Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
thschrader
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby thschrader » Fri Jul 28, 2017 3:34 pm

amrit3701 wrote:
Fri Jul 28, 2017 1:41 pm
Can you paste the output of a report view (View -> Panels -> Report View)?
Hi Amritpal,
I did the following:
Start FC17, loading modell, doubleclick on "Pos3" (bent rebar), changing "anchor lenghts" from 50 to 400 mm, press OK ==> screen1
No reaction ==> screen2
Doubleclick on Pos3 again ==> anchor lenghts remains at 50 mm ==> screen3
regards thomas
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.11684 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: ab596b0495d465b595f565735f0857833241b12d
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
screen1.JPG
screen1.JPG (236.56 KiB) Viewed 821 times
screen2.JPG
screen2.JPG (277.46 KiB) Viewed 821 times
screen3.JPG
screen3.JPG (281.42 KiB) Viewed 821 times
User avatar
amrit3701
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby amrit3701 » Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:13 pm

thschrader wrote:
Fri Jul 28, 2017 3:34 pm
Hi Amritpal,
I did the following:
Start FC17, loading modell, doubleclick on "Pos3" (bent rebar), changing "anchor lenghts" from 50 to 400 mm, press OK ==> screen1
No reaction ==> screen2
Doubleclick on Pos3 again ==> anchor lenghts remains at 50 mm ==> screen3

Thanks for sharing this. :) I know how to fix this error. I had also shared the same error with Yorik also on IRC and he said that this error came because of some bugs present in the Sketcher WB

Steps to fix this error:
1. Double click on the Sketch008 (which is the base of bent shape rebar). After double clicking, Sketch WB is activated. Now click on the close button (present in a task panel).
2. Double click on the Pos3 (label name of bent shape rebar) and set its anchor length. Then click on the OK button. Now, you will see a change occur in anchor length.

Tell me if you are able to fix this error with above approach or not.

Thanks,
thschrader
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby thschrader » Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:20 pm

amrit3701 wrote:
Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:13 pm
thschrader wrote:
Fri Jul 28, 2017 3:34 pm
Hi Amritpal,
I did the following:
Start FC17, loading modell, doubleclick on "Pos3" (bent rebar), changing "anchor lenghts" from 50 to 400 mm, press OK ==> screen1
No reaction ==> screen2
Doubleclick on Pos3 again ==> anchor lenghts remains at 50 mm ==> screen3

Thanks for sharing this. :) I know how to fix this error. I had also shared the same error with Yorik also on IRC and he said that this error came because of some bugs present in the Sketcher WB

Steps to fix this error:
1. Double click on the Sketch008 (which is the base of bent shape rebar). After double clicking, Sketch WB is activated. Now click on the close button (present in a task panel).
2. Double click on the Pos3 (label name of bent shape rebar) and set its anchor length. Then click on the OK button. Now, you will see a change occur in anchor length.

Tell me if you are able to fix this error with above approach or not.

Thanks,
1. + 2. works.
procedure_works.JPG
procedure_works.JPG (47.24 KiB) Viewed 810 times
thschrader
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby thschrader » Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:27 pm

and in 3D
procedure_works_3D.JPG
procedure_works_3D.JPG (312.24 KiB) Viewed 807 times
chakkree
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 12:58 am
Location: Bangkok Thailand

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby chakkree » Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:58 am

amrit3701 wrote:
Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:06 pm
I have also created Bent shape rebar. Please suggest if any improvement is needed.
When using bent rebar in the slab with a continuous edge, the bent rebar should extend to the adjacent slab.
The position of a bent up point should be approx. L/4(will be assigned by the designer) of a span.
For example, The rebar No.1 extend and use for cantilever slab.
TestSlab01.png
TestSlab01.png (404.35 KiB) Viewed 778 times
TestSlab01.FCStd
(58.46 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Image
credit to http://www.buildinghow.com/en-us/Produc ... nuous-slab
chakkree
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 12:58 am
Location: Bangkok Thailand

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby chakkree » Sat Jul 29, 2017 9:23 am

regis wrote:
Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:47 am
i'm also falling in love, I'm looking into what it takes to learn python coding. I wished someone showed me how to write code for freecad like Amrit does. @Amrit, what does it take to learn python coding? how long before I can create freecad enhancements? would you mind sharing your experience?

I think , Yorik's FreeCAD manual can help. Now, I already install "Qt Designer".

QtDesigner.png
QtDesigner.png (175.65 KiB) Viewed 762 times
User avatar
amrit3701
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby amrit3701 » Sat Jul 29, 2017 1:56 pm

chakkree wrote:
Sat Jul 29, 2017 9:23 am
I think , Yorik's FreeCAD manual can help.
Hi @chakkree

Tell me if I can help in understanding rebar add-on code. :) BTW, I wrote comments in all files of rebar add-on. For creating new rebar shape you just create UI file in the QtCreator and make a new function like getpointsofNewRebarShape() in the NewRebarShape.py file.

Thanks,
User avatar
amrit3701
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby amrit3701 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:23 am

According to me, I have completed all rebar shapes as shown in my GSoC proposal. Here are the different rebar shapes are shown in SP 34 (https://archive.org/stream/gov.in.is.sp ... 4/mode/1up). Tell me which rebar shapes are on high priority or more used in the real world because I am not from the civil background. :) So, that I could complete it first.

Regards,
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10027
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby yorik » Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:48 pm

For further shapes, I would suggest maybe rebars for circular columns? They have been mentioned here already...
But that can be tricky, because there are two different types of stirrups, one that is classical and another that is a big helix...
Image

But I think we already have a very good set. Maybe an important thing would be to write some documentation about the tools you already did?
thschrader
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Dev logs of Rebar Addon for FreeCAD - GSoC project

Postby thschrader » Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:05 pm

amrit3701 wrote:
Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:23 am
According to me, I have completed all rebar shapes as shown in my GSoC proposal.
Amritpal, congratulations!
According to yorik, rebars for circular columns would be nice.
Second wish:
Vertical stirrups for consoles with an inclined lower face, the stirrups should automatically fit
to the inclined face, see pictures.
regards Thomas (third wish: how to put that stuff into techdraw, I have looong loadings times...)
console_rebar.png
console_rebar.png (88.69 KiB) Viewed 624 times
source: pcae GmbH germany
console2.JPG
console2.JPG (13.88 KiB) Viewed 624 times