
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Wed Sep 04, 2019 12:22 pm

It's working fine for me (but I have a couple of modified files that are not on Github).
Do you get some error message ?
Or an example file, maybe ?
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 5749
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Wed Sep 04, 2019 12:55 pm

A video:
Reflect_lines-2019-09-04_14.37.38.webm
(440.66 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
The file:
Scheibe_zwei_Winkel.FCStd
(16.36 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
My Freecad info:

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
I tried the Appimage, it work correct:

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.17499 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 6b1be38f35686faf21e1015bf562520929890870
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:59 pm

I don't get any error.

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS (KDE/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Postby GlouGlou » Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:38 am

This sketch give a BOPAlgo GeomAbs_C0 error through a JoinCurve.
That carry out this error with any surface.
Any suggestion?
Attachments
JoinCurveIssue.FCStd
(5.51 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Postby GlouGlou » Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:30 am

We don't have these options for SplitCurves? :cry:
Attachments
CaptureSplit.JPG
CaptureSplit.JPG (19.81 KiB) Viewed 300 times
LLuoss
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:41 am

Re: Curves workbench

Postby LLuoss » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:54 am

Chris_G wrote:
Mon May 29, 2017 9:54 am
hammax wrote:
Mon May 29, 2017 9:01 am
...sweeping with 2 rails:
Hi,
The Sweep On 2 Rails requires 3 steps.
Please update the Workbench, since I added a tool yesterday.

Step 1 -> create a Birail object out of 2 edges


sw2r-1.jpg


Step 2 -> select the Birail and the profiles and create the Sweep on 2 rails


sw2r-2.jpg


Step 3 -> Approximate the point cloud with a surface


sw2r-3.jpg
sw2r-4.jpg


I don't think it will work on closed profiles.
It also requires at least one profile at each end.
This is highly experimental Work In Progress.
Hi,glad to see u again!I'm confused how to do these three steps with python code?Do you have any simple code examples for these three steps?Looking forward to your reply!Thanks!
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:57 am

GlouGlou wrote:
Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:38 am
This sketch give a BOPAlgo GeomAbs_C0 error through a JoinCurve.
That carry out this error with any surface.
Any suggestion?
I don't know the reason for the C0 continuity. I can get C1, but only with very high tolerance setting.
In this case, I would suggest to discretize (set Target to "Wire" ) and approximate the sketch.

GlouGlou wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:30 am
We don't have these options for SplitCurves?
I modified the tool recently.
It is now possible to set multiple split points.
The Values property is a string list :
split-3.jpg
split-3.jpg (38.32 KiB) Viewed 248 times

Positive values are computed from edge start.
Negative values are computed from edge end.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:11 am

LLuoss wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:54 am
Hi,glad to see u again!I'm confused how to do these three steps with python code?Do you have any simple code examples for these three steps?Looking forward to your reply!Thanks!
Don't use this, it is outdated.
Use the Gordon surface.
I already answered about the Gordon surface scripting :

Code: Select all

import gordon
gordon = gordon.InterpolateCurveNetwork([bs0,bs1,bs2], [bs3,bs4,bs5], tol=0.1) # the bs* are BSpline curves
my_surface = gordon.surface()